Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bedford Hills Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 04, 2010
- a parent
Parents, Administrators and teachers work together for the good of the students. There is excellent parent involvement and teachers go above and beyond.

Bedford Hills Elementary School 4

Posted September 10, 2009
- a parent
One of the reasons Bedford Hills is such a large school is because parents choose to live in it's district so that their children can go to this school. In defense of the school, the shuffling of teachers happened because many parents did not pre-register their kindergarteners so the school did not know until the first week of school that there would be so many students. Instead of complaining here, perhaps you should contact the school board and ask that they build an addition onto Bedford Hills so that the school can accommodate the number of students that attend. Once again, the reason there are so many children at Bedford Hills is because it is a great school and families move into the district so that their children can attend. My child was 'shuffled' so I have first hand experience with the situation and understand the reasons behind it.


Bedford Hills Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 08, 2009
- a parent
This is a great school, but it is very large. They do not have enough teachers/ rooms to keep the student teacher ratio as low as it is at other schools in our area. They are doing things like shuffling a teacher from 2nd grade down to kindergarten two weeks into the year...these sorts of changes are not good for the kids.

Bedford Hills Elementary School 5

Posted June 24, 2009
- a parent
We have loved everything about Bedford Hills - the faculty, the facility, the class sizes, the principal, and the PTO. I have had children at BHS for 6 years - my oldest will go on to middle school in the fall, my middle child is in third grade and my youngest will enter BHS in another year. We were looking for a new house last year and actually chose to stay and complete an addition to our existing home rather than move to a different district.

Bedford Hills Elementary School 5

Posted May 13, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Bedford Hills Elementary School 5

Posted October 20, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Bedford Hills Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted August 14, 2008
- a parent
This is one of the best schools in Lynchburg, I wish I could take the teacher from this school and put them at Dearington. The teachers her are wonderful I wish I could take what they know and bottle it for sale. my daughter attend this school and they left and came back, the school treated her so wonderful when she can back, i wish she would have never left.

Bedford Hills Elementary School 2

Posted July 21, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Bedford Hills Elementary School 5

Posted March 29, 2007
- a parent
Bedford Hills is an incredible elementary. I think it is the best in the city. The teachers and faculty really know there stuff and are fully engaged in the class rooms. The PTO is wonderful and involved in all aspects of the school. The parents at this school are highly involved.

Bedford Hills Elementary School 5

Posted June 17, 2006
- a parent
This school is incredible. The PTO sends out a weekly email to interested parents with all the weekly activities and with a calendar of upcoming events. The teachers maintain control of the children and yet still manage to encourage creativity. The students are generally respectful. The school offers 'after school extras' periodically that are free--one of our favorite was African drums, with sewing and science fun also on the fun list. Parents are very involved and are encouraged to volunteer. The school doesn't constantly ask for fundraisers because of its successful annual fall carnival, which is very well done, with an incredible silent auction. The test scores are good, and the teachers have done creative things to improve them--including a 5th grade musical that involved the kids in presenting almost every social studies benchmark to the parents. All in all--just try to beat this school. Good.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bedford Hills Elementary School
4330 Morningside Dr, Lynchburg, VA  24503
(434) 384-2221
Last modified Bedford Hills Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bedford Hills Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top