Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Desmond T Doss Christian Academy

Private | K-12 | 55 students

Christian Education

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Special education

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 
 

Living in Lynchburg

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $143,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $690.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 3, 2013

We currently have 4 of our 5 children enrolled in Desmond T Doss. Small class room sizes allow the teachers to give individual attention and identify strengths and weaknesses in each student. Teachers and staff create an atmosphere of safety, concern for each child. Parents are very active and always made to feel welcome at the school. My oldest has returned to public high school this year. Going to Desmond T Doss for grades 5-8 helped focus and concentrate on her Math weaknesses. She was prepared with better study habits upon entering high school thanks to teachers that took the time and effort to build her self esteem and character. My children are being shaped and molded not only educationally but in character.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2013

I have four school-aged children, plus one still at home. We homeschooled our children for years, but we heard some amazing things about this school. When our fourth child came of school age, we thought a great foundation for Kindergarten would be wise. After a week there, I knew this school was something special. Within a month, my husband and I knew we wanted all four of our kids to go here. There small class settings that allow teachers to cater to the gifts and strengthen the weaknesses of each individual student are amazing. Their hands-on learning approach with so many educational activities outside the classroom in addition to their ability to cater to the kids individual needs makes this have all the benefits of homeschool in addition to the amazing social benefits of a traditional school. The staff all know every kid and their parents by name. They show more love than any parent could ever ask for, and they teach about Jesus in everything they do. I can't recommend this school highly enough. Every single one of our kids have grown and become better people because of being at this school, and I plan on keeping them there for as long as God allows.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2009

I really believe that God moves mountians at this school. Last year I fell into hard times and had to put my child into public schools. I was devastated to say the least. After 4 days and many tears Of him being in public school I got a call from the paster there and he said that he really believed that my son needed to be there. I didnt have the money to send him and told the paster so. He made a way for my son to be there anyway and the next day he was pulled out of public schools and placed back in the hands of God and Desmond T. Doss. He is in 1st grade this year and still there. Thank you Lord for hearing my prayers. Cleo Shirkey
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2008

Both my children go here and have been for years! The staff is so eager to help you and your child no matter what the circumstances! I wouldnt have my boys go anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2008

This is a great school. I have two boys enrolled at Desmond T Doss and I could not be happier with the education and the Christian leadership they are getting at Doss. My oldest boy is a timid child and I was very concerned about putting him in a public school. Thanks to the Lord I found Desmond T Doss. He is happy and loves to go to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2008

I love the Pre-K and Kindergarten program. It's awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2005

I think its been a while sine this site updated thier records because there are close to 100 students there this year. My son is in kindergarten and I believe that it has really helped him, the small class sizes are great as well as the faculty. The only disadvantages that I can see are teh fact that it only goes through ninth grade which means eventually they will have to enter public schools, and leave their other classmates behind.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Seventh-day adventist
Associations
  • GCSDAC

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Multi-aged
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
  • Service learning
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No

Resources

Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$3000 - $4000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

19 George Street
Lynchburg, VA 24502
Website: Click here
Phone: (434) 237-1899

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Rivermont School
Lynchburg, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT