Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Lynchburg, VA
Students enrolled: 635
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Tomahawk Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 25, 2015
- a community member
I had a wonderful experience with Tomahawk. My son had been treated as a "problem" student at another school, but the staff here embraced him as bright and creative and it made a world of difference. The administration (particularly the guidance counselor) were wonderful resources for my son and I.

Tomahawk Elementary School 1

Posted September 23, 2014
- a parent
Not impressed at all with this school. The administration doesn't care at all about students!!


Tomahawk Elementary School 5

Posted September 17, 2009
- a community member
The teachers are the best!

Tomahawk Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
This school is so awesome! They really care about their students.

Tomahawk Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 15, 2009
- a parent
Great teachers.My husband went he and now so do my kids. They keep the parents very involved


Tomahawk Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 15, 2009
- a community member
This school has a wonerful staff . My nephew cant wait to go everyday

Tomahawk Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 15, 2009
- a parent
I went there and my boys do now. The staff is still as great I remember them to be.

Tomahawk Elementary School 5

Posted November 03, 2005
- a parent
I would highly recommend this school! I transfered my daugther out of a Bedford County School and never looked back. My daughter's grades went up to A B Honor Roll and her SOL test scores are now above average. She is now in Brookville Middle School and while it is different, I am still more pleased with Campbell County Schools than Beford County Schools!


Tomahawk Elementary School 5

Posted August 17, 2004
- a parent
I am very pleased with Tomahawk. My children recently transfered from another school district and they have both done very well. They encourage the children to do there best without overloading them with stress. The children are given the chance to perform for parents frequently and the staff makes them feel so proud of their accomplishments. They also give the parents many opportunities to come to the school to be involved. We are very happy with Tomahawk thus far!

Tomahawk Elementary School 5

Posted May 26, 2004
- a parent
TES is a great school within a great school district. It is academically challenging, my children's PALS test scores rise even farther above standard every year. The staff is friendly and welcoming, and teachers communicate well with parents. There are strict standards on attendance, requiring valid reasons for missing school (such as illness). Full safety measures are enforced, from pick-up and drop-off traffic patterns, to checking ID before releasing a child to any adult not immediately recognized by staff. We like this school so much, as our family searches for a new house to purchase, we will only consider homes in the Tomahawk district.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Tomahawk Elementary School
155 Bee Drive, Lynchburg, VA  24502
(434) 237-4090
Last modified Tomahawk Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Tomahawk Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top