Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Madison County High School

Public | 9-12 | 590 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 8, 2014

Sickened with this school's handling of my children moving out of the county. Multiple requests to allow our children to remain in school went unanswered and then we received a letter in the mail giving us 48 hours to get our children out of the school or they would be kicked out. The superintendent, Mathew Eberhart is a horrible example of a school official. He showed unprofessionalism and clear lack of concern for the academic well fare of our children. Tina Weaver, director of student services, was rude and unprofessional. She showed no concern for the emotional or academic well being of our children. I am disgusted with the school system and sickened by the horrendous actions of the school board: knowing that this rule isn't enforced across the board is what infuriated me the most. The school is well aware of other families who have lied on documents providing a Madison PO box yet live outside of the county. Sports is the county's main concern. Not academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2009

bc its in a rual settin. the staff is great. it has good sports programs that excell. overall its a good school to be goin to. iv been in the school system since kindergarten. im now a junior
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 5, 2009

They are the best small high school ever! We have an undefeated football team, a first rank marching band and award winning colorguard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

I love Madison County because it's really small and all of the teachers are so nice and helpful! Madison is a great school overall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

I love madison schools because the teachers take there own time after or before school to stay and help you out. its just a simple small town school and not many people get to experience it! I love my school and never wantit to change or expand!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

My high school experience is something that I will always take with me. The teachers always care, about both things in and out of school, and for me that really made a difference. Knowing that I can now go back and visit and talk about college is really comforting. I like knowing that when I will need a job reference in the future, I know that they would be willing to write one for me since they impacted my decision to become a teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

We moved to Madison because of the great schools and close-knit community---Luv it!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

I am a former student and the parent of 2 alumni. The quality of the education and small town spirit are unrivaled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

I love Madison because I was homeschooled. I didn't have any friends, or any real experience. Going to school there led me to many of the people and things I love. From my favorite teacher, to my favorite class, to the track team, to my boyfriend. Madison has excellent opportunities in a tiny community.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2009

We have a very supportive community; our band and forensics programs are among the best in the state. Our debate and drama teams are also very good.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 27, 2009

Small school with a big heart. Principal & teachers take a real interest in their students and are willing to work with them and the parents . They hold a high standard- not just for book leaning but also to develop students into good citizens and hold them responsible for their actions while teaching them to think about consequences for what they do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2009

There is no doubt that from the Schools Superintendent to principals, the majority of teachers and support staff all have a mind set to do the best they can with what they have and to be creative when need be. There are always exceptions but over all a great place to raise and school our future leaders.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2008

Good small town attmosphere here. Teachers care and work hard to help the students succeed. Extracurriculars are strong, especially the arts and forensics. Athletics rule here though, and have an unfair advantage on facilities, even though they haven't shown as much success as other activities. In general, i am happy to have my daughter attend Madison County Schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2006

For a small, rural school, Madison does a great job of preparing students with a wide variety of courses. The teachers work well together and have a supportive environment for eachother and students. Suprisingly strong overall. A bit disorganized, but the genuine concern that the teachers exhibit for students is rare. In my opinion, well worth the trade-off for a somewhat less-than-pristinely-organized administration.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 76% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
87%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
87%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 86% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
90%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 83% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
92%
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 89% in 2013.

169 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 87% in 2013.

171 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
88%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Virginia and United States History

The state average for Virginia and United States History was 86% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
94%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
World History I

The state average for World History I was 84% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
96%
World History II

The state average for World History II was 85% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students61%
Female students60%
Male students63%
Black students55%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students60%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities40%
Students without disabilities64%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English61%

Algebra II

All Students74%
Female students77%
Male students70%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students75%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English74%

Biology

All Students74%
Female students72%
Male students75%
Black students67%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial83%
White students73%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities25%
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English74%

Chemistry

All Students86%
Female students89%
Male students81%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English86%

Earth Science

All Students80%
Female studentsn/a
Male students76%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English80%

English: Reading

All Students82%
Female students85%
Male students78%
Black students70%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial85%
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities42%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English83%

English: Writing

All Students84%
Female students89%
Male students79%
Black students64%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial75%
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities57%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English84%

Geometry

All Students60%
Female students66%
Male students53%
Black students36%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial27%
White students66%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities40%
Students without disabilities62%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English60%

History and Social Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Virginia and United States History

All Students87%
Female students88%
Male students87%
Black students58%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial90%
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English87%

World Geography

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

World History I

All Students83%
Female students79%
Male students89%
Black students82%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities29%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English83%

World History II

All Students86%
Female students85%
Male students91%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

68 Mountaineer Lane
Madison, VA 22727
Phone: (540) 948-3785

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




William Monroe High School
Stanardsville, VA



United Christian Academy
Stanardsville, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT