Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Baldwin Elementary School

Public | K-4 | 579 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 25, 2014

We are so excited about the direction of Baldwin. There are caring staff members and the probability of a new building on the horizon is just the right mix of energy with a love of learning. The students are lucky to have the the kind and caring teachers that have been carefully cultivated to nurture mind and body for the children of the Baldwin district.


Posted February 22, 2014

We were thrilled with Baldwin! All three of our kids thrived there and now the School Board has announced they are going to build a new Baldwin opening in 2016, very exciting for the great teachers and the community. I wish we could go back!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2013

Both teachers and staff are great! My son was nervous on the way to the meet and greet for new students. He will be going to second grade there. Within minutes I saw the change in his face, the teacher made him feel like home. On the way to the house he said he could not wait for the first day of school! All I can say is Thank you so much!!!! Looking forward to a wonderful year!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2013

teachers are loving and caring! The counselor really cares about our kids (we had to work with her a lot and she is great) . The principal was hard to reach and AP changed the old AP really seemed to love working with parents. Overall, good school and I would not hesitate to enroll my child in this public school versus a private school as some of our neighbors choose to do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

This school does a great job with my child. My child has attended for two years. The teachers work hard to challenge my child and also communicate well with me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2013

I have had two of my three children attend Baldwin (one currently there), and have had an excellent experience in both cases. I have been impressed with both the teachers and staff - all of whom have worked closely with me to ensure that my children's educational needs are being met, and our expectations as parents are exceeded. I'm really rather surprised at some of the comments I've seen here, because my experience has been SO different. The one BIG question I have is where these parents that are so critical have been for the PTO/PAP meetings. That's the only area I see where the school falls short, and THAT isn't the school's fault. Perhaps if those parents spent more time being actively involved instead of just complaining, their experience might have been better. I have seen a few parents who have come in with a hostile, combative attitude, and I honestly believe that that attitude carries over into their perception of the school. Bottom line- It's a FANTASTIC school, even more so when you, as a parent, are willing to make the investment in being involved. Like a savings account, the more you put in, the more it grows.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2012

The teachers and staff at Baldwin are wonderful. I had many reservations about my children attending there. However, after 2 years and getting to know the staff and teachers by volunteering in the school, I am so thankful my children attend this school. We do want to move to a bigger house, but I want to stay in Baldwin's District.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2012

I am also waiting for feedback on this principal. If the assistant principal is usually responding within the hour, it makes me wonder how this could be possible? Unless she is always at her desk or you have only emailed once or twice? Specifically, what has been done to raise test scores/reading abilities, teacher morale and prepare students to move on to Mayfield? From what I see there is a lack of leadership in this principal and it shows.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2012

In the past, the teachers have been great. In recent years a severe decline in all aspects of education in this school. Admin is confrontational, interupt you during conversation and sometimes are just down right combative. I can only speculate that it is new administration. Those this type of 'good ole' boy attitude' has always been present in MCPS, it has only worsened with the exception of Betty Garry- a school relic or artifact, however you choose to view it. . Of course there is the issue with 10, yes ten admin positions that have a PHd and salaries to prove it inside the MCPS school system. (insidenova.com shows all salaries for our phd's) Oh, Dr. Cramp, your salary isn't listed and I'm curious as to why? The performance doesn't match the money going out. I encourage all parents to visit VDOE to research on your own the progress of this school. Don't take my word for it! I want to end with the statement that most of the teachers are truly awesome and are hard working. Many bend over backwards and spend their own time and money on their students. If you can move, do so. If your thinking of moving here- try PWCO or FFX.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2012

My child started at Baldwin in September 2011. The admin team and teachers have been very supportive and very friendly. I love that I can email the Asst. Principal with various questions and/or concerns and she will respond in a quick manner, typically within the hour. I was worried seeing some of the earlier reviews on this site, but I only have nice things to say about the staff and school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2011

I have a kindergartner at Baldwin and so far everything is going great! The staff has been super friendly and supportive, creating a environment perfect for nurturing and learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2011

I absolutely LOVE Baldwin! My first pleasant experience was during registration and the secretary's name and reputation co-exist! The teacher my son had this year has been such an asset during this difficult time when he was just diagnosed with A.D.H.D. The special education teacher has been totally hands on and I have found that there is no better place than here. We are so glad to be a part of this Baldwin family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2011

VERY happy with this school. I have a GT student, a Spec Ed student and one in the middle so I have seen a good bit of what this school/district has to offer and I'm pleased. All of my children have been challenged, encouraged and are progressing well. Our family has experienced terrific communication with Admin/teachers/staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Oh, my! This place is too much fun..! You have staff that come up with the most FUN ideas for events, and incorporate that 'Fun' attitude in their classroom learning experience each day..And the kids are as 'pixielated' as the staff..!(Bookfairs are so cool, and the Assist. Principal's Hat Day...!..)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

Love the block schedule...grest staff, great teachers, great school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2010

Staff has lack of communication with parents. I have had several issues the last 2 years trying to get teachers to communicate. It's like pulling teeth. The admins are never available. The MAP scores are very low. They have limited funding for gifted students and do not go the extra mile to help higher level children to shine. It is sad to see my children suddenly hate school after moving here. I am moving out of the area just to get out of this school system Absolutely horrible!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2009

5 out of 5 stars. The teachers are excellent and focused on the needs of the children. I am very happy with Baldwin Elementary
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2008

I remember when I first checked this school out and found several not so happy parent comments. Funny how now you only see the few good comments there were about this school. Well I'm adding my comments and hope it stays posted. We were at baldwin for 2.5 yrs. We decided not to let the comments of this school influence us with our decision but to my surprise the comments became apparent. Don't get me wrong they have some great teachers, the principle is average and staff members are horrendous. This school needs a makeover from the inside out but starting with the administration. So glad we moved!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2008

We purchased our home in the city for the schools. Our children attended Baldwin and loved it. The sense of community and responsibility for each other is great. Admin and teachers work closely with parents and students and are very caring and truly dedicated to helping the child succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2004

I have 2 children that have gone to BES, 1 presently attending, and 1 on-the-way. BES staff really care about children. Each child's needs are evaluated and addressed. The teachers are skilled and bring out the best in each child. The impressive VA SOL results demonstrate their success. The noteworthy significance is that the outstanding SOL results were attained while having a large ESL and free/reduced lunch population. The principal knows each child by name and is a great leadership example, setting high standards for all and holding all accountable. The BES PTA is well structured, inclusive, and productive. The BES administrators work well with the administrators from other schools and district. BES has a mission that compliments the MCPS Strategic Plan. MCPS is the epitome of a small town community with aspirations to achieve significant contributions to the future by establishing effective relationships with family, teachers, businesses, and other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
67%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

97 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
77%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students62%
Female students55%
Male students71%
Black students58%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
White students80%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities63%
Limited English proficient students47%
Proficient in English79%

Math

All Students54%
Female students50%
Male students59%
Black students58%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
White students80%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities55%
Limited English proficient students30%
Proficient in English79%

Science

All Students89%
Female students80%
Male students100%
Black students77%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient students88%
Proficient in English89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students51%
Female students53%
Male students47%
Black students46%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
White students71%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities20%
Students without disabilities57%
Limited English proficient students43%
Proficient in English57%

Math

All Students64%
Female students68%
Male students59%
Black students69%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficient students54%
Proficient in English73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Ashley Cramp

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9705 Main St
Manassas, VA 20110
Phone: (571) 377-6100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Pennington School
Manassas, VA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT