Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Osbourn High School

Public | 9-12 | 2050 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 11 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2011

Osbourn is suffering from a lack of leadership. There is no hope for any public school in Manassas under the current administration. I doubt a new principal will make that much difference, the superintendent wouldn't let him do much of anything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2010

I think the school is good if the parents are good parents. I have 3 kids, 2 of them in Ousburn, o1 freshman and 01 senior. And I always are besides my children to respect their teachers and go to school to learn, no matther what other children do. Osbourn to me is a great school. I am very involved with the school calling the teachers, talking with the counselors, and they always response my request. The music program is excelent. My kids are there. The teachers are good, and now the new system is working well. I recomend this school. Part of the success is parent-teachers-school. So IF you are not with your children and the school. it is your fault as a parent. not the school. parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2010

I think OUsborn is a great school! it has excelent teachers and awsome smart students. The after school chocies are endless with good possibillaties
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

My son graduated from Osbourn. Were it not for Osbourn, he wouldn't be a Junior at Penn State - with a double major - now. While not perfect, the orchestra program is top notch, and the science, computer and filmmaking classes are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2009

As far as academics go, student's are pretty much are their own. Motivated students will come out on top with good grades, scholarships, and acceptance into top universities. The school doesn't seem to do a great job in helping unmotivated students, so parental involvement is crucial in those cases. The athletic and music programs are pretty good, especially the football and choral programs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 30, 2008

Osbourn High School could be a lot better honestly. The teaching staff is very poor in many areas. There have been many cases of teachers making mistakes and giving kids the wrong grades. In many clases I usually sit around and not do much at all. I took two AP clases last year and recieved an A in both of them, but the level of difficulty in these clases in almost childish. Many teachers prefer to just load up the kids with homework and busy work in class than actually teach them anything. The school also seems very crouded at times, and many of the teachers obviously 'play favorites'. The administration is laughable. I have been going to Osbourn for 3 years and I have met the Vice - Principal once and just found out what the Principal looks like last year... their lack of involvement is sad.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 22, 2008

Both my children attended Osbourn High School. They received a good education and scored well on the SOLs and SATs because of what they learned in school. My daughter attended the University of Virginia and felt her education at Osbourn prepared her for college. My son will be attending Virginia Tech and I'm sure he will be well prepared for college too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2008

OHS is a great school with something for everyone; sports, academics and extra-curriculars like the arts. All contributing to a balance. My child graduated and is doing extremely well at a prestigious college (3.5+GPA), and says OHS prepared him well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2008

I am disappointed to find Osbourn High School ratings so low. My daughter graduated from Osbourn in 2005 with excellent grades and my son graduates this year. I have found the teachers at Osbourn to be very interested in the students. Communciation between teachers and parents is very open. You can e-mail a teacher and receive a response in one day. The administration is wonderful. I strongly recommend you visit Osbourn for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2007

Osbourn High School is not about their kids, my son attended for 3 years and I tell you it was the worst experience ever. the administration is not on tip of their teachers enough to make sure they are not just there for a paycheck. We experienced a teacher giving students wrong grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2007

I was very happy with this school when my child was attending. Always got a call if they even were late to class..lots of activities for the kids (if they get involved). Lots of choices for classes to be taken. Teachers seemed concerned about students progress during the years. Security at school seemed alright, have no complaints Sandy
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

339 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
82%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 76% in 2013.

438 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
75%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

511 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
72%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 86% in 2013.

370 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
88%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 83% in 2013.

535 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
70%
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 89% in 2013.

525 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
90%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 87% in 2013.

548 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
84%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

553 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
74%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Virginia and United States History

The state average for Virginia and United States History was 86% in 2013.

508 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
86%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 85% in 2013.

511 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
69%
World History I

The state average for World History I was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
64%
World History II

The state average for World History II was 85% in 2013.

466 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students60%
Female students64%
Male students56%
Black students51%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracial67%
White students70%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities40%
Students without disabilities65%
Limited English proficient students55%
Proficient in English62%

Algebra II

All Students38%
Female students43%
Male students34%
Black students36%
Asian students80%
Hispanic27%
Multiracial35%
White students48%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged25%
Not economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities23%
Students without disabilities40%
Limited English proficient students26%
Proficient in English41%

Biology

All Students76%
Female students76%
Male students77%
Black students68%
Asian students80%
Hispanic69%
Multiracial77%
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities48%
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient students48%
Proficient in English84%

Chemistry

All Students74%
Female students76%
Male students72%
Black students69%
Asian students89%
Hispanic59%
Multiracial86%
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities68%
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficient students50%
Proficient in English78%

Earth Science

All Students67%
Female students64%
Male students70%
Black students59%
Asian students100%
Hispanic60%
Multiracial76%
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficient students49%
Proficient in English77%

English: Reading

All Students78%
Female students81%
Male students75%
Black students72%
Asian students88%
Hispanic72%
Multiracial71%
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities48%
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficient students53%
Proficient in English85%

English: Writing

All Students74%
Female students80%
Male students69%
Black students58%
Asian students92%
Hispanic71%
Multiracial71%
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities51%
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient students53%
Proficient in English81%

Geometry

All Students65%
Female students64%
Male students65%
Black students51%
Asian students94%
Hispanic62%
Multiracial70%
White students73%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficient students59%
Proficient in English67%

History and Social Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Virginia and United States History

All Students68%
Female students64%
Male students70%
Black students44%
Asian students90%
Hispanic61%
Multiracial70%
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities42%
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficient students45%
Proficient in English73%

World Geography

All Students78%
Female students74%
Male students82%
Black students72%
Asian students100%
Hispanic68%
Multiracial78%
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities48%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient students57%
Proficient in English86%

World History I

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

World History II

All Students56%
Female students52%
Male students59%
Black students38%
Asian students76%
Hispanic47%
Multiracial61%
White students76%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities30%
Students without disabilities59%
Limited English proficient students35%
Proficient in English62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9005 Tudor Ln
Manassas, VA 20110
Phone: (571) 377-7000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Seton School
Manassas, VA




Manassas Park High School
Manassas Park, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT