Report this review as inappropriate

« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
Public district
Manassas, VA
Students enrolled: 653

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

Thurgood Marshall Elementary School 5

Posted September 14, 2015
- a parent
We love the faculty, curriculum, and facility. This is a top rate Elementary School. The staff is highly dedicated, and it is apparent that they love what they do. I hope that they are aware of how deeply some of the children's parents appreciate them, and all that they do to help raise our children.

Thurgood Marshall Elementary School 5

Posted June 18, 2014
- a parent
What makes Marshall amazing: talented and highly professional teachers, dedicated leadership, and a parent community/PTO with tireless volunteers! Their scores are #1, extra-curricular programs( Robotics, Spanish, Math 24) are first class, the art and music programs are phenomenal - fantastic art fair and best strings and chorus productions hands down. Mrs. Huebner, the principal, is the schools most cherished asset - she inspires the students and staff to be their best and that is why this school is THE BEST.

Thurgood Marshall Elementary School 2

Posted April 04, 2014
- a parent
The education is good and the children have fun learning. The rating is not based on this, but the some faculty and leadership lack blatant common sense. We have repeatedly had issues with the faculty making accusations of incidents with our children, only to find 'opps! my bad' when simple questions are asked, like the last name to verify you have the right kid. Protect your kids if you go here, require they contact the psychologist to be present during questioning, or inappropriate questions could be asked. There is a reason the Students' Rights page is being put in the county handbook.

Thurgood Marshall Elementary School 5

Posted February 26, 2014
- a parent
We moved to Marshall two years ago and we are so pleased with our experience here. Marshall is well known to be a very desirable school and they live up to their reputation. There is so much offered for students and they have a very strict policy about bullying. They work very hard to teach students good character skills and have been awarded for this. Their test scores also outshine most other schools in the area. I am so thankful we moved to this school.

Thurgood Marshall Elementary School 5

Posted February 14, 2014
- a parent
Marshall Elementary is awesome. I have a daughter who went there K-5th grade and is now in 6th grade. My son is in K. All of the teachers are excellent. Parents are involved with their kids and there are many parent volunteers at this school. I have been very pleased with our experiences at Marshall. Best elementary school in Prince William County, hands down.

Thurgood Marshall Elementary School 2

Posted January 14, 2014
- a parent
All schools can have good and less motivated teachers and this one is no different. They used to have a fantastic art teacher and the halls were always decorated with lots of it. Now, it's less upbeat, the teachers are screaming at the kids, and the moral isn't what it should be. Once they even cancelled the Fall festival for lack of parent involvement. Hmm..why do you think that is?

Thurgood Marshall Elementary School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
My child loves going to school to learn and to visit the friendly staff. Pros: The teacher recognized my child is getting bored and is working on challenging her with schoolwork next month; the teacher and the school nurse really keeps an eye on my child when it comes to allergies; the new vice principal takes an active role and welcoming and praising the kids. All in all - we are very happy.

Thurgood Marshall Elementary School 5

Posted September 12, 2012
- a parent
I have one son who has completed Marshall and one in the 3rd grade and can say I have no complaints. I can not thank the staff enough for all the help with my oldest who struggled in a lot of areas. I love the school and would never move to a different one.

Thurgood Marshall Elementary School 3

Posted September 26, 2011
- a parent
Marshall's a good school. Not great. Still, good. Pros: They have many ways of keeping the kids interested in coming to school (some not particularly academic but that's okay sometimes). Also, the layout of the school and the almost pastoral setting is nice. CONS: There are 7 or 8 mothers at the core of the PTO activities who froze out parents who we're physically &/or financially unable to volunteer frequently. As such, students didn't get the benefit of some great ideas and support from some parents who otherwise would have contributed. Also, there are ALOT of children at the school - easier to slip between cracks. I'm glad we've moved on.

Thurgood Marshall Elementary School 1

Posted September 23, 2011
- a parent
I am not happy with Marshall Elementary. One of my children is now in 5th grade and is so bored. They do absolutely nothing to challenge him. He never studies and has become disorganized thanks to awful third and fouth grade teachers. They complained about my child's behavior and never questioned why. They would say he is capable to doing the work. He of course was dong the work with no problem. All A's and a couple of B's. Handwriting is a B. The school is failing my child.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families. 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Thurgood Marshall Elementary School
12505 Kahns Rd, Manassas, VA  20112
(703) 791-2099
Last modified Thurgood Marshall Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Thurgood Marshall Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top