Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Parkside Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1236 students

Our school is best know for being the first Cambridge International School in VA

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 8, 2014

If you're striving for mediocrity, this is the school for you. I wanted to get behind this school, I wanted to believe it was headed in the right direction, but our time there was a chronic disappointment. The best word to describe this school is sloppy. From the back to school lack of organization, to classroom management, and everything in between, extreme sloppiness is everywhere. A couple of really good teachers and one or two good administrators do not make for a great school. They like to tout that they're an International Cambridge School, but here it translates into workers swearing in front of the kids in different languages, one of many examples of low standards. If you want answers/clarification/anything accomplished, good luck getting that done with just a phone call. I don't have enough room here to list the numerous examples of our disappointing interactions with this school. As both a military parent and a prior teacher (elsewhere), here is my advice, if you are considering this school: Run. There are numerous other schools to choose from in PWC, and this one will only provide your child with a cautionary tale of how a school should *not* be run.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2014

This school doesn't have what it takes to be listed as a school. Nor should it be allowed to operate with the staff it has running it. The school registrar should be replaced along with the principle and the school board for allowing a school to operate the way it does.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

As a seasoned teacher that has transferred into Parkside, I can only say how impressed I am with the administration and staff from the custodian right through to the principal. Starting at the top with the principal she is a straightforward woman. You know what she expects, there are no secrets. She is firm but fair; exactly what you want in a boss. Fellow teachers have been very welcoming and helping in every way imaginable right down to the custodians who helped any way they could with a smile on their face. There is a high standard for ALL students, as Parkside has become a Cambridge International School. Students are expected to always be respectful, prepared, and do their best. Why would anyone complain about a principal and staff that expect every child to be successful? I am exceptionally happy I became a member of the Parkside Middle School staff. They are a world class group of educators, just as Prince William County States about their schools, a World Class Education.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 30, 2013

Do not work here. A lazy and unprofessional principal who likes to be bossy being surrounded by a group of assistants and some teachers from the staff. They are a bunch of spiteful, malevolent, stab-in-the-back people who will do anything so as to be "promoted' and belong to that "selected' group of cronies. They won't let anyone in unless you adhere to their social standards. Horrible place to work at.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 3, 2013

This school does not provide a quality education. The schedule is so convoluted....it's amazing that anyone could follow it. The leadership at the school is lacking and not looking out for the students. They are only concerned with making a name for themselves. The foreign language program (of which they are supposed to be a specialty school) is not supported at all. Some of the teachers are good, but you have to look for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2013

This school is less then mediocre. My child was not prepared for high school upon completion of eighth grade. The homework (whenever there was some) were handprinted. I can only recall a handful of times when text books were used.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2012

Parkside Middle School is a school the community can be proud of. I think it is starting to get overcrowded and has a size and staff issue, in terms of adjusting to all this. With just two music teachers they have won numerous awards and competitions and this is with classes of 40 or more kids. One art teacher who coaches football, and another who gives her time freely and with great care and compassion for children. A science teacher who stays after school and sponsors Science/eco club and always handles large classes, or 8th grade LA teacher who constantly produces classes of impressive writing SOL scores by basing curriculum on engaging topics. Four Physical Education teachers who probably put together a class that is always the highlight of the day for each student. Counselors who create and maintain communication with their students, and countless other teachers who coach and secretaries who also sponsor or coach. We have one substitute with a degree in anthropology from Davidson (wrestling coach at one time), and another with a degree in political science from Virginia Tech (multi sport coach), another from Pittsburgh (coaches crew outside County). World Class...


Posted November 2, 2012

Terrible school. Staff is unorganized and hates their jobs. School is generic and unconcerned for students. Bus schedules are always changing and you never know if your on the right bus. It took two weeks to register for the school thanks to very rude, unprofessional employees. I have been hung up on by the staff and the school seems very unwelcoming in general. To summarize, this school has no idea what they are doing, is poorly attempting to run on a low budget, and is unwelcoming. The teachers themselves seem good and are somewhat helpful and the curriculum is average.


Posted November 2, 2012

Dissapointing. My US Constitutional rights have been violated so many times that it hurt me right in the patriotism. It's so poorly organized that alll the rules contradict each other and nobody has a clue what their doing. The staff is mean, I've been told "Get out my face" several times they arent helpful. The teachers are OK some are pretty bad but mostly good. Everybody hates their government jobs it not a happy place. Not very welcoming. You cant leave class, to use the bathroom, or they stop you.just to see the counselor you need to get a hall pas to get a counseling pass to get a digital hall pass back to class.


Posted April 11, 2011

All we heard when we moved to this area was how great the schools are....well, after 7 months, I am NOT impressed. This school (as well as the elem my 4th grader attends) is one of the most unorganized schools I have ever seen. The band program is a disgrace......at their spring concert, my 8th grader was playing music that would have been 6th grade level at her old school. It was also extremely disorganized; the kids had no idea what songs they would be playing, they had to go get programs that were put out for parents so they could get their sheet music arranged. The teachers are slow to respond to communications from the parents. We got our 8th grader into the SIGNET program (the gifted program), but they really don't seem to do any real work in the class. I am really hoping for a better experience when she moves to high school next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2009

i am a student at parkside and i love it here i am a 7th grader and i have to give it up to the teachers. My sci. teacher is the best and all my other teacers i learn all that i need. i get A's on my test and quizes i woul bring your kids here and also the other students are friendly
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 23, 2009

My child is a new 6th grader who came in from Bennett. We are seeing a big impact in quality of education and so far none of it is good. 1. Math seems to be taught using 'Investigations' methods rather than standard algorithms. Many nights after work I must tutor my child in math because he cannot accomplish the homework on his own. 2. On another front, we emailed a question to the Spanish teacher. No answer so we printed it and sent it in with our student. Still no answer. 3. A month ago we asked for the Parkside 6th grade AR list. We still have not been provided the list and are told the school library is developing it and will provide as soon as it is completed. They should already have a list that is updated regularly when they buy more AR quizzes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2008

My daughter is beginning 7th grade. I think the school has some wonderful teachers. But as anywhere you also have those 1 or 2 teachers that seem to be unhappy so everyone around them needs to be unhappy. The dress code is reasonable. But some kids fail to obey by wearing flipflops, short skirt, and ripped up cloths depends on what teacher you have to weather or not you get sent to the office. The office staff is great!! The new principal is realy getting the school in order and she is easy to talk with. Overall its a great school! My suggestion would be to challenge the students more expecialy the ones in advanced or extended classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2008

Teacher's okay at keeping the students in controle. Many teachers don't keep track on what they need to doing. Not all students automadicly know the information.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 27, 2007

Parkside is the worst school ever! maybe academically its not but to the students it is. Theres alot of fights that break out and theres more drama in this school then in any other middle school ive been too. The staff seems to have no actual care for the students. Not to metion you barley ever see the princeapal involed in anything. The sercurity always seems to be in classrooms taking students to the main office. This seems to be slightly ridiculous for this to be happening in a enviroment that learning should be taking place. I feel unsafe when im walking the halls there. If you say the wrong thing to one person it would deffinatly start somthing. The guidence department is not helpful at resloving issues with students either and seem pretty busy with other task. Overall dont send your child here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 19, 2006

i ABOSULTLEY love this school!!! Their teachers are wondefull, and its fun to go. I never wanna miss a day!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 17, 2005

Overall the school is good. There are some really great teachers at this school! there are also a lot of young teachers still working on finding the teaching method that works best for them but overall they are okay. The downfall to this school for us was the principal. We have always attended schools were the principal was very friendly and involved with the student body and their parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2005

The quality of teachers is what makes Parkside shine. They are well educated, well informed and care deeply about their students. After school activities are what the children make of them. They are varied and plentiful. The music department is rich and talented. These teachers take children that have never held an instrument and turn them into life-long music lovers. The music department also puts on a full scale musical each year that is open to all students. To my knowledge no one has ever been turned away no matter their talent. Safety has never been an issue at Parkside. Students are treated with kindness and respect. Discipline with dignity is what is used here. Two of my children are attending Parkside middle school and I couldn't be more pleased. As to the comment about teachers not being involved...check out the parking lot after hours. These folks are VERY involved!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2005

this school lacks the fund for extracurricular activities and it shows. this school lacks alot teacher involvement. Out of 1 thru 5 this school is a 2. 5 highest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2004

I think this school is a really good school. All the teachers know how to teach the material us students need.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

378 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
80%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

350 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 75% in 2013.

381 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
86%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

246 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 71% in 2013.

353 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
88%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 70% in 2013.

296 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
88%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

388 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

355 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students71%
Female students72%
Male students70%
Black students59%
Asian students90%
Hispanic58%
Multiracial83%
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficient students46%
Proficient in English83%

Math

All Students71%
Female students72%
Male students69%
Black students75%
Asian students100%
Hispanic56%
Multiracial73%
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities44%
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficient students51%
Proficient in English82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students73%
Female students78%
Male students66%
Black students68%
Asian students82%
Hispanic64%
Multiracial72%
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities35%
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient students48%
Proficient in English81%

Math

All Students67%
Female students71%
Male students64%
Black students62%
Asian students84%
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
White students78%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities38%
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficient students58%
Proficient in English74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students69%
Female students68%
Male students70%
Black students53%
Asian students77%
Hispanic60%
Multiracial88%
White students80%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities32%
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficient students38%
Proficient in English78%

English: Writing

All Students77%
Female students83%
Male students71%
Black students58%
Asian students100%
Hispanic74%
Multiracial80%
White students80%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities37%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient students66%
Proficient in English78%

Math

All Students79%
Female students82%
Male students75%
Black students67%
Asian students91%
Hispanic74%
Multiracial88%
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities39%
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient students57%
Proficient in English84%

Science

All Students78%
Female students74%
Male students82%
Black students64%
Asian students82%
Hispanic69%
Multiracial94%
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficient students50%
Proficient in English86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students99%
Female students97%
Male students100%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic93%
Multiracial100%
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English99%

Geometry

All Students100%
Female students100%
Male students100%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff American sign language
Chinese (Mandarin)
French
German
Spanish
Hungarian
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Significant developmental delay
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Step team
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • French
  • German
  • Hebrew
  • Hmong
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Other
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
  • Urdu
  • Vietnamese
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Hungarian
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: All languages taught

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Step team

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:50 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Mary Jane Boynton
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Is there an application process?
  • No

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Cambridge Pedegogy
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • Project-based
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Significant developmental delay
Foreign languages taught
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • French
  • German
  • Hebrew
  • Hmong
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Other
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
  • Urdu
  • Vietnamese

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Hungarian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Panthers on the Prowl
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language club: All languages taught
  • Gardening
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Step team
  • Student council/government
  • Technology club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Middle school


Finding the right school

 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Osbourne Park HS
Stonewall HS
Brentsville HS
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8602 Mathis Ave
Manassas, VA 20110
Website: Click here
Phone: (703) 361-3106

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Manassas Park Middle School
Manassas Park, VA





Seton School
Manassas, VA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT