Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Manassas, VA
Students enrolled: 1,236
Before care: No
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Parkside Middle School 1

Posted September 08, 2014
- a parent
If you're striving for mediocrity, this is the school for you. I wanted to get behind this school, I wanted to believe it was headed in the right direction, but our time there was a chronic disappointment. The best word to describe this school is sloppy. From the back to school lack of organization, to classroom management, and everything in between, extreme sloppiness is everywhere. A couple of really good teachers and one or two good administrators do not make for a great school. They like to tout that they're an International Cambridge School, but here it translates into workers swearing in front of the kids in different languages, one of many examples of low standards. If you want answers/clarification/anything accomplished, good luck getting that done with just a phone call. I don't have enough room here to list the numerous examples of our disappointing interactions with this school. As both a military parent and a prior teacher (elsewhere), here is my advice, if you are considering this school: Run. There are numerous other schools to choose from in PWC, and this one will only provide your child with a cautionary tale of how a school should *not* be run.
1 person found this helpful

Parkside Middle School 1

Posted May 22, 2014
- a parent
This school doesn't have what it takes to be listed as a school. Nor should it be allowed to operate with the staff it has running it. The school registrar should be replaced along with the principle and the school board for allowing a school to operate the way it does.
1 person found this helpful


Parkside Middle School 5

Posted September 24, 2013
- a teacher
As a seasoned teacher that has transferred into Parkside, I can only say how impressed I am with the administration and staff from the custodian right through to the principal. Starting at the top with the principal she is a straightforward woman. You know what she expects, there are no secrets. She is firm but fair; exactly what you want in a boss. Fellow teachers have been very welcoming and helping in every way imaginable right down to the custodians who helped any way they could with a smile on their face. There is a high standard for ALL students, as Parkside has become a Cambridge International School. Students are expected to always be respectful, prepared, and do their best. Why would anyone complain about a principal and staff that expect every child to be successful? I am exceptionally happy I became a member of the Parkside Middle School staff. They are a world class group of educators, just as Prince William County States about their schools, a World Class Education.

Parkside Middle School 1

Posted August 30, 2013
- a teacher
Do not work here. A lazy and unprofessional principal who likes to be bossy being surrounded by a group of assistants and some teachers from the staff. They are a bunch of spiteful, malevolent, stab-in-the-back people who will do anything so as to be "promoted' and belong to that "selected' group of cronies. They won't let anyone in unless you adhere to their social standards. Horrible place to work at.
1 person found this helpful

Parkside Middle School 2

Posted March 03, 2013
- a parent
This school does not provide a quality education. The schedule is so convoluted....it's amazing that anyone could follow it. The leadership at the school is lacking and not looking out for the students. They are only concerned with making a name for themselves. The foreign language program (of which they are supposed to be a specialty school) is not supported at all. Some of the teachers are good, but you have to look for them.
1 person found this helpful


Parkside Middle School 2

Posted February 12, 2013
- a parent
This school is less then mediocre. My child was not prepared for high school upon completion of eighth grade. The homework (whenever there was some) were handprinted. I can only recall a handful of times when text books were used.
1 person found this helpful

Parkside Middle School 5

Posted December 26, 2012
- a community member
Parkside Middle School is a school the community can be proud of. I think it is starting to get overcrowded and has a size and staff issue, in terms of adjusting to all this. With just two music teachers they have won numerous awards and competitions and this is with classes of 40 or more kids. One art teacher who coaches football, and another who gives her time freely and with great care and compassion for children. A science teacher who stays after school and sponsors Science/eco club and always handles large classes, or 8th grade LA teacher who constantly produces classes of impressive writing SOL scores by basing curriculum on engaging topics. Four Physical Education teachers who probably put together a class that is always the highlight of the day for each student. Counselors who create and maintain communication with their students, and countless other teachers who coach and secretaries who also sponsor or coach. We have one substitute with a degree in anthropology from Davidson (wrestling coach at one time), and another with a degree in political science from Virginia Tech (multi sport coach), another from Pittsburgh (coaches crew outside County). World Class...

Parkside Middle School 1

Posted November 02, 2012
- a community member
Terrible school. Staff is unorganized and hates their jobs. School is generic and unconcerned for students. Bus schedules are always changing and you never know if your on the right bus. It took two weeks to register for the school thanks to very rude, unprofessional employees. I have been hung up on by the staff and the school seems very unwelcoming in general. To summarize, this school has no idea what they are doing, is poorly attempting to run on a low budget, and is unwelcoming. The teachers themselves seem good and are somewhat helpful and the curriculum is average.
1 person found this helpful


Parkside Middle School 1

Posted November 02, 2012
- a community member
Dissapointing. My US Constitutional rights have been violated so many times that it hurt me right in the patriotism. It's so poorly organized that alll the rules contradict each other and nobody has a clue what their doing. The staff is mean, I've been told "Get out my face" several times they arent helpful. The teachers are OK some are pretty bad but mostly good. Everybody hates their government jobs it not a happy place. Not very welcoming. You cant leave class, to use the bathroom, or they stop you.just to see the counselor you need to get a hall pas to get a counseling pass to get a digital hall pass back to class.
1 person found this helpful

Parkside Middle School 1

Posted April 11, 2011
- a parent
All we heard when we moved to this area was how great the schools are....well, after 7 months, I am NOT impressed. This school (as well as the elem my 4th grader attends) is one of the most unorganized schools I have ever seen. The band program is a disgrace......at their spring concert, my 8th grader was playing music that would have been 6th grade level at her old school. It was also extremely disorganized; the kids had no idea what songs they would be playing, they had to go get programs that were put out for parents so they could get their sheet music arranged. The teachers are slow to respond to communications from the parents. We got our 8th grader into the SIGNET program (the gifted program), but they really don't seem to do any real work in the class. I am really hoping for a better experience when she moves to high school next year!
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Parkside Middle School
8602 Mathis Ave, Manassas, VA  20110
(703) 361-3106
Last modified Parkside Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Parkside Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top