Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Herbert J. Saunders Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1082 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Special education

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 23, 2014

Lunch is a place where kids should communicate with one another. We're deprived from that because we have to sit with our class with the same people. We can't make new friends if we're stuck with the same people every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2014

Honestly, Saunders Middle school is an OK school. Three stars basically describe it, average. Last year, when I was in 6th grade there were really cool teachers who actually cared for their students, such as Mr. Anderson, Ms.Folly, etc. And then there were teacher who frankly didn't care what the heck you did. There was a sub which I will not name, who "teach " in math after our other Math teacher Ms. Sturgill had a heart attack. The sub barely provided us with work and since I was in the advanced math, she just expected us to get everything right, so we weren't really learning anything...A lot of kids that year had their math grades go down that year...and then theres the new principle, who is WAY over the top with the rules. But hey, who am I to complain about? I'm just another kid.


Posted June 28, 2014

New school and my rating will be updated as I get to know the teachers and staff


Posted October 26, 2013

I thought saunders middle school was an ok school but with the new principal,I see it's gone for the worst. This principal is horrible with her new rules just like the lunch rule. Lunch is for kids to eat and talk with friends from other classes. I feel horrible for the students who go there now with this disgrace of a principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2013

My child is in the 7th grade. She had fantastic teachers last year, including Mr Davenport and Mr Anderson. I love this school and I am pleased with the education being provided. One invident with Mr sweet making unkind comments to his class. Alot of parents in this area think because of the diversity here, children can't be educated. Students can excel, as long as school not failing. Going to Benton is no gurantee success. Parental involvement with your children should be your focus
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2013

Ok so the school is good I definetly think that three stars isn't the right amount so tell the truth and staff members please for give me but I think I seen subs do better this school should not go with principle. You've heard from me so take my advice. Sixth grade student


Posted June 13, 2013

My second child is completing his time at Saunders in a week. They have an excellent school and teachers. It does help if the parents are involved in the childs homework habits instead of expecting the teachers to do everything when they have so many students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2013

my friends kids go to this school this school does not have a very good curriculum and not very good teachers one of her kids were bullied and no teachers said anything about


Posted November 24, 2010

I feel priviliged to have my son attend this excellent school! Great teachers and staff! High standards! Love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2010

We think Saunders is a great school with great learning standards which meet and exceed the Counties grading scales and expectations. The children learn to be academically, and socially prepared for High School. The teachers show their care and concern each and everyday for the students. In turn the students gain self confidence and school pride that can not be beat! Go Bulldogs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2009

I was very impressed with Saunders. We could not have hand picked better teachers. They all showed an interest in my son and truly cared. I am looking forward to my youngest son going to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2008

We have been at a lot of schools and I have never been more impressed with a teaching staff than here. They truly care about each kid. I called one afternoon, and was able to meet all six of my kids teacher the next morning before I went to work. They have been wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2008

Uh yeah I've been here for three years and they are a decent school. P.E. they have plenty of activities you're just not looking to do them. But the teachers in this school I'm not too fond of.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 30, 2007

I am a 7th grader at saunders. i am on the dance team and all the teachers love that i am up and doing something and they motivate me to do everything i can to stay on the team. the only problem is that they are very strict on what ever we do. they make us stay on the right, so they stick a chair in the middle of the smallest hallways. but i do follow that rule, the only problem is that we can't ever talk or ELSE!!!!!!!!!!! but overall there are some really great days at that school and many memories to come and to remember there at saunders!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 15, 2007

Saunders is not a greatest school in my opinion. this year the classes are too long in Math,Science,and Social studies class are 85 minutes.I really like P.E. but when I come to this school I really hate P.E. in P.E we are absolutely do nothing we just talk with friends or do whatever we want. it is good for who doesn't like P.E. but I like P.E. so I want to run or play basketball,soccer,and tennis... I been in saunders for 2 years I never run and I NEVER NEVER NEVER got tired in P.E class. P.E teachers are ABSOLUTELY do nothing they just watch kids play.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 19, 2005

Saunders is the nest Middle School in my opinion. I am a 8th grader at Saunders Middle school. Saunders teachers get you motivated to do your best in class. It has raised my math, language arts, and science grade drastically. I will be very sorry to leave this school. What I have expierenced at this school I probably will not in any other. It has achived the 2004 schools to watch and is one of the very few to have the person it's named after still living. I love Saunders it's the best Middle school I never would want to go anywhere else. You can easily make friends and the teacher quality is magnificent in my opinion. This school also has many extrcurricular activities for the students and has a Parent Orginization to help with the activities. Saunders also raises money to benefit other causes such as Cancer. Saunders Rules!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 2, 2005

I'm a 7th grader here at Saunders. I am in a verity of different programs here. A quality program is the SIGNET program for the gifted education. They also have classes for people with mental dissabilities. All of the programs for students are very well maintained and organized. Music is required by 6th and 7th graders (not for 8th graders). You can choose from band, chorus, or orchstra. All of these programs are awesome. You play a concert at least once a year, depending on your playing abilities. The extracurricular activites are so cool. There are SO MANY to choose from such as sports, art , music, and many others. Parents are also very involved. We have an excellent PTSO (Parent, Teacher, Student Organization) that supports everyone here at Saunders and helps us do a lot of extra activities outside of school. This school also won many awards for excellence!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 7, 2004

As an unmotivated student I presented a difficult task for the teachers when I attended Saunders Middle. But to their credit they never quit on me and continued to expect the most out of me. Now I'm a government employee with children of my own who are due to attend Saunders in a few years and I have faith they will exit Saunders fully prepared for high school and beyond.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 18, 2004

I do not agree at all. I go to Saunders and I wouldn't want to go anywhere else. The teachers are great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 5, 2004

I agree with the other review. I went to Saunders for two years and it changed me a lot. The teachers weren't very helpful and I got beat up twice. Do your kid a favor and don't send them there.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

318 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
91%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

319 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 75% in 2013.

340 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
93%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

209 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 71% in 2013.

397 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 70% in 2013.

397 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

389 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

396 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students71%
Female students79%
Male students63%
Black students63%
Asian students83%
Hispanic68%
Multiracial56%
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficient students51%
Proficient in English75%

Math

All Students78%
Female students81%
Male students75%
Black students66%
Asian students96%
Hispanic76%
Multiracial73%
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities47%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient students67%
Proficient in English80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students82%
Female students89%
Male students77%
Black students83%
Asian students95%
Hispanic68%
Multiracial82%
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities32%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient students41%
Proficient in English86%

Math

All Students60%
Female students64%
Male students56%
Black students51%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic55%
Multiracial68%
White students72%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities46%
Students without disabilities63%
Limited English proficient students44%
Proficient in English62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students74%
Female students79%
Male students69%
Black students68%
Asian students95%
Hispanic56%
Multiracial85%
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities25%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient students29%
Proficient in English79%

English: Writing

All Students71%
Female students80%
Male students61%
Black students64%
Asian students78%
Hispanic56%
Multiracial80%
White students80%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities18%
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient students25%
Proficient in English75%

Math

All Students70%
Female students71%
Male students70%
Black students68%
Asian students88%
Hispanic62%
Multiracial72%
White students74%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities25%
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient students48%
Proficient in English73%

Science

All Students80%
Female students80%
Male students80%
Black students74%
Asian students89%
Hispanic69%
Multiracial85%
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities39%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient students42%
Proficient in English84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students99%
Female students99%
Male students100%
Black students96%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracial100%
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities99%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English99%

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Myca Gray

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13557 Spriggs Rd
Manassas, VA 20112
Phone: (703) 670-9188

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Cary Christian Academy
Woodbridge, VA


Independent Hill
Manassas, VA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT