Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


All Saints Catholic School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
The teachers at ASCS make time for children. They work long hours. They care for our children and put so much of themselves into their jobs. They care about the academic and personal development of the children. I am very glad as a parent to know that every day my child is going someplace where he is appreciated and cared for. I am very grateful for the teachers at All Saints.

All Saints Catholic School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
The school assigns the right amount of homework and I do not want them to reduce it. It's good the way it is.


All Saints Catholic School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
Students are assigned high but achievable goals and are expected to work towards those goals.

All Saints Catholic School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
By serving as good role models and ensuring an environment of trust and respect, All Saints Catholic School contributes to the development of respect in students. Families also play a significant role in this.

All Saints Catholic School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
Children are asked to put themselves in someone else's shoes to understand what they are going through. Classroom behavior is disciplined and respectful. Children know they can approach a teacher or a member of staff and that they will care enough to do something about their problem.


All Saints Catholic School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
Students are held accountable for their actions. They are also allowed to make mistakes and learn from them which is important in the formation of an individual's moral code. Teachers who are compassionate, fair and honest help in the formation of the student's character by serving as good role models.

All Saints Catholic School 5

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
This list sums up how I feel about Catholic schools and about All Saints Catholic School as well. - Parents choose Catholic schools for their children because of high academic standards; values-added education and a safe school environment. - Catholic Schools stress the value of self-discipline and commitment. - Catholic Schools encourage family input and involvement in the ongoing education of their children. Research shows that such a partnership results in higher attendance rates and lower dropout rates. - Catholic School students score significantly above the national averages on standardized testing. - Research shows that because of a greater emphasis on homework and study, Catholic School students develop more effective writing skills. - Catholic School faculty members are qualified professionals committed to bringing out the best in their students as they grow in knowledge, skills, and values. - Faculty and staff are role models who share their faith, their talents, and their time. - Catholic Schools encourage each student to accept the challenges of being a better person in tomorrow's world. - The emphasis is on participation by all students. - Standardized test scores and a high college acceptance rate reflect that the Catholic School students are self-disciplined, self-motivated, responsible, and creative. - Appropriate social and cultural activities, under school sponsorship, provide relaxation and creative outlets. - Catholic Schools represent affordable excellence; there is an emphasis on efficiency and accountability. - Tuition cost is often supplemented by the parish, so the Catholic community shares the cost of education. - In addition to a strong program in the "basics," as well as challenging programs for gifted students, Catholic Schools add the significant "plus" of religious, moral, and spiritual development. - Catholic Schools help students understand that each person is unique and valuable. - Catholic Schools strive to create a special bond among the students, the home, the school, and the church, so that all share the strong sense of community. - In Catholic Schools there is a mutual respect among students, faculty, and administrators which generates an atmosphere of care and concern. - While not all students who come to Catholic Schools are Catholic, all share experiences of faith and values.

All Saints Catholic School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
The school requests homework feedback from the parents every year regarding homework and has standards for each grade to ensure that students are not spending their entire evening doing homework. This ensures that students are reviewing concepts they learned in class, but also spending time playing, having fun with their family and participating in other activities like ballet and soccer and not stuck at a desk all evening.


All Saints Catholic School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
The level of communication between teachers and parents that I saw last year was amazing!! By the end of the first week I was already receiving emails from the teacher with pictures from class activities, updates on what the students would be working on that week and information on classroom projects that parents could come assist with in school if we wanted to. At the end of the first week every student was send home with a weekly calendar for the upcoming week so I would know what my student was doing during the upcoming week, what concepts they were learning, what letter and number they were learning each week and more.

All Saints Catholic School 5

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
Over the past year I've watched my son blossom under the instruction of the amazing pre-K team at All Saints!! He had SO much fun last year that it didn't even seem like school to him!! He has been asking me every day since school got out when he could go back!! He spent hours trying on the different pieces to his uniform and getting his backpack organized and ready to go!! He can't wait to start Kindergarten next week and I have every confidence that the Kindergarten team will have him just as excited for 1st grade next year!! Definite pluses to this school include the fact that it is an allergy free school (peanut and tree nut free facility) and they work with parents to identify and eliminate food allergies in the cafeteria and classrooms. The STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) program is also a big plus that most public Elementary and Middle Schools don't offer. All Saints also welcomes involvement by parents and encourages volunteering in the school both in the classroom and with extracurricular activities at a level that I have never seen in any public school. This school is a school family, the Principal makes it a point to know all the kids names and to know their parents as well which is amazing knowing how many students attend this school. The test results as well as the excitement that I see in the classrooms when I visit are clear indicators that this school is one of the top schools in the Northern Virginia area and was my first choice for my kids after touring numerous schools.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

All Saints Catholic School
9294 Stonewall Road, Manassas, VA  20110
(703) 368-4400
Last modified All Saints Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
All Saints Catholic School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top