Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Emmanuel Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 161 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Manassas

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $195,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,460.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 25, 2014

Great school with caring teachers. I wouldn't think of sending my son anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2013

Our family has been at Emmanuel for several years. We absolutely love the way the teachers and staff interact with the students. The small class sizes are exactly what our boys needed. The school has given our boys a great education and at the same time made it feel like family. We also like how the Bible is taught as part of each subject. ECS has been a wonderful, positive part of our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2013

Our children love ECS. We have found loving teachers, high academic standards, and great friends for our children. Teaching from a Biblical world view is very important to us and ECS does a good job of integrating strong academics with Biblical teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2011

I spent nine years as a student here and was entirely unprepared for the outside world when I left. The classes include strict, Baptist morality and kids are rejected if they stray from the fold. If you send your children here, best keep them sheltered for a lifetime.


Posted July 13, 2011

This school was HORRIBLE. I went there from 6th-8th grade, the education was minimal and I didn't learn any good social skills. I went to public high school after this and was so un-prepared and behind, and I did not know how to cop with the new change. After my freshman year I felt so much better being in public school. I was much happier, very well prepared for the REAL world after going to public. Should have done that from the start!


Posted June 16, 2010

I have been a parent here for 5 years and have two children attending there. My son was in K5 this year and is reading on a 3rd grade level now. The teacher was so wonderful in teaching my child the Bible content that the Standfort scores were high and advanced in everything but listening. I am extremely pleased and proud of the education my child is learning both academically and spiritually!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

I think this school is a very great school. My children would cry if they left this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2010

This school needs to be closed. The academics in the high school where my child is are horrible. The grading scale is too easy and the teachers give the students answers instead of preparing them for college. I am disappointed that I have hurt my child's education by placing them in the school and will be moving them to public where at least I know the standards are above ground level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2007

This is our first year at ECS. My children are both at the high school. The academic standard is high. Children receive encouragement to always give best effort. For a small school, many after school activities are available. Overall quality of staff and administration is high. Students are friendly and welcoming to new students. Self-discipline and respect are encouraged. This school is a refreshing change from the mainstream.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2007

I have had my kids in ECS for a number of years. I think they have a quality program. I feel the teachers care about the kids. It has a good sport program that has something to offer for everyone. They are given a sound biblical knowledge that prepares them to go out into the world with a good foundation and biblical worldview.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2006

ECS lets Jesus Christ shine in all of their subjects taught. Being a private school, the focus is quality education with encouraging faith in God through Christ. I appreciate that. They are hand in hand with the families. Safe place in many ways. Small enough for quality friendships to be made and kept. Great supervision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2005

We experienced one horrible year and that was enough. The school parents and administration, with the exception of a very few, seemed cold and uncaring. Definitely a great school if you attend church there. The school goes as far as to require the teachers to attend the church.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2004

We have had children in Emmanuel Christian School for 15 years and have been so blessed by the teachers and staff. The elementary teachers are warm and caring, the administration truly seeks to honor the Lord in every area. Our older children have now graduated and have consistently been on the Dean's list at their colleges. Quality of instruction, a wide diversity of athletic teams, and Godly teachers are a winning combination in this family's life!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2004

The administration is concerned about nothing else but beating into the children simple Bible Trivia Questions. They are nosy, but caring, however their teaching quality is horrible. Their principal and headmaster should both be fired and the school should be shut down.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • ACSI
  • SBACS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Supports home-based learning
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8302 Spruce Street
Manassas, VA 20111
Phone: (703) 369-3950

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Manassas Park High School
Manassas Park, VA


Manassas Park Middle School
Manassas Park, VA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT