Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
40 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 66 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ashland Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted May 09, 2016
- a parent
Mr Jacks is very active with the students and staff. His enthusiasim is contagious and dedication to school performance is admirable.

Ashland Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 09, 2016
- a parent
Kids helping kids! The staff encourages compassion and helping attitude amongst the student body. Disrespect not tolerated. Lots of projects to help student led efforts.


Ashland Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 09, 2016
- a parent
They instill personal accountability and fair treatment. the teachers value open communication among the children and conflict resolution.

Ashland Elementary School 5

Posted May 09, 2016
- a parent
Caring teachers and administrators. Principal is very active with student body and keeps a modern and fresh approach to learning. Maintains high level of school pride amongst the student boday and teaching staff. Great emphasis on student performance and learning.

Ashland Elementary School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted April 19, 2016
- a teacher
I would like to thank all of our parent volunteers because they are awesome! They show compassion and dedication to our students, teachers and everyone at our school!


Ashland Elementary School 5

Posted April 19, 2016
- a teacher
I am a teacher at Ashland. I have been a teacher in Prince William County for over twenty years and I will tell you that you will not find a finer school anywhere. This community works together to bring happiness, hard work and learning together with creativity each day. I am proud to be a part of this excellent school!

Ashland Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted March 12, 2016
- a community member
When a teacher goes out of her what to figure out why the child is having a hard time learning and works with the parents to develop the learning, thats a plus in my book. She could have just kept going on status quo but this shows real dedication to each child. Kudos to Ms Grant in 1st Grade

Ashland Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted March 12, 2016
- a community member
Homework is the responsibility of the teacher to provide work that is relevant; the child to do it; and the parent to follow up, monitor, and help the child. The homework my daughter gets follows what she is doing, plus the school subscribes to IXL.com and Raz-kids.com. These help give additional schooling to the kids in reading and math that I think are beneficial. I am actually enrolling my 4yo in IXL to get him a head start based on what I seen with my 6yo.


Ashland Elementary School 5

Posted March 12, 2016
- a community member
We sent our daughter here for 1st grade while assigned to the area with the military. Coming from the Bay Area in California, this is the kind of progressive, tech savvy school I would expect to find there. But what a surprise to find that kind of atmosphere here. I didn't know what to expect at first, but EVERYONE I talked to, parents, teachers, etc, all said Ashland was the place to go. And they were right. Not sure what experience the person who posted on Dec 8 had, but the principle is the most engaged, hardest working administrator I've come across in my education experience. He truly has shown that he is engaged with both the kids and the teachers. The teacher we have (Ms Grant), went out of her way to help out daughter with her learning to ensure she was able transition from Kindergarten from another school. Kudos to her. If I could stay another 3 years, I would definitely invest my child's education in Ashland.

Ashland Elementary School 1

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
The schools needs new leadership. The current principal is unprofessional and rude. He does not care about the kids or teachers. He is focused on his own professional growth. Parents need to send their students to another school with supportive and fair leadership that focuses on the needs of all students and teacher. This school is the worst school in the county.

Nearby schools

Ashland Elementary School
15300 Bowmans Folly Dr, Manassas, VA  20112
(703) 583-8774
Last modified Ashland Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top