Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Manassas Christian School 3

Posted December 01, 2014
- a community member
I was a student from manassas Christian school and I graduated from 8th grade last spring. I wanted to share my experience with MCS. First, I give this 3 stars only because this was a Christian school and their bible curriculum was very good. If you want your child to have a closer connection with God then this is definantly a good school to look into for that reason. They have devotions every Friday, where they pray and worship and sing God which was one of my favorite things, it was just like church. That was something that made that school one of a kind. But as far as the teachers and students, well that's a different story.. Some teachers were very nice and helpful and others were plain mean and put you down. Same goes with the students, many are total sweethearts and others were bully. When you would bring up the attention of the bullying, teachers wouldn't do anything. Then you would bring it to the principal who would say "I'll take care of it" which meant the issue would be tossed in the trash, but not completely gone because the bullying would still occur. The principal may act nice towards the little kids, but don't let that fool you, to the older kids, she's mean!!!

Manassas Christian School 5

Posted September 16, 2014
- a parent
I feel I can really assess this school now as we have moved away to another state and have compared it to other schools. Needless to say, our family still thinks the world of MCS. There is nothing like it. The family environment, nice children, caring teachers, academics. I can go on and on. This school truly is amazing.


Manassas Christian School 5

Posted June 11, 2014
- a parent
This school has been a blessing for my child. From a broken home he has found spiritual guidance from schoolwork to teamwork. He is thriving in this envionment, It is reflected in his home life as well.

Manassas Christian School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
This school offers a challenging academic curriculum in a secure Christian environment. The standards help to build character and promote leadership growth while teaching respect and compassion for others. Lessons extend above & beyond SOL for an improved, more fulfilling learning experience. Homework reinforces good work habits and responsibility. MCS recognizes the value of STEM for their students' future with dedicated VEX classes as well as school teams for VexIQ, FFL & VEX. I have been extremely pleased with the education my children have received from MCS and the quality of the school leadership. I feel they are being prepared as individuals everyday for a successful future through ongoing mentoring and programs designed to educate them both spiritually and academically.

Manassas Christian School 1

Posted April 04, 2014
- a parent
Find another school. Not this one! Your child will supposedly get the best grades, but when you compare what they've learned at this school, to the PWC county schools, they are severely lacking and behind their peers. This school, especially the principal and faculty, are more concerned with the quantity of students for financial reasons than the quality of students. If you pay a lot, then you get the preferential treatment. If you aren't a "dedicated" parent, as you have to work and can't attend every function, then you don't belong to the family and are shut out. They don't understand that not all families communicate, and share information, and refuse to accommodate the ousted parent because they are not the paying parent. You can do better than this school. Lots of homework and extracurricular clubs do not cover up their lack of a real education, and bible lessons will only get you so far in life. Nothing Christian about this school


Manassas Christian School 5

Posted March 17, 2014
- a teacher
Baseball Staring Come out and have fun. I'm Harlan Wahlert Manager of the LIONS TEAM

Manassas Christian School 1

Posted August 29, 2013
- a parent
Christian in name, not in practice. The principal is cunning and manipulative, bullying her teachers and parents to the point of emotional distress. Lack of state or corporate oversight and test scores that are not compared locally make this school a huge gamble for children who attend. Fall in line and cow-tow to the favoritism and dictatorial style of practiced and your child may seem to do well, but as grades dwindle pathetically in upper levels and they are ill prepared for life outside the walls of MCS, have you really gotten your return on investment? She will stand before her maker one day and have to account for her "christian" behavior.

Manassas Christian School 2

Posted August 12, 2013
- a parent
MCS is a missed opportunity for its corporate owner, Minnieland Corporation. With [mostly] fantastic teachers, an opportunity to fill a niche of private, christian education at the K-8 levels in the Manassas area and an generally decent facility, this school should be booming. Instead, it churns students and teachers on an annual basis. What holds it together is the passion of the teachers, dedication of parents and the lack of better alternatives in the area. The principal has lost touch with current teaching and leadership standards; she lacks objectivity and is dismissive with parents, teachers and students who have opinions opposed to her. "Her school" will only grow as big as her arms can reach; which gets smaller each year as she ages. Communication between the office and teachers (and home to parents) is lacking and often comes too late to be reasonable; a challenge in today's busy world. A disproportionate focus on the school's VEX program puts other programs at a disadvantage; music, art, foreign language are all underdeveloped. After five years of Spanish, my child barely knows words (yet made the highest scores). We have sadly left; it is not worth the tuition.


Manassas Christian School 5

Posted February 01, 2013
- a parent
My child came from a home school environment so I was a bit apprehensive about sending him into a full time brick and mortar school in 7th grade. The staff is friendly and always available to parents and students with questions. They are very protective of the students from outsiders and don't tolerate any bullying. They were able to test my son into the right classes and the work is very challenging, but the teachers put in extra time after school for homework club. The lunch menu is delicious and nutritious and they have a very clean facility. And the name of the Lord is lifted up everywhere! I am glad He led us here.

Manassas Christian School 1

Posted November 19, 2011
- a parent
My daughter attended MCS for one year. In that one year her test scores dropped and we had to get her additional tutoring to get her caught up. She was also bullied while attending MCS, but the principal and faculty are more concerned with the quantity of students for financial reasons than they are the quality of students. So the kids are permitted to act inappropriately with little or no recourse. I would not recommend this school, there are many other better options in the area.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Manassas Christian School
9296 West Carondelet Drive, Manassas, VA  20111
(703) 393-6555
Last modified Manassas Christian School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Manassas Christian School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top