Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-7|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
4 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Good Shepherd Academy 5

Posted November 08, 2015
- a student
I am a past student. This school helped not only with my education, but also with my spiritual growth. The teachers were kind and understanding and always made me feel at home. The advanced curriculum prepared me for High School and the Religious foundation prepared me for my whole life.

Good Shepherd Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted November 04, 2015
- a student
the teachers truly care about how much the students learn. They will take extra time to review lessons when needed


Good Shepherd Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 04, 2015
- a student
there is a policy at the school that students should not have more than 2 hours worth of homework

Good Shepherd Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted November 04, 2015
- a student
Students are not spoon fed answers or made to feel like they cannot do the work on their own, the teachers help them work through it and show the student they can do the work on their own

Good Shepherd Academy
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted November 04, 2015
- a student
At this school we were taught to respect all human life including our friends at school


Good Shepherd Academy 5

Posted November 02, 2015
- a parent
This is a great little school, with small class sizes and a a core group of teachers that teach and really care about the kids in their class. We have have four kids go through the school over the last ten years and every one of them have gone on to excel and have had clear sailing into the High school of our choosing

Good Shepherd Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 02, 2015
- a student
students are taught to work together, talk things out and most importantly to love their neighbor

Good Shepherd Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 02, 2015
- a student
The rules reflect the virtues and commandments which were given to us by the church but everything is handled in a positive manner.


Good Shepherd Academy 1

Posted August 18, 2015
- a community member
There are many aspects of this school to consider, and only a few varied opinions posted publicly. Different parents expect different things for their children. Sit in on a school day before deciding. Good day and happy school hunting!

Good Shepherd Academy 5

Posted August 16, 2015
- a parent
We love Good Shepherd Academy. Its a small school and very Catholic. My daughter loves it there so much she typically cries if we miss a day for any reason. A big state of the art school it is not. But its benefits have far exceeded anything it is lacking. My daughter recieves a lot of one on one attention. I’ve never seen so many older students treat younger students with such kindness. Virtues are emphasized and rewarded. Mrs. Healey is sweet with the children. She has always been very approachable and I’ve never had any issue with addressing any concerns with her. Each day is started and ended in prayer. The rules don’t seem overly strict. I’ve been impressed too with how far a long my daughter is academically. She is at least a year ahead when I compare her work to work in other schools. There is a lot to be said about smaller class sizes!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Good Shepherd Academy
10501 Balls Ford Road, Manassas, VA  20109
(703) 257-7577
Last modified Good Shepherd Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-7
Good Shepherd Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top