Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Martinsville, VA
Students enrolled: 666

3 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Martinsville High School 1

Posted April 22, 2013
- a parent
Martinsville Senior High School [used] to be a good school. Now, they are more concerned about what the kids are wearing than the quality of their education. The school counselors don't seem to care about [all] the students - just the higher performing ones. Bullying is definitely an ongoing issue - one which is often reported, but usually ignored/not dealt with. Students are often groping each other in the hallways and are disrespectful toward teachers. I would NOT recommend MHS to anyone. The adults aren't in control here.

Martinsville High School 1

Posted November 10, 2009
- a student
Absolutely pathetic. Cliques galore...not the place for 'misfits' or transfers. School will do absolutely nothing regarding bullying, even though both girls and boys are victims. The academics are an absolute joke, even if you take AP and IB classes. One decent teacher, Mrs. McCraw...she truly cares about her students though she teaches purely SOL material...another sad situation. I would suggest this school to no one.


Martinsville High School 5

Posted June 23, 2008
- a student
I am an upcoming senior of this school. I love this school! I love it because it's an all-around great school. The teachers have great dedication and I loveee the diversity of this school. The sports are great. I love how this school gives you a great opportunity to succeed by going into the ACE program or Govenor's school program or Honors program. IF one fails, it's truly because of their lack of commitment. This school has even strived to give the people not involved in those programs the opportunity to do better with incenetives. And to mention the teachers... they are SOO excellent. They aren't boring teachers either. They are funny! They have awesome personalities like Mr. Karavatakis, Mrs. Brown, Mrs. Stone, Mrs. Fulton, etc. I, as a student here, believe we have come far with our state testing scores. Great school!

Martinsville High School 5

Posted March 31, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Martinsville High School 5

Posted March 14, 2008
- a parent
Great- very friendly and responsive


Martinsville High School 4

Posted January 29, 2007
- a parent
The teachers work diligently to provide the best education to all and test scores have improved. For the gifted students, this school is great. The opportunities provided by PHCC allow students to graduate with an associates degree at the same time they finish high school. There tends to be a lot of opportunities here if you sit down and map out a plan with the school counselors. The principal is top notch!

Martinsville High School 1

Posted March 02, 2005
- a parent
2000-2001 School accreditation from Va Dept of Ed.: SOL test pass rates-English:63%,Math:35%,History:44%,Science:49%. Need I say more? Anyone that praises this school doesn't have high expectations.

Martinsville High School 1

Posted January 15, 2005
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Martinsville High School
351 Commonwealth Blvd, Martinsville, VA  24112
(276) 403-5870
Last modified Martinsville High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Martinsville High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top