Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Carlisle School

Private | PK-12 | 520 students

We are best known for academics, athletics, and arts.

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

It is such a blessing to have Carlisle School in our community. The peace of mind that my husband and I receives from the decision we made to send our children there is truly priceless. Not only is the quality of education second to none, it also offers so many opportunities and programs to bring out that special quality or gift in your child. For example, one day while in music class practicing for the third grade play, my son Chandler was sitting on the stage beating his shoes with pencils while waiting for his part. The teacher noticed this and instead of telling him to stop, she asked if he could beat the drums to one of the songs in the play. What? I really didn't know what to think or say. After building MY nerve up, Chandler played the drums to Hakuna Matata. And eventho me and his dad stood during the entire song,(fortunately we were in the back), he did so well! All eyes were on him and the performers. This brought out confidence and encouragement in our son that otherwise may have remained dormant. I am so happy to share this story. This meant a lot to us. I truly feel when your child attends a school such as Carlisle, you are welcomed into one big happy family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2013

Coming from a student that just recently graduated. This school cares more about money than it does education.


Posted June 16, 2013

From the perspective of a student who attended Carlisle from pres-school though to graduation, I can say that Carlisle is not in any way, shape or form, worth the money paid for it over that time. They use an outdated method of teaching, have few truly qualified teachers, and adhere to a very political system of getting things done. If your family did not contribute to the building of a new building on campus or purchase equipment for a sports team, expect a rough time. The kids of the parents who do provide such things have free reign of the school whilst other kids will be reprimanded for the slightest thing. Extreme discrimination against those who did not come from high net worth families made for a tense environment at all times, and teachers for the most part were uncaring. I would recommend that you send your children either to a much more qualified private school, such as one in Roanoke or Greensboro, both roughly an hour away. Not worth the elitist attitude nor the poor level or college preparation. Many, and I do mean many students end up accepted to third rate institutions, and drop out quickly, meanwhile Carlisle uses this to say it has 100% "college placement rates.


Posted August 28, 2012

At the beginning they were unprofessionally so concerned about the $65 application fee for my kindergartener. After our meeting they kept us waiting to enroll my son for a while. Since we were moving to Danville from another place and were close to the new school year, I gave them a deadline to respond. They got upset and claimed that my brilliant almost 6 years old child was not ready for kindergarten!!!?? He was one of the best in his preschool class. I can see from the previous comment that they have students with ADHD, ADD,..!! A resource in town told us that once their classes are full they try to collect money as "application fee" as much as they could! My husband and I are so pleased to got to know these people and their system just on time. Submitted by a parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2009

A very good school, however I do not feel they have many staff members quilified to deal with children with ADHD, ADD and some other disabilities. I would highly recommend this school for other type students.


Posted October 27, 2008

This is a superb school offering an IB curriculum and a comprensive selection of athletics and great arts. If you are looking for an excellent all-around product and great value for money, this is it. Lots of diversity, excellent college placements, boarding and day.One of the top up-and-coming independent schools in VA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2008

This school offers a holistic and challenging scholastic environment and prepares one exceptionally well for university. The school is currently, and with a large degree of success, increasing its enrollment of international students which has greatly diversified its student body. There is however still polarization among the have and the have-nots as well as among new students and those that have been enrolled since pre-k.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 29, 2008

the school is a hard working school. they have very small classes. they get u ready for college. they are one on one with the kids. but they have problems just like everyone else. but they keep everything very quite.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2006

The educational program is comprehensive, innovative, future oriented and above all, my children are in a nurturing and safe environment.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 24, 2006

Great value! Wonderful student-teacher ratio. The teachers treat the students like their own children. Students respect and look out for each other.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Recycling club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Barry M. Dorsey
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Some boarding, some day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (276) 632-9545

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Fencing
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • fencing
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Fencing
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • fencing

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Community service
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Game club
  • Interact
  • National Honor Society
  • Recycling club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$6000 - $10000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

300 Carlisle Rd
Martinsville, VA 24115
Website: Click here
Phone: (276) 632-7288

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Laurel Park Middle School
Martinsville, VA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT