Advertisement
Advertisement

The Potomac School

Private | K-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in McLean

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $817,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,645.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

I have 2 children who attend the Potomac School - one in K and one in 4th grade. We couldn't be happier with the teachers, the adminstrators, the community, and the curriculum. The transportation is fantastic, with late buses that allow my kids to particpate in extra curriculars without creating a logistical challenges.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

My child came to The Potomac School as a ninth grader. At that time, my child was an excellent student, but had low self-esteem and was shy. High School is a tough time for some kids and I thought the shyness would get worse. Instead, The Potomac School took the entire ninth grade on a three day overnight so the class could gel. The sports teams went off on cabin trips so there was team bonding among grade levels. There are assemblies for each grade so kids can work out problems together. The parents meet to talk about grade level concerns. The community is tight and small, and all kids find a friend group that works. After the first 6-7 months at this school, my child was confident, looking for leadership positions, and happy. I hoped it would happen but didn't expect it in that first year! I gave four stars on teacher quality because there are a couple of new teachers this year that are still finding their footing. If the school does for teachers what it does for kids, those teachers should turn out just fine.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2014

Potomac is an absolutely amazing place to go to school. Unlike other schools, with numbers much bigger than ours, we can have a student that is captain of a varsity sport, participates in the school play, and plays a musical instrument. Overall the atmosphere is just a great place to be learning. Go Panthers!


Posted January 13, 2014

My daughter has been at the Potomac School for 2-years. It is an excellent school that is full of oppertunity. The academics are top notch!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2013

I was a past student for 8 years. Deplorable school. Tuition obsessed, hypocritical and now known to harbor pediphiles.


Posted September 17, 2013

Worse School to work at, Overrated; the staff does not know what they are doing! Stay away from them!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 16, 2013

Administrators are terrible and uncompassioate Teachers great No tolerance for learning differences Kids are elitist snobs No compassion in a supposedly caring community for children who do not fit the mold
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2011

It is trying to boost the science program at the moment, but it's leaving other subjects behind. An incredible amount of money has been poured into a program that ultimately leads to a narrow definition of intelligence. As a student, I have heard from many kids that this program is really a mistake. It has extremely high goals, which no one has reached, and promotes the feeling that being smart means being good at math. The school needs to focus on the rest of the curriculum as well. In stead of pumping in math/science kids, add some people who love history or who read poetry in their spare time. We need some academic diversity -- a group who will inspire the kids to teach each other. Don't kid yourself, Potomac, we can't compete with TJ's science program. I would hope that parents could bring this up because it is increasingly frustrating for high school students, and that's coming from a math/science kid. That being said, I have had a fantastic time at the school. I have had great teachers and opportunities to grow at every corner. I would *highly* recommend Potomac.


Posted October 12, 2011

I graduated from the Potomac School and even though I do not regret my decision to attend if I did it over again I wish I hadn't attended this school. There is a false sense of community and a very elitist attitude. The school epitomizes the competitive nature of the East Coast. I genuinely believe that the school is gradually getting worse and worse as it tries to keep up old images. Some of the staff is genuinely interested in students and their success while others want to mold little robots that will donate more and more as alums.


Posted January 18, 2011

Wonderful Middle School. We have two children at Potomac. They started in Kindergarten and are now in 4th and 6th grades (middle school is 4-6 grade). The lower school provided learning in a play-oriented and caring community. The MS is just amazing with a dynamic head of MS, assignments that are challenging and fun (moon project, class plays in a real theater, outdoor education and environmental stewardship, vermiculture, writers workshop ...). The teachers are enthusiastic and accessible. The parents care about the school and are able to volunteer if they chose (no pressure). I'm looking forward the the Intermediate School (grades 7 & 8): I think it's wonderful how the school works with these grades separately.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

potomac is a great school they have a new lower school and it is the best school ever.It has a great community and they always have a smile on there face.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 3, 2009

I have two children at The Potomac School and my children, my wife and I could not be happier. My wife and I both went to prestigious private high schools in different cities and Potomac has surpassed our high expectations. The school is demanding academically, but in a positive encouraging way. The teachers push the kids to achieve their maximum potential that potential that few children have the confidence to recognize without encouragement and mentoring. In Potomac s demanding, but positive environment my children have grown in multiple dimensions. I cannot recommend Potomac strongly enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2009

Potomac is an excellent school with top notch academics and a fantastic facility. Despite the recent growth, Potomac still has the feeling of a small caring school. I LOVE the academic rigor of the high school, but sometimes a few teachers forget they're teaching children who are 14/15...not college students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2008

Have had 4 kids in 5 priv DC schools, incl all 4 divisions of this school from K through HS senior. This is an academically excellent and v family-oriented sch that puts hi priority on developing the whole child, & esp on promoting basic values of honesty, integrity, and responsibility of the individual to society. Rules are clear & consequences are fair. High points: Committed, innovative teachers and solid K-12 curriculum; an unusually involved and supportive parent community volunteers liberally; an extensive bus system & scholarship structure tries(+/-) to combat the inherent lack of socio-economic diversity in private schools; music & arts programs are supported enthusiastically throughout all levels. The only 3 areas where I would like to see improvement are 1) offer foreign language before the 7th grade, 2) emphasize sensitivity to & tolerance of learning differences, and 3) challenge HS instrumentalists with higher expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2008

Best private high school in Virginia. Small classes, great teachers, very smart and competitive kids that go on prestigious colleges.


Posted May 12, 2008

My son has been a Potomac student for four years since he was in first grade. Many Potomac families are fond of saying 'that there is just something about Potomac' that is so NICE. It might be the end of day hand shake and mutual respect shared between teachers and students, it might be the musically filled Friday assemblies or it might just be the outstanding academics. No matter what the reason, Potomac children are happily engaged students who are eager to learn, curious about the world we live in, and delighted to help others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2008

Very good school but unusually strict disciplinary methods. Suspensions and expulsions far too common for very minor offences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2008

my child loves it here she says it is truly amazing!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2007

It is an amazing school. The teachers really care about their students. Nothing is wrong with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2005

Potomac is excellent school w/ administration, teachers and parents who truly care about the education and well being of children. Potomac has four different schools to nuture the children on all levels. The academic program is extensive and rigorous but the kids learn and have fun at it! Music, art, physical education and science are available. Extra curricular activities really doesn't exist until 7th grade. My son is entering his 5th year at the Potomac School and I recommend Potomac to any and everyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

P.O. Box 430
McLean, VA 22101
Phone: (703) 356-4100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT