Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Langley High School

Public | 9-12 | 1962 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 15 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

80 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 16, 2008

i'm a sophmore at langley and i absolutley love it, the school has so much to offer ranging from clubs, honor societies, althelics, theatre, and music. I'm very happy with the mahority of my teachers, and all of my teachers are always willing to help outside of class. I take AP world history and i feel challenged but it is very good class. I would highly recomend langley to anybody
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 10, 2008

My son is a freshman at Langley. Firstly, I appreciate there are no gangs here. Safety is always my first priority, and I appreciate the fact that I never worry about my son s safety at school. Presently, he takes HNAlgebra2, HNEnglish9, Pre-APHistory, HNBiology, and Spanish2. However, I need to say that the focus on his education so far has not been learning or thinking skills, rather his education has been geared for test taking and the SOL s. His classes are overcrowded and do not focus at all on the individuals. His teachers have virtually ignored my son this entire year. I find it difficult to understand why the McLean/Great Falls community, which has wealth and community interest, has not initiated more fundraisers to reduce class sizes and pay for better teachers. In conclusion, my daughter, with the same academic abilities as my son, will not attend this school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

As a current freshman at Langley i thought it is only fair to address the horrible way that some people are treated. Sure, we have great tests scores, but that does not make a school great. All you have to do is spend one day there and I can assure you that you will be shocked by the the cliques and attitudes of some of the students. A majority of the girls at Langley basically reject anyone who isn't perfect or rich. Its kind of ridiculous. And to tell you the truth, i'm over it. Because of some social issues that many students face I am going to a private school next year. Words can not describe how excited I am to get away from this horrible school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 8, 2008

My son is a senior. He has been accepted to two great colleges already. Langley has its good and bad, just like any, yes, it is among the wealthiest area but I have to say my son`s friends were very well behaved, well mannered and very smart. I did hear all the bad things about Langley before my son went there, infact I was even thinking about sending him to another school but I am glad I did not let all the stories about drugs and drinking swayed me. Drugs is every where. Parents have to be aware of what their kids are up too, who they hang out with, it is not up to the school to babysit and monitor your kids. Langley did their job with great opportunities for the kids who want to strive, if you are a problem kid you will find problem in any school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2008

The schools zip codes are among the wealthiest in the country.This reflected in the material possessions of the students, attitude. Little diversity in color. Clicks. Excellent education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2007

Langley high school is a school of oppritunities. Students can persue whatever they desire, including arts, science, math, english, music, history, languages, fashion, and so much more. The school does have cliques, but they are nowhere as bad as previous posters are making it appear. The best way to meet people is in after school activities or programs like orchestra, band or chorus. Some of the 'cliques' do involve drugs and/or alcohol, but again, the problem can easily be avoided... peer pressure is more of an excuse than a real issue. Students with minor learning dissabilities have to fight for accommodations for about a month, but will eventually recieve whatever they need. Students with major physical or learning disabilities are comletely supported by the school. Classes can be as hard or easy as necessary. The school is being rennovated so all 'mold' issues are nullified.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 28, 2007

I went to Langley and it was a great experience....
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 23, 2007

My children are outstanding kids, and have had to deal with a lot of problems from this school. Langley is a very tough academic school, in which each and every teacher views their class as the most important one, and assigns a heavy load of homework that reflects it. Most of the students have parents who are checked out, and don't pay attention to what their children participate in. I even pulled my son out of football do to the heavy partying that takes place, and the immense pressure to participate in it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2006

I recently graduated Langley High, and I treasure my experience there. Now in college, I realize that Langley offered many more diverse classes(APs) than other schools in the country. Like most high school experiences, there are cliques, though the word tends to have a negative conotation. I found my own niche, and I was able to excel in academics, extracurriculars, and sports because there were so many options. To maximize all Langley has to offer, the student must remember to hang out with a good group of kids and get involved in school activities. Langley High School produces many strong, all-american students. It is definitely one of the finest public high schools in the nation.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 28, 2005

Currently I am a senior at Langley. I'd like to state from an insider's veiw that many of the negitive and positive things are true. There is mold on the walls and the school is falling apart. Academics come first in this school, and much minipulation and pressure is put on the students to perform. If you have learning problems, you are a problem. Langley has its good and bad teachers, dont belive the myths. Overachevivers are plenty in this school, and they are showered with attention. If you see between the cracks there is previlent drug use, drinking, and sexual promescuity around the school. Also the temprature of the rooms varries greatly and really really cold and rrrealy really warm. It is an academia school and will prepare your child for college. Langley is what it is nothing more and nothing less. -Liz
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 27, 2005

As a Langley alum, I have mixed feelings about the school. Langley is great for the driven student. It's competitive to the point of being cut throat in every department. However, in saying this, more sensitive, less driven kids will be overwhelmed and unhappy. Also, if your child has learning problems or doesn't get good grades, they are definatly a second priority to the faculty. But Langley, though it's not titled as such, is a college prepatory school. Any child who goes here will be prepared to face college. My freshman year of college, people in my english class were having problems writing 5 page papers. I'd already written 15 page papers in high school. Langley is not for everyone, but it is a fine school for those who can handle it.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 26, 2005

Hey, I'm a Junior this year for Langley HighSchool. I transferred for my sophmore year from Oakton and was thrown into a completely new environment that I had absolutely no friends in. I love the orchestra teacher, Doctor McCormick, he's the teacher who's shown me the friendlier side of the school. The school felt clique'd up though, and very stuck up with rich people. I felt like a random red dot in the middle of all whites and it was really weird. But getting through the school year, and starting this Junior year, I'm really beginning to see the cooperation and the effort each and everyone at the school really puts in. This school is absolutely, undeniably, great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 17, 2005

As a parent who had their child at Langley I say it is outstanding in every way. Around the country, the other schools we have been in do not even compare. The Administration, particlarly the Princiapl, is first class, the counselors attentive, and the teachers are experts in their fields. Personally, mine was happiest in the orchestra and the language programs. There were so many opportunites for excellence there. Also the history and english teachers were exceptional. The parents of children at Langley combine to make it an A-list school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2005

My son is a sophmore at Langley HS. He has been very happy and has found the CC team to be his nitch. His grades have not been as exciting. The Public school experience is what you make it. There is no hand holding. It is government at it's 'finest'. As far as a public institution, it runs at its maximum. It cranks out excellent test scores - at the expense of everything else. The Principal, School Board and teachers have their agenda and the students fall into that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2005

As a student for the past four years, I have noticed a number of things-good and bad-but still come to the same conclusion: this school is academically and socially a great experience for those who are confident. While the socio-economic role does have a large impact on the stresses of the student body, the pressure originates more so from the parents in the home. Secondly, while it would appear that the expensive lifestyle of the surrounding neighborhood is not reflected in the 'look' of the school, one must remember the school is forty years old and, other than taxes, people cannot contribute monetarily to the education of a public school. Safety-wise, Langley is top-notch, going so far as to hire their own security to insure the well being of its student body. Teachers are exceptional, mainly because they want to come to teach students that want to learn. Preconcieved notions are mostly false.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 5, 2005

I am a sophmore at langley high school this year, and some of the comments given on this site have surprised me. Many of the parents talked about their children being teased or not accepted into a group of friends. I have found that most people that go to the school are very friendly, and it just depends on where you look to make friends. Joining the track team really helped me to make many friends, allong with many of the clubs i have been involved with. Although the work load is extremely high and difficult, i have found most teachers to be helpful and receptive to student problems. As far as i know there is NOT mold on the walls...however there is sometimes a lack of toilet paper.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 10, 2005

I'm currently a Junior at LHS, and I would recommend this school to prospective students. There are tons of AP and Honors courses available to challenge students and provide the exposure to college level work that is so beneficial in the long run of our education. It is a safe, although emotionally tumultuous environment. There are almost never any physical fights and little to no gang activity The stress level is high, mainly due to overly-demanding parents who expect their children to live up to their standards (aka multi-million dollar houses). In the end, taking advantage of the good classes, dozens of clubs and sports, and other well-organized and funded programs at Langley is up to the student. If a student is motivated and has strong confidence to resist peer pressure to do drugs, Langley is an excellent environment to grow and learn.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 24, 2005

As a LHS grad, I feel these reviews are overly emotional and are from the parents perspective instead of the students . I was a B student and used private tutoring to my advantage when I had difficulties. I was a cheerleader, active in extracurricular clubs, volunteering, and hung with the in-crowd.' But that doesn't mean I was never picked on. Private tutoring wasn t paid by my parents as an excuse to go partying at night instead of doing my work. I feel like it s important to remember that high school is high school. There will always be cliques, bullies, psycho teachers, crazed parents, slackers, and those who excel. As awful is it is, that is the high school experience, not the Langley experience. Langley challenged me, frustrated me, pushed me and I am so thankful that I had LHS experiences, good and bad during my first year at college.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 6, 2005

My child hated this school. I do not suggest parents send their kids here unless it is a last resort. The kids were not accepting to my child. The teaching was awful. The school is extremely dirty and nasty. There is mold on the walls. I had been told that my child would get a superb education here, yet, I find that VERY hard to believe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2005

I have been reading these rants and raves about Langley. I just have to laugh. 'I moved to loudon county to protect my children' lets stop right here and ask this parents. Are you alway going to moved your kids when life gets tough. Why not stay and attemp to solve the problem if there is one. Thats just one example of rediculous parenting. My only rant about Langley is the Athletic Department.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 76% in 2013.

498 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

483 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 86% in 2013.

508 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 83% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 89% in 2013.

508 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 87% in 2013.

515 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

402 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Virginia and United States History

The state average for Virginia and United States History was 86% in 2013.

473 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
World History I

The state average for World History I was 84% in 2013.

468 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
World History II

The state average for World History II was 85% in 2013.

527 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students83%
Female students91%
Male students77%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students80%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities60%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English82%

Algebra II

All Students93%
Female students95%
Male students91%
Black students90%
Asian students98%
Hispanic91%
Multiracialn/a
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities67%
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient students91%
Proficient in English93%

Biology

All Students98%
Female students97%
Male students98%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students97%
Hispanic93%
Multiracial100%
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilities73%
Students without disabilities99%
Limited English proficient students78%
Proficient in English99%

Chemistry

All Students98%
Female students97%
Male students98%
Black students90%
Asian students99%
Hispanic94%
Multiracial100%
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilities90%
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficient students89%
Proficient in English98%

Earth Science

All Students95%
Female students95%
Male students94%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities83%
Students without disabilities99%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English95%

English: Reading

All Students97%
Female students97%
Male students98%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students98%
Hispanic97%
Multiracial100%
White students97%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities85%
Students without disabilities99%
Limited English proficient students75%
Proficient in English98%

English: Writing

All Students97%
Female students97%
Male students98%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students99%
Hispanic97%
Multiracial100%
White students97%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities79%
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient students86%
Proficient in English98%

Geometry

All Students95%
Female students95%
Male students95%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanic90%
Multiracial100%
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities59%
Students without disabilities99%
Limited English proficient students89%
Proficient in English96%

History and Social Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Virginia and United States History

All Students97%
Female students96%
Male students98%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students99%
Hispanic93%
Multiracial100%
White students97%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilities88%
Students without disabilities99%
Limited English proficient students80%
Proficient in English98%

World Geography

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

World History I

All Students97%
Female students98%
Male students97%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students98%
Hispanic96%
Multiracial100%
White students97%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities76%
Students without disabilities99%
Limited English proficient students95%
Proficient in English98%

World History II

All Students98%
Female students98%
Male students98%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students98%
Hispanic100%
Multiracial100%
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilities84%
Students without disabilities99%
Limited English proficient students100%
Proficient in English98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Russian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Matthew Ragone

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Russian
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Lacrosse
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6520 Georgetown Pike
McLean, VA 22101
Phone: (703) 287-2700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Oakcrest School
McLean, VA




Yorktown High School
Arlington, VA



Marshall High School
Falls Church, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT