Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
97 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 110 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Langley High School 1

Posted August 16, 2016
- a parent
My kids had a terrible experience at Langley. I will NOT send my youngest child to LHS. Most teachers are not good teachers at all. There is NO school spirit. There are high expectations with NO support for the students. There is a lot of pressure on the students, this is not healthy. There is NO survelliance in the school, your kid can be easily exposed to bullism, alcohol and drugs.

Langley High School
Grateful to: Student

Posted August 16, 2016
- a parent
Maybe only some students, those few who bond and help each other. The administration either ignores what happens at LHS or is not aware at all


Langley High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted August 16, 2016
- a parent
Many teachers should not be there, many should not be teachers at all. They do not teach, they assign a lot of homework and they do check it at all.

Langley High School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted August 16, 2016
- a parent
Too much in certain subjects, too little in others. It depends on the teachers. Many teachers do not even grade the assignments.

Langley High School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted August 16, 2016
- a parent
Not at all! It is the total opposite. It discourages students, it kills their determination, many end up seriously depressed.


Langley High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted August 16, 2016
- a parent
Not at all! There is a lot of peer pressure among students and bad attitude of many teachers toward their students.

Langley High School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted August 16, 2016
- a parent
No way! If you are looking for compassion, caring and empathy in its students, go somewhere else.

Langley High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted August 16, 2016
- a parent
I totally disagree. It is the exact opposite, a lot of peer pressure and teachers who cannot care less.


Langley High School 4

Posted June 05, 2016
- a community member
Langley is a high school that will reward you for studying hard. I discovered that when I started to do that in March of this year. The only reason why I don't give it a 5 is because of the slow renovations (however, the new wing is awesome).

Langley High School 1

Posted December 20, 2014
- a student
I want to start off by saying that I had high hopes for Langley and I have been thoroughly disappointed. Teachers have very obvious biases while grading. They often ignore the students who are not at the top academically. It is very hard to come from a normal place where parents make five figure salaries and have friends from middle-class or lower-income families and adjust to a place where people have no value for money. I will admit that this school prepares you will for college. However, I feel you can get the same training at other schools like South Lakes or Annandale as long as you take more AP or honors courses. You will likely also be able to indulge in an environment with much more diversity than Langley. Cliques are ubiquitous and is something that many of my friends have had to deal with. The students who write 5 star reviews are all likely part of the cliques at Langley that everyone knows about. All I have left to say is that I am glad to be leaving this school after this year.

Nearby schools

Langley High School
6520 Georgetown Pk, Mclean, VA  22101
(703) 287-2700
Last modified Langley High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top