Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 90 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


96 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Langley High School 4

Posted August 28, 2014
- a community member
I am a male student here who comes from a regular middle class home. I am not popular but am able to find friends and "my people" because it is a large school (2,000+).A lot of the reviews up here are somewhat bogus. I have never seen a student get harassed because of their family's financial situation. Yeah a lot of people have money and there is a group of country club dwelling snobs, but for the most part as long as you are positive and treat peers and teachers with respect it will be fine. Yes, there are kids here that care about things besides themselves, money and clothes. It helps to play a sport but there are many other activities that are welcome to all you just have to have courage to show up. I think the school is very culturally diverse we don't have a lot of black kids but their are kids and family from all over the world and I hear different languages in the halls all the time. Academics are rough and there is a lot of pressure, but if you can make it at Langley you will be able to deal with all kind of people and scenarios.

Langley High School 1

Posted June 04, 2014
- a community member
Langley consists of kids who think they are entitled and don't interact outside their cliques. Take the example of the person who gave a five star review below my review. She basically put down those who gave Langley a one star review. It is likely that she is one of the kids in the "inner circle." So while Langley might be good for her, it is not good for the average kid who works hard but is not exactly at the top of the class. Every kid at this school believes he or she is the best. Life is not like that. People are not able to interact with people of all levels and races. The house prices in the area ensure that the kids going to Langley are really wealthy. There is no cultural diversity. Life does not revolve around wealthy people. While Langley academics are really tough, its tough to break in socially. This school is for the wealthy and brilliant. If you belong in that category, Langley would good. But if you are smart (not brilliant) and work hard and try and talk to people but are not ridiculously social (which is how most high school are), then don't go to Langley. Going to this school also makes it tough to get in a good college if you are a regular student.


Langley High School 5

Posted May 28, 2014
- a community member
Langley is awesome. School spirit is great, unless you are one of the kids who wants to protest all of the school spirit because you hate the people leading the school, which is pretty much all of the people giving it negative reviews. People go wild at the big football and basketball games and for any sports against McLean, the rival school, and the kids in leadership work extremely hard to make the pep rallies and spirit weeks and everything else to do with spirit enjoyable for all of the school. There's a lot of stress in academics, but it prepares you well for college so no one should be complaining. All the sports teams are good and the school produces athletic and academic prodigies each year. I go here and I don't think it gets much better as far as public schools go. Yeah there are cliques and all that but that's because it is a HIGH SCHOOL so that is no reason to hate it.

Langley High School 1

Posted May 22, 2014
- a parent
Kids getting the good test scores are doing it despite the school not because of the school. There are some excellent, some awful and some so-so teachers like most public schools. The administration hates parents. Students learn on their own with mountains of tedious homework so that lousy teachers can get the same results as good teachers. If your child has a disability, get sick, is bullied or any other thing goes wrong and you need to work with the administration I suggest you hire a tough as nails advocate or lawyer. Pros? The orchestra, choir and theater programs are led by a couple of the excellent teachers and filled with some of the most thoughtful, hardworking and caring students in the school. Some of the sports programs are great while others have a heavy drinking culture. Parents do a lot for the school and I give the parents 5 stars for involvement the reason I have 3 stars is that parents are not made to feel welcome by administration. So disappointing.

Langley High School 1

Posted May 12, 2014
- a student
I graduated Langley in 2013. Let me start off by saying this. Langley is not the typical high school. It is made for the kids of extremely wealthy families who are in their own cliques. They drive mercedes benz and BMWs to school. Have you seen the size of the parking lot? It's as big as the whole school! Teachers for the most part can't teach although they are willing to stay after school. There is ZERO school spirit. There was absolutely nothing that made me want to stay at Langley. I was so happy when I left. So far, I've learned more in one year of college than I did in four years at Langley. I remember I basically had no social life at Langley. In college, my social life has drastically improved. All they care about are the kids who take 5 AP's and the athletes. The rest of us (people who aren't exceptionally smart but work hard) don't matter. If you are looking to learn and enjoy high school, don't go to Langley.


Langley High School 1

Posted April 22, 2014
- a student
I don't like this school one bit. There is no way the school can improve. Some tips for others is not to go to this school period. Your life will be miserable if you go to this school. I can't explain in words how bad I hate this school.

Langley High School 1

Posted April 14, 2014
- a student
Where do I start. The kids at this school are absolutely cliquish. If you are relatively new, there is absolutely now way you will make friends and form your own group. There is only one group and that group is made of the kids who have either grown up in the area and know everyone or the kids who are extremely smart and take a boat load of APs. Teachers are way overrated and are very inconsistent grading wise. Some teachers are very erratic and and confusing. There is no school spirit or anything that makes you want to be in the school. The school in general is made for people who grow up there.

Langley High School 1

Posted April 10, 2014
- a community member
This school is absolutely awful. Most of the students are extremely rude and there are many cliques (as of any school), however, the students here take the clique-ish behavior to a whole new extreme. If you are not 1) From Cooper, 2) Very wealthy, 3) Taking as many AP courses offered to you, you will not be slightly close to being happy in Langley. Honestly, the way others act at this school is repulsive. Girls and guys both. You will find that most individuals are extremely judgmental and that almost all of the friend groups are very exclusive, making it clear that they are not willing to make friends with people below them or be willing to even be nice to them. Go to a different Highschool where people have moral values rather than people who focus on money and doing their best to make anyone else feel inferior to them. Speaking from experience.


Langley High School 1

Posted April 05, 2014
- a student
I went to Langley. Graduated in 2010. If you want an inside look at this school here you go...Langley isn't a high school. It's similar to that of a cut throat business and if you don't make it you're out, and if you're out there's a ton of kids who will let you know just that. I played two sports at Langley, and struggled with school. If you want to talk about a school driving a kid to this point I could line up 200 kids in my own graduating class alone and they would say they were a couple clicks away from getting to that point. The social environment at this school is ruthless. Absolutely ruthless, and I was considered to be a part of the "in" crowd. On top of the stresses you would face at any high school, this school makes it worse. There's an elite group of AP students and athletes who get the best treatment and they know it. Everyone else is a bottom feeder and you can't really understand it until you go to this school and see it everyday.

Langley High School 1

Posted March 07, 2014
- a teacher
None of the tenured teachers are still there, huge turn over in the past 5 years. Teachers seem to come and go and currently there are a handful of veteran skilled teachers working with a host of undereducated newbies. Teachers are leaving for a reason, admiistration is horrible. Fairfax County is one of the best in the nation for public education, you will find great teachers all over the county, just not at Langley (anymore).

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Langley High School
6520 Georgetown Pike, Mclean, VA  22101
(703) 287-2700
Last modified Langley High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Langley High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 96 reviews.