Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mechanicsville Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 660 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 3, 2014

The office staff is not friendly and they do not acknowledge you when you walk in the door. I dread coming into the school, because I have to go into the office. Like said previously by other parents, I've stood there for several minutes before the staff asked if I needed help. THat's my only complaint.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2011

The teachers love my kids! The school is a great place to be. I am proud to have my family be a part of this community. I do wish the art, pe, and technology programs were stronger. Overall, it's a good place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

The faculty and staff provide our children with an excellent education as well as life skills and lessons to ensure they are productive and successful in all future endeavors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

I do not agree with the behavioral contract that they go by in kindergarten. My son is so focused on what color day that he has received, he can't remember anything that he has learned.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2009

MES offers small classes and high quality teachers. I have nothing but good things to say about the staff and administration at the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2009

I have to agree with several of the previous reviews. The office staff really are rude and don't care what kind of business you have there. I am NEVER greeted when I walk in and have stood there waiting several minutes before I was even noticed, in fact it was the gym coach that came in and helped me not the staff. I have a large gap between my 2 children and when Mrs. Meeks and Mr. Fudge were principals I never felt more welcomed in a school. You could tell that they cared and in turn their office staff cared. They took the time to greet each and every parent when exiting an assembly and initialed every report card. Since the new principal several years ago service and the warm welcomed feeling has long gone. The teachers and other staff are extreamly nice and I like them alot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2008

I must first agree with one of the previous reviews.. administration is horrible, very rude, do not greet you promptly and could care less about your business at the school! But on the other had, the Teachers are wonderful. I have a K & 2nd grader and they love to go to school. I thought at first the curriculum was a bit overwhelming but I understand the challenge and because of that my kids have gained a wealth of knowledge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2008

Teacher is the only saving grace of this school. Administrators can't wait to get your kid of an IEP and are very rude. All they care about is passing the SOL. They teach to the test and nothing else. Can't wait to relocate and have my 3rd grader get a quality education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2007

I have a 1st and 5th grader that attends MES and I must say my first impression of this school was not that great but as the school year progressed I was amazed at how much my 5th grader grew a passion to learn more and my 1st grader was more willing to take on educational challenges that MES offered her, which boosted her confidence as well. I am very happy with their no bully tolerance policy, their online study programs that helps gives good testing practice, the teachers were very knowledgable about my kids progress; I often notified by email, note or call regarding any changing status. I would recommend MES to anyone. Thanks Ms. Petko and Ms. Tapper
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2007

I have enjoyed the experience with my kids at MES. They love going there and like that the teachers are friendly, courteous and helpful. The teachers that I have worked with in the last 2 years have gone the extra mile to keep me informed with my children's progress. My only concern is the attentiveness of the office staff. I have on several occasions walked into the office with room full of staff and had to stand there for a while to get someone to speak to me. Sometimes I have actually had to interrupt personal conversations to get a question answered. Don't misunderstand I like the staff but they need to pay more attention to the visitors of the school. Academically the school is wonderful. parent participation is excellent. I would recommend the school to others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2007

My daughter has been attending the school since 'k' she is now in 3rd. I have been extremely happy with this school and how wonderful & involved the teachers are. They really go above & beyond to call of duty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2003

I have a student currently attending Mechanicsville elementry and she is in the first grade. I would like to say that I am very impressed with this school and it's high standards of education. My daughters teacher is great and is well qualified for her position. I have met with my daughters teacher on two occasions to find out how she thinks my daughter is doing and she showed us her work and keeps us informed on our daughters progress. If I was to be the teacher and was to grade this school I would give it the grade of A-. I have always had concerns with the half indoor and half outdoor class rooms. Not that things are not safe but people can and do walk right up to class rooms without going to the office first. In this school set up you are not forced to enter the office to get into the school. This is not a major concern but to me it is a little bit of a concern. My daughter loves her school and I can see that she enjoys going to school and that is always good. Thanks so much for this oppertunity to give my opinion and thanks for the great job you have done and are going to do to see that my daughter gets a great education. I have a son who will be starting at Mechanicsville elementry this coming year (2004) and I know he is going to the best education. Thanks Wayne


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
96%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

97 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
98%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
93%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
84%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students79%
Female students85%
Male students73%
Black students57%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities41%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English80%

Math

All Students78%
Female students83%
Male students72%
Black students57%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students80%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities38%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English79%

Science

All Students85%
Female students84%
Male students87%
Black students64%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities53%
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students86%
Female students89%
Male students81%
Black students67%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English87%

Math

All Students86%
Female students88%
Male students84%
Black students83%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students85%
Female students89%
Male students80%
Black students71%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English84%

English: Writing

All Students80%
Female students81%
Male students80%
Black students71%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English81%

Math

All Students83%
Female students86%
Male students80%
Black students71%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English83%

Science

All Students82%
Female students83%
Male students80%
Black students65%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities60%
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Amy Woodward

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7425 Mechanicsville Elem Drive
Mechanicsville, VA 23111
Phone: (804) 723-3640

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT