Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Notre Dame Academy

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Middleburg

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $550,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,630.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Friday, September 12, 2014

I was bullied at Middleburg Academy the first week I started. Other students had reported to the Dean of Students as well as the Assistant Head of School that they had witnessed the bullying was going on as did I. The Dean of Students as well as the Assistant Head of School decided to resolve the bullying they would "withdrawal" me from Middleburg Academy on my 3rd week, instead of handling the real problem and dealing with the bullies. I will say the teachers were very nice and great at teaching, and the Director of Admissions as well as the Head of School is extremely kind and goodhearted. So the school does have some excellent faculty members in my opinion, other than the ones mentioned above. I feel this school would have been a great fit for me if their had been no bullying and certain faculty members carried out punishment in a more appropriate way. I don't discourage you to send your child there, but I do have to say if your child will be in the class of 2016 then I would highly not recommend it, that is the only class that had and continues to have the major bullies and bullying issues going on in it. Hope this review will help you make the best decision for your child.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 24, 2014

With the new headmaster the school is going down hill. He is ruining everything in it from students to staff. Stay away from this school


Posted May 11, 2014

I'm a junior at the burg right now but this is my last year here. the new headmaster is ruining the school and i'm out. I would have recomended it in the past, but not now. stay away
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2009

Our son is a sophomore and had a great freshman year last year despite all of the turmoil in the administration. The teachers care for the students, they communicate well and anytime I have a question/concern they are quick to answer my questions. Ms. Elizabeth Murray the new head of school has great 'ENERGY' and she brings a wealth of knowledge from her past experiences. She will be the visionary and leader to take NDA to great heights. We are excited to be a part of the renewing and rebuilding of the school. I highly recommend this school if you are looking for a place where your child will shine and be the best that they can be. We are looking to put our son in a tier one college and feel very confident that he is getting all that he needs to accomplish this goal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2009

Our son is very happy at this school. His sister will be joining the freshman class in September and can't wait to be part of NDA. The campus is beautiful, the atmosphere is wonderful and the faculty is outstanding. Almost the entire faculty is returning to NDA in the fall. The school ceases to be Catholic at the end of the 2008-2009 academic year. The school is thriving under the leadership of the new head of school Libbi Murray. Students at NDA benefit from small class sizes and have 100% college acceptance. NDA students have been accepted into colleges such as Yale, Cornell, Georgetown University, The University of Virginia, The College of William and Mary, The Corcoran College of Art and Design and The Naval Academy. The school has a no cut policy in athletics and a number of students will graduate this year and play college athletics. There are wonderful Visual and Performing Arts programs. We enjoy the feeling of community at NDA and are happy that we chose this school for our children s education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2009

I was as student there for 4 years and loved it. The academics were great as were all the teachers and staff. I was more than prepared for college in all aspects, I hope to send my children there when they are old enough. Highly recommend.


Posted February 14, 2009

My son is now a sophomore at NDA and he loves the school, its academic challenges and the ability to play in top notch sports. The quality of the faculty, coaches and staff and the culture they create are the keys to success. Walk through the halls and see the respect the kids have for each other. Look at the colleges the kids are going to: Yale, Notre Dame, Navy, UVA, William & Mary, Univ of MD to name a few. The new Head of School is fantastic and is provides a tremendous amount of positive energy for both faculty and students. The best thing to do is go visit the campus and check it out for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2009

We have been thrilled from the school since day one. My son is now a sophomore and excelling in academics as well as athletics. Due to his consistently high scores on the PSATs and other standardized tests, my son has been receiving emails and mail from many top colleges since his Freshman year. In addition to extra attention he receives from top teachers (many hold doctorates and masters degrees in their fields), my son is receiving wonderful coaching in his chosen sport. Several parents, who were disappointed when Notre Dame Academy decided to break away from the Catholic Church and become a non-denominational, independent school, decided to make it their new mission to bash the school in the press and public eye. I believe, that with their new leadership in place and their dedication to providing a college preparatory education for above average children, Notre Dame Academy will continue to thrive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2008

This school was a grave disappointment. We had our child enrolled only one year. We were disappointed both in academics and athletic programs as well as extra-curricular programs. It seems the school is designed to have kids get good grades, yet not keep pace with other private schools or top public school districts. The class sizes are small and that is good. There is tremendous turnover in teachers from year to year, so I am afraid they lack consistency in knowledge transfer from year to year. Notre Dame doesn t keep up to the standards one would expect from a top college prep High School. On the positive side, they did have some good teachers who seemed to care about the kids and were dedicated to teaching. However, but the school suffers from erratic leadership. We found the school leadership to be untrustworthy.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

35321 Notre Dame Ln
Middleburg, VA 20117
Phone: (540) 687-5581

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Foxcroft School
Middleburg, VA


Wakefield School
The Plains, VA





Woodgrove High School
Purcellville, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT