Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
222 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
54 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 89 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Millwood School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted July 20, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Brickley- She was a compassionate light, intuitive, and connected with us in a way nobody else at MWS did.

Millwood School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted July 20, 2016
- a parent
The K teacher was a terrible fit for our child. I witnessed her several times roll her eyes in frustration at energetic young boys. She could never connect with our child, which is what K teachers should do. Her classroom was an overwhelming sensory experience of chaos, too much for a hypersensitive child. During a conference she mocked how our child ate his crackers, calling it annoying. Wow. The 1st grade teacher was awesome though.


Millwood School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted July 20, 2016
- a parent
The level of homework given in K and 1st grade was ridiculous. Like most things at MWS, I am certain it was for show. There's no reason for a 5 year old to cry in frustration writing worksheets at night. If MWS was up to date (or cared) about educational research and empirical data in the area of homework on elementary students, these young kids wouldn't have any.

Millwood School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted July 20, 2016
- a parent
When the administration disrespects parents and creates a culture of hostile cliques, that trickles down. Sure, the students wear uniforms and shake hands, conform and obey (to a degree) but that is also superficial stuff. The meat of true respect is lacking, and as other commenters have stated, the degree to which a kid is disciplined for behavior is inversely relational to how much money their family donates.

Millwood School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 26, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Phiri. You are a super star. I have never seen a teacher so naturally positively influence and encourage learning in a school where many students are talented in their own way but very diverse in how they learn.


Millwood School 5

Posted June 26, 2016
- a parent
MWS is not just a school, it is a family. We always feel welcome and appreciated. My intelligent but not quite "gifted" child was getting lost in the shuffle at her declining public elementary school. Two years later her desire for learning has been renewed in what she refers to as the safe spot; No clicks, just friends.

Millwood School 3

Posted June 16, 2016
- a community member
After over a decade and multiple children attending Millwood, I can only give 3 stars. This school has changed dramatically in the last few years coinciding with when they began offering high school. A few years ago almost every middle school teacher quit. MW has shown a decline in academic rigor as well as a high turnover rate for teaching staff and a low attrition rate of students. The teachers are continually asked to take on more responsibilities resulting in a decline in effective teaching and teachers who are worn out. In spite of close to $500,00 earned in the last few years through the annual auction, I do not see much money being put back into the school. The textbooks are outdated and the facilities are not well maintained. The class sizes are small which is a pro. However, this has led to children being micro managed like a military school and my child felt oppressed. There is preferential treatment given to those families who benefit the school the most-big donors of time, money, sports talent or employed there. There is inconsistency in many areas. The administration disciplines certain kids while others are allowed to do as they please. The dress code is continually changing. There is no consistent enforcement of the "Big 10" code of conduct yet children are graded on this and it's included in their GPA. The administration will placate your concerns and act like they are going to do something but they never do. Administration seems fake and defensive of their actions to the point of never admitting their mistakes or apologizing for anything. Instead, the parents are made to feel belittled and that their child is a problem. In my opinion, Millwood has seen its finest hour and is now on the decline. They pretend to be equal to other private schools in the area but they are nowhere near it. All students are allowed to play sports but this is due to the fact that they would not have enough to field a team if they didn't allow all students to play. I do feel that the teachers themselves are good but the administration needs fresh ideas which hopefully will occur when the head of school retires next year. After giving many 2nd chances to Millwood, they continued to fail my child and no positivity was ever given so we left. We are all much happier at a new school. I am sorry I wasted so much time and money here. Ok for K-5 only!

Millwood School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted March 22, 2016
- a community member
All students are encouraged to try new sports and the school trains runners for the Monument 10K. These non runners are trained to accomplish this impressive feat. That's grit!


Millwood School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted March 22, 2016
- a community member
The interact club facilitates and encourages community service serving many areas of our community. Our children have worked on stopping hunger, helping underprivileged children, etc.

Millwood School 4

Posted March 22, 2016
- a community member
We chose Millwood for many reasons: 1) No SOLs! Teachers can nurture critical thinking instead of “teaching to the test”, thus providing a solid foundation for this important life skill. 2) The Big Ten! This focuses on character development and helps our children think about and practice positive behaviors. 3) Smaller classes offer a more personal experience so the needs of our children would be met more promptly. 4) Students can advance in their studies as far as their effort and talents take them. They are not limited by the “noise” of Center Based Gifted programs, which may discourage children who are not accepted. We continue to stay at Millwood because of the caring teachers, the friendly atmosphere, the focus on character development, and the 8:30 start time. (Seriously, love the later start time — kids need sleep to grow!)

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Millwood School
15100 Millwood School Lane, Midlothian, VA  23112
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 89 reviews. (804) 639-3200
Last modified Millwood School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top