Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Spring Run Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 806 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 13, 2013

This school could use some help. My daughter has fallen through the cracks at this school. I communicate often with the teachers and constantly ask for feedback, but I don't feel that I get what I need to truly help her. She had to repeat the 1st grade even though she passed everything but english. This devastated her. She has since been diagnosed with ADHD and a non specific mood disorder and its like no one knows how to help her. I have her medicated and she she sees a therapist, but I feel that the school continues to let her down. She is bullied and has even started self-excluding herself as a defense to it. I know that my daughter is no angel, but I feel that the school should be doing more to help her. It was extremely difficult to get her an IEP, and I honestly can't say that it has helped her in any way. Some of the faculty seem almost burned out without a clue on how to deal with my daughter. I just cannot say that this is a good school for children with special needs. I'm seriously considering pulling her out of Spring Run and giving her a new start at another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2012

Spring Run is an excellent school. Lots of parent invovlement, dedicated hardworking teachers and students who excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2012

I am very happy about this school and its teachers. My kids have been challenged and the amount of work on behalf of the teachers to achieve this is commendable. This is the greatest school and I am so lucky to have my girls taught by such great educators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

I agree with the parent/teacher involvement! Love the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

We LOVE this school. Our daughter and son have attended this school for a total of 10 years between the 2 of them. EVERY teacher they have ever had has been great and the administration is very open and supportive. The office staff is so warm and welcoming and the PTA is a great place to get involved. I honestly cannot say anything negative about this school. It is truly outstanding and I would recommend it to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

A wonderful, warm, welcoming school offering a quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

Very family oriented, really care about their students. The school is like being on a team, they all work together.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

I love this school! You could not ask for a more nuturing, welcoming and innovative school for your child to attend! The staff, students and parents are amazing. There are endless opportunities to be involved and an active PTA at SRES. The administration always has an open door policy. SRES offers students an excellent educational experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2009

I give this school below average because of our specific situation. Our daughter has been there for 1.5 years and her grades continue to decline. We have approached the teachers, counselors and administration several times about her needing special assistance but she receives none. Believe me we have done all the private testing possible because the school will not do it. We approached the school with the results and they were not interested in changing things. We are currently looking for a private school where the student to teacher ratio is better and there is much more communication with the teacher and administration. 'Most welcoming school award' oh boy--if that is so the other Chesterfield schools are in poor shape.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2009

I can't say enough about the quality of teachers at this school. The teacher ratio is excellent for public school which does matter to me. The building is like new and well kept. My child is excited about going every day and I know it's due to the teachers and staff. The parents I know are impressed with how this school is managed and the SOL scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2008

I love this school. We moved here from Idaho 2 1/2 years ago. The office staff was very attentive to our needs. Our children have flourished and have received a great education. The teachers are great with our children and have been very willing to communicate with us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2008

We moved to the area two years ago and apart from the overcrowding, we have enjoyed Spring Run. We will be attending the new school Winterpock when it opens. There are plenty of activities to participate in, the kids have found many friends, and the teachers are great. The homework is comparable to any other school than we have attended, sometimes even less. Spring Run/Winterpock is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2008

My child just started at Spring Run. We are new to the area. I love it. We started at the middle of a school year and everyone students and staff are so helpful. The school is very clean and the caff. food is tasty too. My son hasnt had any of the below issues occure. He has spelling words and a test at end of week and maybe a page of h.w I am overall very happy and excited for my next child to attend as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2006

Teaching at a much to accelerated pace. Methods are more aligned to what you would expect in HS or college! Child really learns very little in class and must be taught/tutored at home. Homework assignments are very confusing and inconsistent. Some days one or two pages are sent home. They next day there may be 10 or 12!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2005

Reliance on parental instruction/at-home study, especially for science and social studies, is far too high. Additionally, materials for at-home study are consistently lacking with regard to the content on the tests. The study materials, especially those that do align most closely with the test content, are often not provided until only two days before the tests, even though NIGHTLY study is openly expected for weeks to prepare for tests. There are also often 'leaps of complexity' with regard to the way the questions and answers are offered on tests relative to the way the material is handled in study guides. My attempts to resolve this through the school for the first seven months of the school year have received no meaningful response. I am forced to take my issue to the school board/superintendent, which probably will not benefit my child at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
92%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

128 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
93%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
89%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students82%
Female students87%
Male students77%
Black students50%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English83%

Math

All Students81%
Female students83%
Male students79%
Black students62%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities48%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English81%

Science

All Students96%
Female students99%
Male students93%
Black students85%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students97%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities81%
Students without disabilities99%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students86%
Female students87%
Male students85%
Black students77%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities56%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English86%

Math

All Students89%
Female students92%
Male students86%
Black students85%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities63%
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students79%
Female students83%
Male students74%
Black students82%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students78%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities48%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English79%

English: Writing

All Students72%
Female students80%
Male students65%
Black students73%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students71%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities30%
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English72%

Math

All Students49%
Female students49%
Male students49%
Black students60%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students48%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities18%
Students without disabilities59%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English49%

Science

All Students84%
Female students80%
Male students88%
Black students73%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities60%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13901 Spring Run Rd
Midlothian, VA 23112
Phone: (804) 639-6352

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Millwood School
Midlothian, VA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT