Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Robious Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 690 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 10, 2014

Moved to the area from out of state. This elementary is far superior to the "elite college prep private school" that my children had attended. The teachers are amazing and work hard to challenge each student to do their best. The principal is wonderful. Love this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2014

Teachers spend too much time dealing with challenging behavior issues which are not nipped in the bud!. In my opinion, the school had stronger leadership in the past and disruptive conduct was not tolerated to the extent that it is currently. Experienced teachers are retiring, which is an added loss. The active PTA is a positive for the school. Kids do better academically when parents get involved in getting/asking for academic help for their children. I have found this to be true with my Robious student and my other children, at other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2014

I think this is a great school. My son wasn't focused in Math and was placed in a much smaller group for a few weeks in 3rd grade. He is now in the high math class in 4th grade with the extra assistance. Great staff who recognize difficulty and nip it in the bud!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2014

This school has increasing problems with student behavior and students showing lack of respect. The response is to sweep it under the table and try to minimize it. Basically, if you don't like what is going on, you are better off looking for another school than wasting your time trying to address any issues. There has been a change in the student environment from years past. The children appear to be increasingly disruptive in the lower grades and the teachers just juggle them as best they can. Good teachers are becoming babysitters. If your overall preferance is a public school environment, then your family should be fine with this school. If you hope for better, look elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2010

I'm in 5th grade and this year all the teachers helped me. Not only in my academics but in my confidence. This is a definate 5 star school.


Posted March 11, 2008

My daughter always complains about the teachers not showing her how to do things. How they move to fast and personally I think there is extremely too much homework everynight. They can't even have a party in the class for birthdays because they can't bring cakes or cup cakes, Come on their kids they love celebrating birthdays, This school is the only one that does this. Can't bring outside food in for lunch. Come on don't tell me what I can feed my child. This school is too strict and the kids have no fun at all. Its like boot camp. Lighten up people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2006

Robious is outstanding for advanced, and self guided learners and seem to have an adequate program for the more severe learning disabled.However, if your child requires special help in any area-you may want to consider your alternatives. We wish now that we had. Robious' administration lends little to no regard to the student who falls in between average and learning disabled. If you are to enter the school in this situation, be prepared for a great deal of double talk, time wasting and ignorance- and be aware of their disregard toward the less than average student. We found their lack of concern and condecending manner not only disappointing to us, but quite damaging to our child.Changing schools was the best route, and we wish we had not wasted so much of our child's time waiting and virtually begging for help that simply is not offered at Robious.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

As a parent of a former student at Robious, I can not say enough for the way in which my child was prepared for future grades. The programs offered by the staff were oustanding. The teachers my child had were outstanding and true professinals in every way. The level of learning energy was exceptional. The communications from the teachers were clear and direct about my child. The staff should be very proud of the students that they are sending on to middle school. The level of administration lacked in depth. It appeared that the administration staff was less than what the academic staff deserved. The physical condition of the school needed to be improved in terms of janitorial services.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2004

Robious Elem is an excellent school compared to many. I have found the Staff to be involved and focused on providing an excelent education for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2004

After attending this school and then moving to Wellesley, Massachusetts I do not have anything good to say for this school. I remember that we did exactly the same thing every day and that it was incredibly boring. The teachers didn't seem t know how or what to teach. For all I know they were chosen randomly out of a hat! I thought it was okay, but after moving to Wellesley I realize just how unsatisfying my experience at Robious was.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 18, 2004

This is an outstanding school. My son is enrolled in the autisum program and we finally have wonderful qualified teachers to teach this program. Thank you Robious for listening to our concerns and addressing them with such great educators. Robious has tons of parental support and involvement, it's just a great atmosphere for your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

109 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students92%
Female students94%
Male students90%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities69%
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English92%

Math

All Students95%
Female students94%
Male students97%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities81%
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English95%

Science

All Students96%
Female students96%
Male students97%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students97%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities82%
Students without disabilities99%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students94%
Female students98%
Male students90%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English94%

Math

All Students95%
Female students98%
Male students92%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students97%
Female students98%
Male students96%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students99%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities99%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English97%

English: Writing

All Students93%
Female students98%
Male students89%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English93%

Math

All Students83%
Female students85%
Male students81%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English84%

Science

All Students96%
Female students98%
Male students95%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2801 Robious Crossing Dr.
Midlothian, VA 23113
Phone: (804) 378-2500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT