Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Robious Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1323 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

43 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 23, 2014

This is by far the best school in chesterfield county. The teachers are amazing, it he first day of school I felt like I fit in and was normal. I have a group of friends swarming me at all times. Bullying was NEVER a problem for anyone, No fights, nothing (: Overall an A++++ school!


Posted February 3, 2014

hi! So the thing is that I'm moving to Richmond Virginia, and I'm thinking about this school, because it seems a good middle school, and well I'm kind of nervous about it, and I don't know no one from there ! and if you can help me with this information it will great 1: Does this middle school is bilingual?? (Esl 1-2-3)) 2: good teachers? thanks! and I'm sorry it's because I don't know anything about this school !!! Thanks


Posted December 27, 2013

I'm an 8th grader here at rms and i love it here! I'm going to miss it next year. The teachers and staff are amazing they are always there when you need them. But I think they need to improve on the bullying problems. The teachers need to be more aware of that. Other than that, RMS is great!


Posted December 7, 2013

This is a great school the administration this year is ok but the best of all is the Glee club they are vey energetic but some kids don't know how to listen but overall this school is AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!


Posted April 5, 2013

I am thinking of moving to this school district from the west end of Richmond , Henrico county. Do you think that this middle school rates as well or better in 2013 than the Henrico County middle school in Technology and teacher / student ratio, bullying and teacher teaching levels and approachability ???
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2013

Hopefully things are turning around at Robious now that Mr. Siddiqi is no longer there. He was more concerned about trying to be everyone's friend instead of a leader, and he drove that school into the ground while my children were there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2012

I had to have the school board on speed dial and saved to my cell phone has I could not get the principle J.Saddaqi to call me back. If it was possible to go anywhere else I would pack up my child and change schools in a second. One teacher asked my child if she was an American or a Mexican. My family fought in our revolution. How does a citizenship question have anything to do with my childs education. I was told the teacher would be spoken with about her attitude. REALLY and the apology to my child?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2012

My child goes to Robious Middle and some of the teachers hare e had last year were disappointing. His science teacher never corrects any mistake on edline even though both me and my son has shown her the test paper grade and the one on edline are different and she never corrects it. His social studies teacher assigned a project every week or have 3 200+ point project every 9 weeks it overloads him and most of his friends that i met.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2012

After 1 year at Robious, I would do anything to turn back time and send my daughter back to Moody Middle School in Henrico. This school is beyond a disappointment. Teachers do not keep information up to date online, some refuse to use the website. The office staff is stuck up and rude, the few times I ventured in for assistance I felt like I was a nuisance. The bus driver had absolutely no control, and to no surprise had an accident. Teachers do not seem to care, emails remain unanswered. Many times I tried to contact the school, the phones did not work, continual busy signal. Overall, by far one of the worst experiences for my daughter and myself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2011

I'm a seventh grader at Robious, and so far it's been an amazing experience. I've met some amazing people, and the teachers that I've had have been some of the best I've had in my life. I'm in the Center Based Gifted program, which is the highest level in levels of academic challenges, so it's basically a school within a school, and I absolutely love it. There's no doubt that I will stay in touch with my teachers after I graduate from Robious; every CBG teacher is very open and close to the students that they teach. Robious is an amazing school, and I'll be upset when I have to leave. :)


Posted August 23, 2011

If you believe suspensions are warranted for normal 12 - 13 yo horseplay and behavior (e.g., one student was suspended for chewing gum after being asked to quit twice, another for throwing a nickel as gag at one of his buddies in class ), then Robius is the place for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2011

My child's three years at Robious were definitely the worst of my life. Administration blindly ignores bullying, even when bruises are visible and tapes show it happening. They'll make you fill out bogus accident reports and send you on your way. Nothing was done to stop it. Robious has a big "no fighting" policy and you automatically get ten days of suspension for laying a hand on another student. The person bullying me had no consequence or even a warning, but I was told by an administrator if I retaliated I would be the first to get suspended. Teachers also ignored this. I feel that most teachers are either in the mentality that they can retire soon or they just don't care. A few good ones stand out but other than that you couldn't pay me enough to want to go back.


Posted December 23, 2010

were crew not Passengers !!! Robious is amazing with the special ed dept they really love and care for my daughter like no other school ever has
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2010

County budget cuts have made a big impact on school programs and staffing this year. But thanks to the close knit Robious Middle school family -- teachers, administrators, students and parents -- Robious has made more from less. Our children continue to receive top notch education during tough times at the school we love!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2010

The principal, teacher & staff are outstanding!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

Excellent schools are focused on quality learning for all students. At Robious, there is an understanding that a school is not effective unless all students have the opportunity to master the essential curriculum, regardless of demographic status or other non-school variables. There is a climate where students have a strong sense of belonging and being valued as individuals.


Posted October 13, 2010

It has the best teachers!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 13, 2010

This school is a wonderful place to send a child. I know this as a parent and a teacher.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 13, 2010

Robious Middle provides a different approach to help children learn. Expeditionary Learning is a student-driven, hands-on experience way to have the students experience learning in the field rather than memorizing from a textbook. The atmosphere at RMS is an exciting and invigorating one that promotes happy students and staff!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 13, 2010

the teachers are very dedicated and all students receive an excellent education
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

413 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

233 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 75% in 2013.

407 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

332 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 71% in 2013.

455 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 70% in 2013.

456 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

245 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

449 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students82%
Female students90%
Male students75%
Black students67%
Asian students71%
Hispanic59%
Multiracial90%
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities45%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient students45%
Proficient in English84%

Math

All Students87%
Female students94%
Male students81%
Black students86%
Asian students90%
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities58%
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficient students83%
Proficient in English87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students86%
Female students88%
Male students84%
Black students78%
Asian students92%
Hispanic71%
Multiracial100%
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities55%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient students62%
Proficient in English87%

Math

All Students80%
Female students82%
Male students78%
Black students72%
Asian students76%
Hispanic57%
Multiracial86%
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities66%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient students43%
Proficient in English82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students82%
Female students82%
Male students82%
Black students59%
Asian students91%
Hispanic67%
Multiracial72%
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities45%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English83%

English: Writing

All Students84%
Female students89%
Male students78%
Black students69%
Asian students78%
Hispanic84%
Multiracial67%
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities39%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English84%

Math

All Students87%
Female students88%
Male students85%
Black students50%
Asian students100%
Hispanic90%
Multiracial91%
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities41%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English87%

Science

All Students78%
Female students73%
Male students83%
Black students53%
Asian students91%
Hispanic59%
Multiracial72%
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities56%
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

414 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students84%
Female students85%
Male students83%
Black students74%
Asian students87%
Hispanic88%
Multiracial75%
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities67%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English84%

Geometry

All Students100%
Female students100%
Male students100%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Juliette Myers

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2701 Robious Crossing Dr
Midlothian, VA 23113
Phone: (804) 378-2510

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Riverside School
Richmond, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT