Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

James River High School

Public | 9-12 | 2105 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 6, 2014

This could be a great school, if your child is mainstream and learns "by the book" However, if your child has ADD or/and LD, they are very stingy with assistance. My daughter has ADD and math LD documented by professional psychologist. We were not granted an IEP, just the 504. The 504 makes the student accountable, which is great in theory but highly uncomfortable to the student. The IEP makes the SCHOOL accountable. And it appears, resources are saved for people who know how to work the system or bring in lawyers. On a positive note, my daughter did well in classes that were not math based. But she felt oppressed and judged and therefore did not embrace many opportunities or activities at James River. Very disappointed. She is very talented and I know will do great things in life, but no thanks to James River High School
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2012

Coming to work here does not feel like work. The air here is full of friendliness and acceptance. Our school has something for everyone. Whether you are an academic, an athlete, a gamer, etc -- there is an organization waiting for you to join. In response to an earlier rating, there IS an organization that helps transfer students of all grades integrate into our school and that group is the Peer Facilitators. This group gives tours to new students, throws lunch parties for new students, and helps them become acquainted with the students and faculty. James River High is a nationally recognized Blue Ribbon School of Excellence and is highly recommended.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 15, 2011

This is our first year here, and it's my daughters senior year. We moved to the area one week before the school started and the counselor's and staff worked very hard and fast to get her honors and ap classes scheduled and really made her schedule work. They have also helped us in many ways already, being a single mom that has been so important. She likes her teachers so far. She just can't get her honors diploma due to not having room for the spanish III class. NC has different requirements. But again, the staff has been excellent with helping us! Love it here so far....!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2010

Excellent leadership, caring teachers, diverse student body, beautiful facility....a GREAT place to work!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 9, 2009

We moved here last year from out of state and my son is a Junior this year. The school doesn't have any programs for integrating kids coming into the High School (past their freshman year). He found it very hard to make friends and break into social circles. However, we've been very pleased with the Principal, teachers and all the programs the school has to offer. They're sure to find something that interests them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2009

So far my son is very pleased with his freshman year at JRHS. Of course we are just early into the year and he loves the block schedules. We will see how the first report card is!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2009

My daughter is a Freshman at James River and is having a very good experience so far. The principal is Wonderful. She is very challenged and the teachers offer lots of extra help during lunch and after school when it is needed. The number of choices of electives is incredible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

My son is only a freshman, but so far we are very pleased. The staff actually has a positive attitude and wants the students to make the most of their time there. The principal is a gem. The school is run like a sensible business.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2008

I attended James River from 2005-2008. I had spent my freshman year in a different state, and I was amazed at all the courses available. The science department is excellent, especially the forensic chemistry class and vertebrate anatomy. The English department prepares students extremely well. The school itself is beautiful and well maintained. I loved my entire time there.


Posted February 27, 2008

This academic facility is apsolutly fabulous! I greatly enjoy the children and staff there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2007

This school saved my child! The administration, faculty, and staff are all warm, wonderful, and very willing to go that extra mile to help kids who struggle academically. Their nurturing attitudes help kids to try harder and succeed. The guidance department not only helps kids prepare their applications for college, they also made contacts with the colleges going that extra mile and help kids with admissions, too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2007

Outstanding academic curriculum. Many activities for students to be involved. Top notch staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2007

The principle at this school is absolutely amazing. He often attends activities outside of the school, such as athletic competitions, band events, etc. He truly shines above and beyond. He's friendly, good natured, and not overly harsh. While he does run a hard ship- with dress code, and such. He expects his students to succeeded and has implemented many policies to allow this. Over all the school is extremely well rounded, having highly competitive athletics, art programs, and a phenomenal music program. While there are countless amazing teachers, there are the few unreasonable 'duds'. This school nurtures and encourages students to achieve all that they can. It, unfortunately, is not the place for the under-achiever-these types of students can fall through the cracks. That does not mean if your child is struggling, they will be thrown aside- this is not the case, many times teachers are more than willing to help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2006

I enjoy attending this school. In my opinion there is no racial tension. For the most part there are excellent teachers. I am taking AP World History and my teacher is amazing. I was supposed to go to Godwin in Henrico, but I moved here and I'm glad. There are more ethnic backgrounds here compared to Godwin. It is a Blue Ribbon School and the library is one of the best in the country. We have many opportunities in extra-curricular activities, and if your interested in the armed forces the army and navy recruiters come to visit our schools during lunches. Our football team isn't one to brag about, but most of our other teams are very good. We're putting on the play It's a Wonderful Life this Friday and Saturday and its supposed to be excellent. Overall I give my school a 4
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 9, 2006

My oldest daughter graduated from James River and the academics are wonderful. Unfortunately, there is a real lack of desire on the part of the administration to give our athletic teams the best coaches.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

Wonderful School. Many extracurricular activities from which to choose - ranging from arts to athletics. Have never ever noticed racial tension to which some have eluded. Staff is willing to help whenever they can. Wonderful and knowledgeable prinicipal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2006

James River High School is a very extraordinary school. It is a Blue Ribbon School of Excellence. All the teachers are of great help and great instruction to the students. The arts programs there are possibly one of the greatest in the Richmond area. There are many sports teams and they always practice and play their hardest. Many of the parents are involved with the school, many of which have had older children that have went there and had a great experience. I highly reccommend this school for anyone moving to the Richmond/Midlothian area.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 7, 2005

I used to think this school was good, but I have found the opposite. The administrators are totally unfair if your child encounters a problem, even when it isn't their fault. The atmosphere is more about appearances (a blue ribbon school) than concern for the students. It's the phoniness and lack of caring and concern that makes this school the worst it can be. The administrators perpetrate racial tension. The individual teachers try very hard, but the top administrators there couldn't be worse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2004

This school has some good teachers however the apathy of the students is ridiculuous. The racial tension in the school is very high. Also the sports teams don't seem organized. Sure are a few good team, but for the most part they aren't that good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2004

This is one awesome high school. It has excellent teachers, high parental involvement and extra activities and a band that is the greatest. I can't say enough good things about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

153 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
94%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 76% in 2013.

481 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
93%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

488 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 86% in 2013.

361 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 83% in 2013.

331 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
89%
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 89% in 2013.

495 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 87% in 2013.

512 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

505 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
87%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Virginia and United States History

The state average for Virginia and United States History was 86% in 2013.

468 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
93%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 85% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
World History I

The state average for World History I was 84% in 2013.

473 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
96%
World History II

The state average for World History II was 85% in 2013.

428 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students57%
Female students66%
Male students49%
Black students43%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
White students67%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities32%
Students without disabilities61%
Limited English proficient students40%
Proficient in English62%

Algebra II

All Students70%
Female students70%
Male students69%
Black students45%
Asian students72%
Hispanic55%
Multiracial73%
White students76%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities23%
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficient students42%
Proficient in English71%

Biology

All Students87%
Female students87%
Male students87%
Black students70%
Asian students85%
Hispanic62%
Multiracial80%
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient students48%
Proficient in English90%

Chemistry

All Students86%
Female students86%
Male students87%
Black students66%
Asian students93%
Hispanic73%
Multiracial90%
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient students85%
Proficient in English87%

Earth Science

All Students79%
Female students79%
Male students78%
Black students57%
Asian students90%
Hispanic59%
Multiracialn/a
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities52%
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficient students51%
Proficient in English82%

English: Reading

All Students92%
Female students93%
Male students91%
Black students88%
Asian students77%
Hispanic69%
Multiracial100%
White students97%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities66%
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficient students30%
Proficient in English96%

English: Writing

All Students85%
Female students88%
Male students81%
Black students64%
Asian students84%
Hispanic62%
Multiracial71%
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities53%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient students37%
Proficient in English88%

Geometry

All Students76%
Female students77%
Male students75%
Black students55%
Asian students73%
Hispanic55%
Multiracial71%
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities47%
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient students53%
Proficient in English78%

History and Social Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Virginia and United States History

All Students85%
Female students85%
Male students86%
Black students63%
Asian students82%
Hispanic66%
Multiracial93%
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities67%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient students52%
Proficient in English87%

World Geography

All Students100%
Female students100%
Male students100%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English100%

World History I

All Students82%
Female students83%
Male students81%
Black students67%
Asian students83%
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities53%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient students58%
Proficient in English85%

World History II

All Students87%
Female students85%
Male students89%
Black students75%
Asian students96%
Hispanic71%
Multiracial71%
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities85%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient students59%
Proficient in English88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Jeffery Ellick

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3700 James River Rd.
Midlothian, VA 23113
Phone: (804) 378-2420

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Collegiate School
Henrico, VA


Midlothian High School
Midlothian, VA


The Steward School
Richmond, VA


Monacan High School
Richmond, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT