Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Evergreen Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1029 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Extended care

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 1, 2014

great school, teacher for my child is very interested in her needs and teaching in the way that she can best learn
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2013

We Love Evergreen ! The administration and staff are very approachable and helpful. They are clearly visible interacting with students throughout the day. The teachers are Awesome! They do an amazeing job teaching and loving our students. There is not one teacher at Evergreen that I would not want my child to have. They truly welcome and desire parental involvement. They are always willing to communicate and address any concerns. All of my experiences at Evergreen have been positive. There are currently 1,029 students at Evergreen. With that many people, you are going to have individuals that may have a specific experience that they do not deem to be positive. Those people are certainly in the minority. Talk with other parents and interact with the students. Ask the kids how they feel about their journey at Evergreen. I would expect the majority of responses to be very positive. Yes, Evergreen does push certain areas of academics in order to meet or exceed the standards of learning that have been forced upon them, so I can see where the feeling like a number could come into play. We could fix that by letting teachers teach. Evergreen is a very loving environment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2013

We absolutely love Evergreen Elementary School. The teachers and staff are friendly and patient. They have a tough job dealing with over 1,000 sets of parents, but always seem to put the students first no matter what. If you have any questions just contact the principal or other administrators they have always been willing to work with my family. Highly recommend this school for parents who want their children to get a great education and have a pleasant elementary school experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

Our family has been very impressed with Evergreen Elementary. The school is very large but there seem to be very few discipline problems. The test scores are very good, but there is so much more going on at this school. From the Back to School Picnic, to the Pumpkin Lighting, to the garden, to the free Diggity Dudes concert, it goes on and on. Students are recognized for good citizenship and are challenged in the classroom. The school also helps the community through a food pantry, clothes donations, and other fund raising activities. The PTA is great and many parents are very involved. Every time I have had needed to speak he has been avaiIable, very helpful and very friendly. I feel fortunate to be able to send my child to Evergreen everyday!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

I'm happy to read the good reviews about Evergreen and surprised to see the negative ones. My experience has been great. The principal has been accessible and friendly. He works closely with parents and students. Parents are welcomed in the school, but are not allowed to roam the halls or interrupt the classrooms. I for one am grateful knowing that my child's safety comes first. Keep up the great work Evergreen!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

Evergreen is a great school. The students come first and the staff is great. The principal gets involved with the students and is very visible We have been at Evergreen for 5 years and have never had any problems at all. My kids adore this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

Evergreen is an excellent school. My children really enjoy it going there. The staff is very helpful and concerned about the students. Safety is taken seriously. The communication from the principal is a big plus. We get messages from the school just about every week updating the latest school events. Great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2013

This school is NOT parent-friendly! If you are an involved parent then you will have problems with their policy. I am a Henrico transplant and used to the school allowing me to walk my child to class on the 1st day. Henrico even encourages parents to pop up and do a surprise peek from the class door (not allowed to enter class on pop-ups so as not to disturb teaching process). I watched an emotional parent come to tears as she was stopped at the cafeteria when trying to walk her crying 1st grader to class on the 1st day of school. They treat the teaching experience like a business, completing ingnoring the human aspect. I agree with the other parent below that they chidren are treated as a number. If you are not coming to a scheduled conference or volunteering for one of their events then you will not have the opportunity to observe your child. They make parents feel like they are visiting a prison. Henrico exercised strict security, while still keeping a human aspect. There's also the "no-tattle" policy that made my child afraid to report problems to the teacher. 2nd graders shouldnt be encouraged to work out their own problems!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2012

A great school if you feel your child with special needs should be in a self contained and institutionalized setting. A terrible school if you feel your child with special needs should be included with their peers and should have an education. Would never send my child there again; to a school that does not see my child as a student instead he's viewed by a label. NO INCLUSIVE EDUCATION at EES!!! Advocates, do not come to Chesterfield County!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2011

We have 2 children at Evergreen. It is a top notch school! The area surrounding Evergreen is a quite neighborhood, with no thru traffic. With the new principal coming in fall 2011 (who has his own children at Evergreen), the school has potential to shine even brighter than before. The Teachers are excellent and we are so fortunate for our children to have been taught by them. Evergreen has excellent scores. The PTA is very involved and has received many awards. Check out Evergreen!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2010

Great teachers and awesome PTA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2010

My daughter has been going to this school since Kindergarten, over 3 years now, and she and I love it! The principal, staff and teachers are priceless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2007

I really do not like this school. The principal is completely unavailable to the parents. The teaching time is wasted with the ridiculous lining up and being quiet all the time. It's all about the test scores. This school is a huge disappointment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2007

The leadership in this school is lacking! Most of the teachers are great and are truly there to help the children learn. However, the administration does not support them. They even put in a vote at a PTA meeting to eliminate Recess in order to have more SOL time! Kids need to play! Bullying is an issue and it is not being addressed! If your child has any need for help with disabilities the teachers are the best you could ask for but that will soon change as the administration is not!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2006

I have two children in EMES. A 4th grader and 2nd grader and we love it. We have been at EMES for two years. We left Meadowland Elem. which is the highest test scores in the area. I believe that the total educational experience is better at EMES than any other school I have been involved with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2005

The teachers at this school are great, my only issue is that they want to retain students to keep the SOL scores high so that they can stay accredited. To me this is totally unacceptable. I have 2 children in this school and both love it with the exception of a couple of teachers who aren't so nice to them. There are also issues where other children are poking with sticks causing children to bleed, the result being a time out. When are the parents going to be held accountable for their children. When are the teachers going to pay more attention to our children? I would not reccomend this school if you are looking for your childs best interest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

I have a child in 2nd grade & one child who just finished Evergreen to go to middle school. I have been more than happy at Evergreen. My children have gotten the best education and extra help that they needed. Evergreen is the best. I come from an Education background so I know good when I see it. The teachers & support staff are wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

The staff is caring and wonderful with children. My children ( I have 3) all do very well at this school. It's the best in the county!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

165 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

157 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students85%
Female students83%
Male students88%
Black students83%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities64%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English85%

Math

All Students84%
Female students81%
Male students88%
Black students66%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities75%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English84%

Science

All Students95%
Female students94%
Male students96%
Black students93%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities89%
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students82%
Female students87%
Male students77%
Black students65%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities44%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English83%

Math

All Students88%
Female students91%
Male students85%
Black students86%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities70%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students84%
Female students86%
Male students82%
Black students64%
Asian students100%
Hispanic67%
Multiracial100%
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities52%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English85%

English: Writing

All Students80%
Female students84%
Male students77%
Black students64%
Asian students92%
Hispanic73%
Multiracial100%
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities48%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English80%

Math

All Students71%
Female students70%
Male students73%
Black students63%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
White students77%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities48%
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English72%

Science

All Students83%
Female students82%
Male students84%
Black students64%
Asian students100%
Hispanic67%
Multiracial100%
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities52%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Gifted specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Matthew Maher

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Softball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1701 Evergreen East Pkwy.
Midlothian, VA 23114
Phone: (804) 378-2400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT