Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 37 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Azalea Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted May 11, 2016
- a parent
There might as well not be teachers here. Very few actually put forth the effort to teach but the majority should not be teachers any more.

Azalea Middle School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted May 11, 2016
- a parent
It varies from night to night. It just enough to keep them busy without overwhelming them


Azalea Middle School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted May 11, 2016
- a parent
In order for this to be accomplished they would need to hire teachers that still have a passion for teaching and a principal that actual cares and listens.

Azalea Middle School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted May 11, 2016
- a parent
Nothing is done to help better strained relationships between students, name calling and bullying are part of day to day life there.

Azalea Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted May 11, 2016
- a parent
Bullying runs rampant in this school and the teachers and principal do nothing to correct it. If a student asks for help from a teacher, they are told " you know "so and so" has issues, you need to deal with it"


Azalea Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 11, 2016
- a parent
90% of the teachers do not care anymore what happens to the students. If there is an issue between students, nothing is done to resolve it.

Azalea Middle School 1

Posted May 11, 2016
- a parent
I have a 6th and 8th grader. Both have had a horrible experience at this school. While we have a few good teachers, they are few and far between. Most teachers unfortunately do not care or are unprepared to handle such large class sizes. There are not enough supplies or even books to accommodate the students. And if your child gets bullied or has issues with another student, the principal especially is NO help. I will be pulling my kids from this school at the end of the year because they are not getting any kind of education here and it is affecting their mental health dealing with this environment.

Azalea Middle School 1

Posted April 26, 2016
- a parent
My son has attended this middle school for 2 years and I would have to say that it's the worse school by far I have ever encountered. This year he is in the 8th grade and the bullying has been non stop. He's always being punched or hit with books. He was jumped during school in the hallway. Some kids were trying to steal his shoes. Nothing has ever been done. I have to no avail fought against this. The dean of students Mrs. Cotton is terrible, I can never reach her. The few times I have spoken with her made no difference. She does nothing at all. The only thing she did was chastise my child for standing up for another student that was being bullied. Don't send your child to this school if you do not want he or she to bullied.


Azalea Middle School 1

Posted September 27, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is a new student at Azalea Gardens Middle School. I did not know what to expect after reading about Lafayette Winona closing and more students arriving. My daughter said that there are over 42 other students in her science class. Her math and social studies classes are also large; however, she has a very small reading and writing class. This is unacceptable. How does the principal expect the teacher to handle 40+ students and teach them what they need to learn. I am also concerned about the condition of the school; my daughter said that they have trashcans to catch the rain on rainy days, and the girls restroom doesn't have toilet paper, soap, or towels. On a positive note, the teacher seem wonderful and well prepared; I went to open house, and all teachers seem willing to assist whenever needed. They had beautifully decorated classroom and thought out presentations. My daughter loves all of her teachers including her science teacher who struggles with more that 40 children.

Azalea Middle School 2

Posted August 23, 2014
- a teacher
The roof and windows leak, the bathrooms are in poor condition and not supplied well, there is mold and mildew everywhere and the technology does not work well. The teachers are caring and hard working. I personally come in early, stay late, come in on Saturday, and tutor for free. We feel powerless to maintain discipline because administration worries more about offending the parents of one student than considering the needs of all the other children in the class. The deans ignore conduct notices and referrals. The principal makes promises to students and does not follow through (trip to Busch Gardens). She once told us that she could do without the teachers, but she NEEDED her office manager. Special education students do not receive accommodations because co-teachers spend more time coming late to class, attending meetings, and testing than helping students in the class. The security guards and resource officer spend most of their time sitting around the nurses office or texting and playing games on their cell phones. I hit my emergency button and no one came. A student was sent back to my room who had just vomited in the trashcan because "no one could pick her up."

Nearby schools

Azalea Middle School
7721 Azalea Garden Rd, Norfolk, VA  23518
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. (757) 531-3000
Last modified Azalea Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top