Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 9 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


B. T. Washington High School 1

Posted May 16, 2016
- a community member
This school is rated as the worst high school in the state. The accreditation has been pulled too many times to count over the years due to their inability to control the students. Barbed wire around the perimeter says it all!! Just look below at the post from July 10, 2011. That should tell you a lot....and he signed it Og (Original Gangster) Mike C. Speaks milestones to this schools reputation.

B. T. Washington High School 1

Posted September 08, 2014
- a community member
school has the best NJROTC program, and the band has always been very nice .. however... everything outside of that is just about terrible. Dropout rate is still the highest, plenty of bullying going around, Fights on a weekly basis. Lunch is terrible ....well thats universal for schools lol. as far as the learning goes, they have a few advance study classes, but the non-advance classes leave a lot to be desired. Bottom line, if your chile is not in an advance class, pull them out now, only due to the fact it seems the teachers are teaching a test, and not concepts. There are some who go above the cut of the rest, but definietly not enough to balence it out. School was previously labled a dropout factory, and they currently are in danger of losing accredation. Be Wary


B. T. Washington High School 2

Posted May 24, 2013
- a parent
I love the school, because it is part of my community, however it has a very poor level of accountability. It is set up so that those parents that wish to be involved are unable to contact administration or even get return phone calls. I think it would be a great school if top administration would show some accountability and instill accountability in the staff members.

B. T. Washington High School 5

Posted April 23, 2013
- a parent
Best school in the United States. My child loves this school because it's one of a kind, and have teachers that care about you more than anything, almost like your their own. Their NJROTC is also FANTASTIC. They are better than any of the other High Schools i've seen in a while, and I wish that other schools would catch up to the level Booker T. Is on. My child is also on the Varsity Basketball Team, enjoying every minute of it. She plans on joining the military after an attempt at Professional Basketball. But overall, Booker T. Washington is a great school. Any parent would be lucky to send their child their, no matter what rumors you may have heard about the school.

B. T. Washington High School 1

Posted January 27, 2012
- a student
This school is the worst high school I have ever been to! & that says alot as I have been to 5 different high schools. I am very involved in this school, I've played field hockey,&i run indoor track; I am in FBLA & many other clubs. My GPA is 3.8 & I'm a junior. I don't believe the teachers can be blamed for the low test scores of the school. I have seen my principal TWICE since I've arrived at BTW & many people don't even know what he looks like. I can describe this school as EXTREMELY ghetto & unorganized. There are fights often & the curriculum is very slow. It is in extreme danger of losing it's accreditation. If you are a parent looking to enroll your child, be prepared to be stressed out, especially if you're coming from out of district! The bathrooms are disgusting ALWAYS & there are roaches & rats. DO NOT PUT YOUR CHILD IN THIS SCHOOL!!


B. T. Washington High School 4

Posted July 10, 2011
- a student
Its like a big family in there.its a very live school. outside of school students stick together like a gang. hardly ever a fight going on in school because everybody is cool with each other. be prepared to see a whole lot of roaches, and some teachers that do not care. but if you manage to stick around and do the work teachers barely teach you how to do you WILL graduate with honors.i was in class high almost every morning and managed to have a 2.8 gpa. and playing sports a the t is a BIG BIG Plus you will get alot of people on your banwagon. Og Mike C. C/o 2011

B. T. Washington High School 4

Posted September 15, 2005
- a parent
I think that B.T.W is a great school. They have a great marching band, the best NJROTC in the district and most of all they have been fully accredited for almost 5 years.Their almost perfect.

Nearby schools

B. T. Washington High School
1111 Park Ave, Norfolk, VA  23504
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. (757) 628-3575
Last modified B. T. Washington High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top