Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Norfolk, VA
Students enrolled: 1,404
Before care: No
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


B. T. Washington High School 1

Posted September 08, 2014
- a community member
school has the best NJROTC program, and the band has always been very nice .. however... everything outside of that is just about terrible. Dropout rate is still the highest, plenty of bullying going around, Fights on a weekly basis. Lunch is terrible ....well thats universal for schools lol. as far as the learning goes, they have a few advance study classes, but the non-advance classes leave a lot to be desired. Bottom line, if your chile is not in an advance class, pull them out now, only due to the fact it seems the teachers are teaching a test, and not concepts. There are some who go above the cut of the rest, but definietly not enough to balence it out. School was previously labled a dropout factory, and they currently are in danger of losing accredation. Be Wary

B. T. Washington High School 2

Posted May 24, 2013
- a parent
I love the school, because it is part of my community, however it has a very poor level of accountability. It is set up so that those parents that wish to be involved are unable to contact administration or even get return phone calls. I think it would be a great school if top administration would show some accountability and instill accountability in the staff members.


B. T. Washington High School 5

Posted April 23, 2013
- a parent
Best school in the United States. My child loves this school because it's one of a kind, and have teachers that care about you more than anything, almost like your their own. Their NJROTC is also FANTASTIC. They are better than any of the other High Schools i've seen in a while, and I wish that other schools would catch up to the level Booker T. Is on. My child is also on the Varsity Basketball Team, enjoying every minute of it. She plans on joining the military after an attempt at Professional Basketball. But overall, Booker T. Washington is a great school. Any parent would be lucky to send their child their, no matter what rumors you may have heard about the school.

B. T. Washington High School 1

Posted January 27, 2012
- a student
This school is the worst high school I have ever been to! & that says alot as I have been to 5 different high schools. I am very involved in this school, I've played field hockey,&i run indoor track; I am in FBLA & many other clubs. My GPA is 3.8 & I'm a junior. I don't believe the teachers can be blamed for the low test scores of the school. I have seen my principal TWICE since I've arrived at BTW & many people don't even know what he looks like. I can describe this school as EXTREMELY ghetto & unorganized. There are fights often & the curriculum is very slow. It is in extreme danger of losing it's accreditation. If you are a parent looking to enroll your child, be prepared to be stressed out, especially if you're coming from out of district! The bathrooms are disgusting ALWAYS & there are roaches & rats. DO NOT PUT YOUR CHILD IN THIS SCHOOL!!

B. T. Washington High School 4

Posted July 10, 2011
- a student
Its like a big family in there.its a very live school. outside of school students stick together like a gang. hardly ever a fight going on in school because everybody is cool with each other. be prepared to see a whole lot of roaches, and some teachers that do not care. but if you manage to stick around and do the work teachers barely teach you how to do you WILL graduate with honors.i was in class high almost every morning and managed to have a 2.8 gpa. and playing sports a the t is a BIG BIG Plus you will get alot of people on your banwagon. Og Mike C. C/o 2011


B. T. Washington High School 4

Posted September 15, 2005
- a parent
I think that B.T.W is a great school. They have a great marching band, the best NJROTC in the district and most of all they have been fully accredited for almost 5 years.Their almost perfect.

B. T. Washington High School 5

Posted December 08, 2004
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

B. T. Washington High School 3

Posted August 26, 2003
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

B. T. Washington High School
1111 Park Ave, Norfolk, VA  23504
(757) 628-3575
Last modified B. T. Washington High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
B. T. Washington High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top