Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Blair Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1194 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Special education

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 3, 2014

For such a large school, my child has flourished from the diverse atmosphere as well as the enthusiastic & determined teachers. She also has made lifelong friends to take on to high school and after.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2014

I went to school in Nashville, TN before I moved here in 7th grade because my dad is in the military. I was terrified because I didn't know anyone and the school was so huge, but the guidance and staff really helped me learn my way around. The teachers are so encouraging, they make class fun but challenging. There is quiet a few fights but all schools have fights. The guidance and deens really urge us to talk thingsout however. I'm now in 8th grade and I think i'm really prepared for highschool, seeing as thoigj I've already took multiple highschool classes. You can stay after with your teachers for extra help almost any day & they have many etra curricular activities you can do i.e. french, latin, spanish, buissness, pe, health, etc. This is the best school i've ever been to (and trust me i've been to alot) Most of the familiesare milotary and the kids really understand eaeach other. The school is just beautiful inside and out. If I had to pick one school to stay at, it would be Blair!


Posted September 15, 2013

A great school if your kids is in the pre-med/science/engineering program and/or any honors classes. Great arts program especially the chorus program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2011

This school is the best school in all of the world. The teachers are so nice. We are seperated into clusters in 6th grade. Very great school. :)


Posted June 1, 2011

my daughter will be attending blair next year and children only act as taught at home my daughter will be coming from james monroe elem and i look forward to her success at blair this upcoming year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2011

I believe Middle School is difficult for most children at some point, it's a difficult age. That being said, you get out of your education, what you put into it. This is my son's second year at Blair, and we don't regret a moment of it. He is receiving an excellent education and a great social experience. There are many (free) after school clubs that he can be involved in, and when he is having difficulty understanding a subject, he can stay after for additional help. The administrators are very hands on and encouraging to the children and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2010

I was worried when my daughter entered Blair because of the size of the school, however, the admin does a wonderful job of breaking it down. My daughter got the opportunity to take high school credit classes here, there were dances, and after school activities to be involved with. Her teachers would post grades online, so I instantly knew where she was in her classes and was able to keep up with the day to day after I got home from work. I think I had more difficulty with the social aspect of middle school and all the things that come along with that awkward time in life rather than any issues with the school itself. That, however, is something that boys and girls encounter at any school. 11,12, 13, and 14 are difficult times in life. There is an online network that lets parents know what PTA help is needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2010

This is an excellent school. I would like to re-enroll my doughter in the Blair Midle School starting with begginning of March 2010. She was student untill february 2009 when she went to Romania, but on 25 February she will return in Norfolk.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2009

I have 2 children that go here. The teacher have no control for the student body. My child has come home many a times that he can not learn due to the behavior of other students. Fights is an everyday happening. Very dissapointed!!! Only send your children here unless you have to!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2009

I am a former student at BMS. I was there from 6-7 grade but transferred to Meadowbrook because there wasnt enough challenge and half of the student popualtion is rude. I liked my teachers both years becasue they were caring and nice. The only problem was the way people would treat each other. There were fights every day. So i would be carefull before going to Blair.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 5, 2009

The school is beautiful thanks to the renovations, but I think the problem is more with the students/parents than the teachers. I think the teachers see so much potential in the students, especially certain ones, but the students are not motivated for some reason. The want it easy, they don't want to be challenged. I don't this issue is just this school though, I think its happening all over. The parents really need to push and challenge there kids. my daughter was put in advanced classes this year because of SOL scores coming out the 6th grade. My daughter said it was too hard and wanted to be put back in regular classes. I told her no. I want her to be challenged. if she focuses she will succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2007

Blair Middle School has very high quality teachers and recently was re-built with state of the art technology. BMS has a fairly good principal who is very active with the students and parents. The student body at Blair is certainly not the best, but the teachers work their hardest to change that. Blair is a great school for anyone! Problems people may encounter usually occur with parents (and sometimes students) who expect too much!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 22, 2006

I would not send my child to this school. The administration shows no respect for the students, teachers or parents. All the administration does is scream at everyone. The students are out of control. At the awards ceremony students were screamed at for cheering on their fellow students. As you walk down the hallway students are running, pushing and screaming. At the end of the year awards ceremony the students almost ran down a mother with her two little kids. There are some wondergul teachers at ths school as well as some that should quit the teaching profession. Many teachers have low expectations for the students. Something has to change at that school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

418 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
81%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

416 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 75% in 2013.

373 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
74%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

188 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 71% in 2013.

341 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
82%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 70% in 2013.

355 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
85%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

275 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students67%
Female students72%
Male students62%
Black students54%
Asian students71%
Hispanic47%
Multiracial70%
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities31%
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English68%

Math

All Students71%
Female students77%
Male students66%
Black students63%
Asian students86%
Hispanic65%
Multiracial52%
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities30%
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students67%
Female students69%
Male students65%
Black students47%
Asian students90%
Hispanic63%
Multiracial88%
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities19%
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English67%

Math

All Students28%
Female students28%
Male students28%
Black students20%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic45%
Multiracial43%
White students44%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged28%
Not economically disadvantaged26%
Students with disabilities9%
Students without disabilities32%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English28%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students64%
Female students73%
Male students52%
Black students49%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracial71%
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities16%
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English65%

English: Writing

All Students67%
Female students75%
Male students58%
Black students54%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracial80%
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities17%
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English68%

Math

All Students32%
Female students34%
Male students29%
Black students26%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic30%
Multiracial50%
White students52%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged27%
Not economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities14%
Students without disabilities38%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English32%

Science

All Students61%
Female students59%
Male students63%
Black students46%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic31%
Multiracial50%
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities19%
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Accredited with Warning".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Accredited with Warning".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

239 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

156 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students95%
Female students97%
Male students92%
Black students89%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic91%
Multiracial94%
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English94%

Geometry

All Students91%
Female students92%
Male students88%
Black students90%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial93%
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Jeanne Kruger

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Field hockey
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

730 Spotswood Ave
Norfolk, VA 23517
Phone: (757) 628-2400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Madison
Norfolk, VA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT