Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Willard Model Elementary School 1

Posted January 07, 2015
- a parent
Teachers need to be careful wot there words amd how the speak to children. Teachers are supposed to be role models for are chikdren and outti g forth effort if a student isnt able to do so.....stuff def needs to change and have more teachers on board for the ones that need the extra work.

Willard Model Elementary School 2

Posted January 04, 2015
- a parent
I was very excited about this school until my son actually started. I believe the teachers care about the students but I did not get that same feeling from the principal, Mrs. Honeycutt. The classrooms are very large and the discipline issues are overwhelming.


Willard Model Elementary School 5

Posted May 14, 2012
- a parent
My oldest child has attended Willard since Kindergarten, and is a current fifth grader. We love this school, and feel like it is a family-friendly atmosphere. The PTA is doing so much for the children, and the teachers and staff are truly caring. I am considering private school for middle school, but will keep my younger children in this wonderful NPS school until then.

Willard Model Elementary School 5

Posted November 10, 2008
- a parent
The school has a warmth to it the minute you walk in. It is a great place for children to learn.

Willard Model Elementary School 5

Posted September 19, 2008
- a parent
This is one of the Best schools in my area, the staff has an excellent dedication to it's students and their families for parental and family envolvement. My daughter loves it and her 'special teacher' as she states.


Willard Model Elementary School 5

Posted October 01, 2006
- a parent
I have 2 children at this school and this is the best school I have had my children in keep up the good work

Willard Model Elementary School 5

Posted September 12, 2006
- a parent
It is there special needs iep programe that is top notch!!!! mr. Baxendel saves lifes. teachers rate 100%you go mr. Bax! marie haskell

Willard Model Elementary School 4

Posted July 08, 2004
- a teacher
Willard is a wonderful school. They truly believe in excelling and do provide extra help for students who are behind. Most parents that complain are the ones who never take time to help their child and rely on the school systme to do everything. I would recommend Willard to anyone living in the area. There is diversity amongst the faculty, staff, and students.


Willard Model Elementary School 4

Posted May 20, 2004
- a parent
I have had two daughters at Willard for a combined total of 12 years, and, for the most part, have been pleased. My older daughter had 3 perfect scores on her 5th grade SOL tests and is now completing 6th grade and has never made anything but A's. My younger daughter also is making mostly straight A's, and has had good experiences at Willard. My children are in the minority at Willard, and I see no signs of discrimination toward them or other minorities. Both daughters have had some excellent teachers and some average ones, but, overall, our experiences have been good. They have also had good opportunities for extra-curricular activities, such as athletics, art, drama, dance and leadership development.

Willard Model Elementary School 2

Posted February 23, 2004
- a parent
There is alot of undercover discrimination at Willard Model School. The best teacher in the whole school and other parents will agree is the PE Teacher Mike Smith. He actually cares about the childrens overall well being. This school gives extra help to the students who are already doing well or if the students family his financially well off. This was the worst school my cildren ever attended. It really hurt their self esteem. Thank God they have a strong family!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Willard Model Elementary School
1511 Willow Wood Dr, Norfolk, VA  23509
(757) 628-2721
Last modified Willard Model Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Willard Model Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top