Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Crossroads School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted October 10, 2015
- a community member
Thank you for convincing me to remove my son from the public school system. My conclusions have been made certain by your inability to see the truth, which is that you would rather convince the parents that something is wrong with their kids than suspend a teacher that bullies their own students.

Crossroads School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted October 10, 2015
- a community member
Not all of the teachers are ineffective, but those that are effective, respected, and considerate of their students, wish they had more freedom to teach their students however way they can in order to truly learn something worthwhile, instead of just teaching them to pass the SOLs.


Crossroads School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted October 10, 2015
- a community member
They have fallen into the habit of showing disrespect to all students, since most of the students do not respect them. When they find a child that does, they do not know what to do with them.

Crossroads School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted October 10, 2015
- a community member
Generally, this school is apathetic to the concerns and needs of the students in attendance.

Crossroads School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted October 10, 2015
- a community member
If the faculty and administrators are dishonest, how can they teach any of that to their students?


Crossroads School 1

Posted October 10, 2015
- a community member
This school building may be new, but the old problems still exist. The staff are unfriendly, rude, and inconsiderate towards visitors and parents, for any reason. They have a good number of bullies--not just students, but faculty as well. What is worse, is that their boss is willing to protect them over their students. As such, they have failed to uphold the responsibilities and promise to protect the students walking their halls. When unruly, disrespectful, unkempt, and neglected children are the norm, where does that leave the kind-hearted, honest, intelligent, and well-behaved children? I can tell you, anywhere but there.

Crossroads School 1

Posted June 16, 2014
- a parent
This school is best to be avoided. They built a new school, Which is great, but the old problems still exist-- bullies, troubled children, incompetent teachers, rude office workers, and bureaucratic administrators. All of this outweighs any positive aspects of this school; therefore, not worth your time! Thanks to all of this, my son will no longer be attending this school.

Crossroads School 5

Posted April 09, 2011
- a community member
I LOVE crossroads elementary. They make every child feel very special, and will sit and spend time with you one on one, like children need at that tender age. I attended this school, and going through the hardest of times, I was always drawn out to feel on top of every one else. This is the best school of every school I've been through, and has definitely been the one to make me feel, the most important, the most likely to achieve my goals, and help me want to strive for more. Crossroads Elementary is an overly-exceptional school.


Crossroads School 5

Posted June 21, 2010
- a parent
My son has went to Crossroads from K- 2nd. He's now going into 3rd. I haven't had any problems w/ the school. My son is an A-B student. All the teachers he's had have been wonderful. Mrs. Beers is doing a wonderful job. As far as "drama" I've not seen any. It's up to us parents to make sure our kids know how to act in school and out. No we can't hold their hand all the time but it's up to us to teach them right from wrong. Can't depend on others for that! Keep up the great work Mrs. Beers!!

Crossroads School
no rating

Posted May 07, 2010
- a parent
Wow im really surprised by what parents have wrote my son has went to scholl from pre-k-4th grade hes about to go into 5th i havent had any problems at all he is learning well... And for mrs.Beers shes not as bad as they r saying at all!!! its not a bad school as for the drama dont make none and there wont be any!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Crossroads School
8021 Old Ocean View Rd., Norfolk, VA  23505
(757) 531-3050
Last modified Crossroads School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Crossroads School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top