Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public
Norfolk, VA
Students enrolled: 559
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ghent Elementary School 5

Posted January 02, 2013
- a parent
I'm a Parent of a 8th Grade student who has been at Ghent since Kindergarten. I LOOOOVVVVEEEEEE this school. The teachers are soo compassionate about their student, willing to put extra work into every child, giving special attention to every child, treating all of the students the same - regardless if they have special needs or not - and because most of the students have been there since Kindergarten, the teachers for the next grade level already know how to handle them. I'm going to be sad to have to put my daughter into another school, even begging the Principal to extend the school to 12th grade. Currently, Ghent is the only Open Classroom and Open Campus school in Norfolk, meaning you dont have to live in the Neighborhood to have your child attend this awesome place

Ghent Elementary School 5

Posted February 01, 2012
- a parent
Great school, both my kids go. Teachers are caring and curriculum is guaged towards the student ability.


Ghent Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 20, 2010
- a parent
Their teachers care about the kids and their teaching methods are great. No child is ever board or left behind. If the child is not up to level they work with the seperately to bring them there. If I child is ahead, they put them with others that are on the same level and give them a little bit harder work. My son is in 8th grade and goes to the high school part of the day because his math skills are on a 10th grade level. When he struggled in reading at 6 years old they caught the fact that he had dislexia and worked with him to control it and now he is in all honors classes.

Ghent Elementary School 4

Posted September 08, 2009
- a parent
I am so thankful I learned about this school before my son even started. He has now in 8th grade. We are actually sad this will be his last year at Ghent. The smaller class sizes and the caring teachers have helped my child to excel. I really feel he has been given the best education public school could offer. We are so appreciative of the staff. I know he has a solid foundation and is prepared for high school anywhere. This school is K-8, another positive feature. This school should be used as an example for all Norfolk Public Schools.

Ghent Elementary School 5

Posted April 01, 2009
- a parent
The staff is very curtious and knowlegeable always there to answer questions and to help parents.


Ghent Elementary School 3

Posted March 05, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ghent Elementary School 5

Posted September 09, 2008
- a student
i love it! the teachers are great

Ghent Elementary School 4

Posted May 10, 2008
- a parent
high academic standards, great kids, dedicated teachers. a great alternative to the district schools in norfolk. however, research on my norfok district school, shows better test-scores and a higher rating among parents.


Ghent Elementary School 5

Posted November 18, 2007
- a parent
Academics and moral standards are impressive.

Ghent Elementary School 4

Posted June 25, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ghent Elementary School
200 Shirley Ave, Norfolk, VA  23517
(757) 628-2565
Last modified Ghent Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ghent Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top