Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ingleside Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 594 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 6, 2013

My all 3 of my sons attended Ingleside and I was not happy with the way the staff worked or taught my children. One of my sons teacher was a total b***h! My son is v ery smart and she didnt like when he asked questions and always was sending letters home. The vice principal would always harrass my boys too. It's sad when adults have to pick on students and intimidate them. I for one always stood up for my boys and will continue to do so. End of story i now send my boys to another school and they are much happier and making A's and B's. Listen to what your kids tell you about what happened in class that day and how the teacher acted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2012

Both my son and daughter attended this school for grade K. I pulled them from the school to attend another district because of the lack of a positive learning environment. Two years passed and I decided to give them another chance. My son was recommended for the gifted program to only 1 week later recieve 3 F's on his report card. How does a teacher make that recommendation then fail a student. Long story short both my kids were making A's and B's before this school and I pulled them again to homeschool them. Needless to say they are now attending in another district and are back to passing grades. This school is no place to send your child if you want someone to invest and care in their educations. I drive 10 miles a day twice a day just so that my children can get the education they deserve and it is not at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2010

My children have received an excellent education at ingleside. The special ed staff offer good support for students with learning disabilities. The pre-K program is outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

We moved here half way through the school year & it's my sons first year in school,btw,anyways, he LOVED school.. his old school! We enroll him here & he gets picked on constantly, the teachers don't put forth enough effort.. they expect you,the parent to do their job. I have my own little classroom set up at home and we have to do practice work assignments everyday so he just GETS IS because his teachers can't do their job correctly or just don't care to. He is now behind & they act like this is my fault.. no sir, you are the teach why on earth haven't you been teaching? Not only do I have a problem with the teachers, the office staff is rude. The school looks disgusting inside & out. The bus drivers let the children cuss,spit, scream & argue. My son never comes home happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2009

I enrolled my daughter last month when my husband and I purchased a home in the district and we are not happy with it so far. My daughter has had a substitute since day 1... never had her class work checked for accuracy and the homework they are sending home... no way we can do it. She's ill equipped since there's a sub. Test are given on wrong days so she's not had the extra few days to study at home, no books to read, I have no classroom schedule and when I try to call the school I go through the automated system and never get a human on the phone. It's horrible!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2009

Ingleside is a great school with high academic achievement. The staff demonstrate a true love for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2008

I moved to Va. in 04' my child was a straight honor roll student we enrolled her in one school not to name but they were awful. I move and enrolled in this school it was the best and it saw her talent's and she is now going to the 9th grade w/3 credit's and still an honor student. this has made her transition so nice from military school child to civilian. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2008

I am very disappointed in Ingleside. My daughter transfered here from a MD school and has been absolutely down about it ever since. She came here from a K class that was already reading to class that was only on the letter L in March! She's sad every day that she comes home from school. They don't play outside much and there's no creative time. The class sizes are far to large, the school grounds are dirty with broken glass and garbage scattered about. The K classroom has two large K classes stuffed into one room. Not at all conducive to a 5/6 year old's learning! I have yet to find anything at all positive about this school. My daughter used to adore going to school and learned so many things and now she begs to stay home. She used to come home singing educational songs, but here it's rap songs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

Ingleside is a well organized school. The students and the faculty take great pride in their school. The teachers are ok but with so many being new they are still struggling some. I believe that there is to much focus on SOL's and not enough on general education and it shows through the students grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
72%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

57 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
75%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
88%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students68%
Female students70%
Male students64%
Black students67%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English68%

Math

All Students43%
Female students40%
Male students48%
Black students44%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities44%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English43%

Science

All Students68%
Female students67%
Male students70%
Black students69%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students63%
Female students82%
Male students48%
Black students60%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English62%

Math

All Students75%
Female students82%
Male students69%
Black students72%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students63%
Female students49%
Male students78%
Black students64%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities64%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English65%

English: Writing

All Students61%
Female students62%
Male students59%
Black students64%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities65%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English61%

Math

All Students54%
Female students54%
Male students54%
Black students56%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities55%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English56%

Science

All Students50%
Female students39%
Male students61%
Black students52%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities53%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dwana White

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

976 Ingleside Rd
Norfolk, VA 23502
Phone: (757) 892-3270

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT