Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Larrymore Elementary School 5

Posted October 04, 2013
- a community member
Larrymore I love this school they teach the students well and pay attention to the students.

Larrymore Elementary School 5

Posted September 18, 2013
- a parent
Teachers are amazingly supportive at Larrymore. Both of my kids have blossomed at this school for over 3 years.


Larrymore Elementary School 5

Posted July 25, 2011
- a community member
This is an amazing school. Avoid getting Ellen Proefrock as a teacher though she's the only bad teacher in the school. The staff is great and its a very accepting environment for student. I loved it when I went there

Larrymore Elementary School 5

Posted February 09, 2011
- a parent
This school has excellent teachers, strong principal/school leadership, and great academic programs. one out of 3 of my children still go there. My other 2 children are in highschool & middle school, they both love and miss larrymore very much.

Larrymore Elementary School 5

Posted May 03, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Larrymore Elementary School 4

Posted October 02, 2008
- a parent
Great school,great teachers,and in general the Hampton Roads area is a wonderful area to live in,and no(lol) i dont work for the tourism board

Larrymore Elementary School 3

Posted July 06, 2008
- a parent
Larrymore Elementary, for the most part, has a staff of teachers who do an outstanding job. Hats off to those who work with children with special needs. I am very dissapointed in the Principal, Mr. Macnulty, who, when given a difficult situation, will pass it off to the child's teacher to handle) even after the teacher and parent together have tried to work on a situation). He will work harder on trying to keep things out of sight, out of mind. I hope the more than caring and competent Assistant Principal becomes Principal, she would do the school a just service, by leaps and bounds.

Larrymore Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 02, 2007
- a parent
It just 3 weeks into the school year-but so far i have been impressed with the teachers and other staff. they seem to really care about the children getting a good education.


Larrymore Elementary School 4

Posted June 02, 2005
- a parent
As a parent that s involving im my kids education I feel pta members really need to meet the parent and just let them know what they are doing. Larrymore is a good school but the lack of partipation is a most. Academic wise is excellent student learning a lot this year and the sol soars was excellent. My hat goes out to all of the teachers for doing a wonderful job. As the year to come I would like to see different changes in the pta like different fundrasieing, more parents and not only that more information.

Larrymore Elementary School 5

Posted June 25, 2004
- a parent
Larrymore has a surprising number of resources. Jewish Community Center has BEARS, Be A Reader for 1st graders volunteers being assigned one child for the year. Military personnel assist with homework and reading for 2nd grade. These volunteers are friends and mentors for our children. The teachers are warm and care about every child in class. The principal and assistant know every child by name and never fail to listen and encourage. As a volunteer I advise my charges that reading is the key to the world if you can read you can be or do anything you want. Oftentimes the one on one attention is what opens a mind and the child is off in search of more knowledge. Parent involvement is the key to the entire learning process. Behavior starts at home and carries over to school. Larrymore has a large family of parents who care about children, their own and yours. If I could fix anything it would be teach manners.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Larrymore Elementary School
7600 Halprin Dr, Norfolk, VA  23518
(757) 531-3070
Last modified Larrymore Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Larrymore Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top