Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Maury High School

Public | 9-12 | 1685 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Extended programs

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 8, 2013

This was a great school at one time but it's one of the worst school now. Stay away from this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Maury is tops in everything. It is also a school with a superb reputation. Many folks who have gone on to great success have graduated from this school. I'm proud to be a part of the faculty, and I'm proud that my daughter graduated from this school with such terrific traditional history.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 16, 2009

It's a lot more 'real' than most schools and the staff is fantastic.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 16, 2009

I wrote a message about four years ago inference to my twins, well they have graduated from the university and doing well. My youngest daughter, is now in her second year a Maury and doing very well. The majority of her teachers have been excellent. The new principal is really interested in the kids and the school has always been very responsive to any concern or question. I am looking forward to my daughter's last two years at Maury and hope she continues to excel. I would tell any parent to please discuss any problem with someone at the school. They are truly interested in your child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2008

This school is OKAY. What I thank it needs is a BETTER principle. This priciple does not know what she is doing, the last priciple was better. He knew what to do and ho to do it. This priciple is being a little hard on these students, for example she doesn't understand some of these students get rides to school from their parent(s) and the student can not control how long it takes for them to get to school. Also the fighting situation, you(the principle) take the student out of school for as long as 10 days they atomatically fail, and that is not going to be good for this school (Maury High School)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2008

this school is not as good as it seems. some teachers are not qualified for the job mainly in math and english. i think that maury has too much spirit in the school and not enough in schoolwork
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 27, 2008

The best school I've ever known. I highly recommend this instution for any student!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2008

Maury is a fantastic school with creative and caring teachers; however, I feel like the gap between student's abilities is too big and that students do not respect each other any more.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 22, 2005

My twin daughters graduated from Maury in June 2005. The both excelled in school by taking AP classes, participating in a variety of clubs due to a large number of extracurricular activities, taking challenging classes and graduated with GPAs of 3.5 and 4.01. The school changed principals and both were very good. The teachers were hard but great and placed them on the right track and prepared very well for college. They developed friendships and remain in contact with classmates now attending universities and colleges all over the country. PTA was excellent and strong. I have one more daughter, presently in middle school, and you can rest assure that hopefully a Maury Commodore she shall be! Mona Farrow
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2005

Maury is the best high school in norfolk, no doubt. It's academically challenging learning setting allows is 1876 students to excel in whatever they do. I am definitely on the route to reaching my potential, and it took one year at maury to turn me into an honor roll student. I blame maury for all of my success!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 20, 2004

Maury is one of the best high schools in Norfolk. It is an academically challenging school that embraces a love of learning and gives personal attention to all students. And the school spirit runs deep at Maury - just go to a basketball or football game. Maury was insturmental in my preparation for the 'outside world'
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 14, 2004

Maury over the years has changed alot we have a new prinical and he is strict. I don't lkie him at all. He changed their schedules and my child and many others don't like it. I want him gone and Maury high school the way it was!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2003

I attended Maury from 1993-97, and I'm on my way now to a PhD in English Literature. While high school is a tough time for anyone, I believe the staff and faculty at Maury, for the most part, did their best to make our time there memorable.


Posted September 4, 2003

I was a student at Maury 1988-1990. It was a great school and offered more programs then the private schools did in the area. Looking back, Maury helped me in my path, along this trip we call life. Thank You.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 26, 2003

I have one daughter who graduated in 1998. She graduated from an Ivy League university in 2002 and now attends Harvard Law school. She was very thankful for the quality of education she received at Maury, along with the opportunity to get to know people from different backgrounds and economic levels. Currently I have one other child at Maury who is also happy with her classes, and particularly the knowledgable and compassionate teachers who work there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

172 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
86%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 76% in 2013.

239 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

262 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
82%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 86% in 2013.

249 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
95%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 83% in 2013.

269 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
76%
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 89% in 2013.

410 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 87% in 2013.

413 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
91%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

237 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
76%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Virginia and United States History

The state average for Virginia and United States History was 86% in 2013.

340 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
90%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 85% in 2013.

169 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
World History I

The state average for World History I was 84% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
70%
World History II

The state average for World History II was 85% in 2013.

441 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students66%
Female students70%
Male students62%
Black students54%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities39%
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English67%

Algebra II

All Students94%
Female students94%
Male students95%
Black students93%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic94%
Multiracial100%
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English94%

Biology

All Students76%
Female students77%
Male students74%
Black students66%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities38%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English76%

Chemistry

All Students90%
Female students88%
Male students94%
Black students84%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic95%
Multiracial100%
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English90%

Earth Science

All Students77%
Female students74%
Male students81%
Black students69%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
White students99%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities43%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English77%

English: Reading

All Students85%
Female students85%
Male students84%
Black students78%
Asian students60%
Hispanic83%
Multiracial84%
White students97%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities38%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient students55%
Proficient in English86%

English: Writing

All Students86%
Female students89%
Male students83%
Black students79%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracial75%
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities53%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English87%

Geometry

All Students68%
Female students66%
Male students71%
Black students55%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities48%
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English68%

History and Social Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Virginia and United States History

All Students86%
Female students81%
Male students91%
Black students74%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracial88%
White students97%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities76%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English86%

World Geography

All Students98%
Female students97%
Male students100%
Black students96%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English98%

World History I

All Students79%
Female students80%
Male students79%
Black students71%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English81%

World History II

All Students72%
Female students67%
Male students77%
Black students56%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracial73%
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities40%
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Karen Berg

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Swimming

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

322 Shirley Ave
Norfolk, VA 23517
Phone: (757) 628-3344

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Madison
Norfolk, VA



Crawford Day School
Portsmouth, VA



Granby High School
Norfolk, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT