Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Norview High School

Public | 9-12 | 1840 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Special education

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 11, 2014

Norview is not as great as people say it is as of this the 2014-15 year so far there have been so many food fights like once per day. Milks being thrown on to the central staircase 2nd floor. I fear for this school because the some of the students are on the road to self destruction and take other people with them by causing a disruptive learning environment. And I do wonder how some teachers don't see or hear any thing are they like blind or def. The administration is rather good. But the security guards are problems when they don't know the names of teachers because I was accused as of writing my own pass.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 29, 2012

Norview is a good school as a former student i know it has some issues but then again most schools do. The teachers help when they are needed and their after school activities cater to everyone. I was in their robotics program and their culinary program i would suggest this school to anyone moving to the area. I will have my children attend this school to experience the same thing i did there a warm and welcoming faculty and staff and also kids that are all willing to make friends.


Posted April 26, 2012

The administration at Norview (with scant exception) is horrible. The principal leads the tone of the administration. She talks about challenges within the community, and poor parent involvement, and yet if a parent wishes to meet with her, she will refuse, as she chooses. The school's actions are in no way congruent with its mission statement. In short, unless your child is an absolute top-performer, Norview is not a good choice. An entire class of local kids enters Norview each year, and a large number of these students leaves before graduation. It seems the school wants it this way. If you can avoid it, stay away from Norview.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

I went to Norview Elem., Middle and High School. All were great schools that gave me a wonderful education. My daughters and grandchildren have attended there too. I am proud to say I ma a Norview graduate!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2008

iam a cadet in the norview njrotc unit and i love every minute of it ,it gives me great leadership skills and it makes me a better student i would never quit and i love all 3 of the instructors.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 22, 2008

I give this a 5 star -- the teachers are all about education, they work with their students and stay behind when a child is needing assistance. You cant go wrong with education, support, achievements, athletics. They are here for these children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2007

I am a graduate of Norview and I am now sending my son here as well, so far so good. The atmosphere is much calmer than his previous school and the teacher's seem to be seasoned and well qualified. Mrs. Stealey and Mr. Fraley are doing a wonderful job keeping the school safe and providing an atmosphere conducive to learning. I can't wait for a successful 2007-08 school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2007

Norview high school is amazing with its leadership programs and is outstanding Njrotc
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2007

Norview is a great school and has an outstanding NJROTC program. With the addition of the new SNSI and NSI, they have made a huge difference in the performance of the NJROTC unit. As parents of a daughter in the NJROTC program, the instructors attempt to make each cadet feel a part of a team. Great school/great NJROTC unit!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2007

In the last couple of years the NJROTC program at Norview has grown to be the best in Norfolk. I went to Norview, my brother and Husband went to Norview, My step sons went to Norview, my son & daughters will go to Norview. My Husband and I are members of the NJROTC parent boosters. Great School........
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2004

Norview is the best school in Norfolk! I graduated from there and my sons and daughter will graduate from there also. They have the best SOL scores and the smartest kids. Go 'VIEW'!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 76% in 2013.

232 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

359 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
89%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 86% in 2013.

204 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 83% in 2013.

272 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
78%
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 89% in 2013.

391 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
89%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 87% in 2013.

393 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

262 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
81%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Virginia and United States History

The state average for Virginia and United States History was 86% in 2013.

407 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
91%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 85% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
97%
World History I

The state average for World History I was 84% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
World History II

The state average for World History II was 85% in 2013.

482 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students67%
Female students65%
Male students70%
Black students64%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
White students71%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities55%
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English66%

Algebra II

All Students91%
Female students89%
Male students95%
Black students89%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracial90%
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English91%

Biology

All Students65%
Female students58%
Male students72%
Black students59%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracial76%
White students76%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English65%

Chemistry

All Students93%
Female students91%
Male students96%
Black students90%
Asian students92%
Hispanic100%
Multiracial100%
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English93%

Earth Science

All Students78%
Female students73%
Male students84%
Black students72%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracial89%
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities42%
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English78%

English: Reading

All Students86%
Female students87%
Male students85%
Black students82%
Asian students100%
Hispanic92%
Multiracial79%
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities63%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English86%

English: Writing

All Students85%
Female students88%
Male students83%
Black students82%
Asian students100%
Hispanic88%
Multiracial89%
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English85%

Geometry

All Students74%
Female students74%
Male students75%
Black students71%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracial75%
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities48%
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English74%

History and Social Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Virginia and United States History

All Students86%
Female students82%
Male students90%
Black students81%
Asian students100%
Hispanic90%
Multiracial85%
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities54%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English86%

World Geography

All Students98%
Female students97%
Male students100%
Black students96%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English98%

World History I

All Students94%
Female students95%
Male students92%
Black students88%
Asian students100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracial100%
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities60%
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English94%

World History II

All Students78%
Female students72%
Male students85%
Black students75%
Asian students94%
Hispanic79%
Multiracial79%
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities44%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient students62%
Proficient in English78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Marjorie Stealey

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6501 Chesapeake Blvd
Norfolk, VA 23513
Phone: (757) 852-4500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT