Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ocean View Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 573 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

Grading policies, and teaching guidelines are inconsistent. Teacher didn't monitor AR reading program. When confronted with this leadership said that a 6 yr old was responsible for her own AR program but teacher didn't offer student any feedback. Focused on grades/test scores. If your child is making above 80% but you feel they don't quite "get it" this will fall on deaf ears because the "data" shows otherwise. The rigor isn't there. For example my daughter received 100% on all spelling tests in 1st gr and word study HW came very easy. Tested my daughter (after we withdrew) on a Stanford exam and her spelling was at K level, in the middle of 1st grade. Had concern that grades were entered in the gradebook after the semester. Took it to Superintendent level. Got a response that they reviewed the record themselves but wouldn't show me my daughters academic record to verify. Students do a lot of work independently but if they are incorrect nobody catches it. Out of date curriculum (Daily Language Review is from 1998 (it's on amazon). Worksheets had unreadable graphics bc they were so old. One picture was an actual stamp that was $0.29. Tests had typos and grading errors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2014

My son currently goes to Ocean View Elementary and we are very happy with it. As a military family, you often hear that you need to live in Virginia Beach or Chesapeake to find good schools. We did our research, visited public and private schools and were very impressed with all the teachers we met at Ocean View. Now in March of his Kindergarten year, I am very happy we chose a location that was close to NAS Norfolk, and a great school for our son. Ms. Hicks is great with our son. He can be challenging to get focused, although he is above average academically. He stays challenged and has a new, fun story to tell us every day. He loves music, art, Phys Ed and especially the science projects they work on. He loves helping with the Oyster Beds as part of the maritime school project. He also attends the YWCA after school program there at the school, and is sad when I pick him up every day. He wants to stay longer to play. Smaller class sizes, teacher's aids, and more time for free play would give this school 5 stars, but you won't find that in any of the public schools anywhere today, unfortunately. We stay close to his teacher, talking and meeting often.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2014

my daughter has attended oves for 3 years & is receiving a great education. there is not a lot of busy work, every task has a purpose. the school is very conscientious about teaching each child at their own pace..."no child left behind". conversely, students who are high achievers like my daughter are challenged & motivated. we transferred our younger daughter to oves this year for pre-k from a private school, a decision we are happy with. the faculty & staff are energetic, dedicated professionals. oves is a maritime school so the science syllabus is based on life in the Chesapeake bay, fitting given our location. 5th graders monitor oyster floats at nauticus, & participate in guiding the younger classes when they visit. students participate in fall & spring musical concerts. also noteworthy, the school is the cleanest facility I have ever seen. my husband is a military officer. when we moved to the area a few years ago we were told to live in Virginia beach because of the schools. I am sooo glad that I did my research & found oves. my husband is able to live close to his work at the naval station, we have a beautiful home & my girls are receiving a safe, solid education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2013

My daughter is in second grade, she has been going to this school since K. I have never had a problem with the teachers. Mr.Burch was her first teacher and he is a wonderful teacher. Ms. Perry is her teacher now and is a great teacher. The Vice principle and all the staff are wonderful. My daughter was having a hard time with reading and I talked with the vice principle and his team and found ways to help my daughter excell. I love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2013

This school is horrible! Do not send your children here! Teachers drag students around by their clothes and neck, and the principle does nothing about it. My child learns new language daily- things like "yo!" and "what it do". The school encourages this because "it's an inner-city" school. Ocean View is unsafe. Avoid this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2013

my son went to kindergarten here had a horrible time at times he would cry when we sent him to school. He was in trouble once to three times a month (biting , hitting etc.) when I asked the teachers how it happened, none could answer.(it was always I didn't see what happened) Three teachers 27 children per class
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2013

A very good school. The teachers are nice to the students. I love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

I don't know how this school is getting the reviews it has here. My neighbors two girls just transferred out of there. The amount of stress the teachers inflict on the children in unconsionable. They took away recess to make more time to teach the standardized test info. There are children there with eating and anxiety disorders due to the pressure put on them to just pass the test.


Posted May 10, 2013

This school seems to have a very tense, hard-edge atmosphere. A lot of the teachers seem on edge. The kids too. My son is finishing first grade, and I'm not sure I want the rest of his schooling to be like this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2013

I have very fond memories of my teachers and my time at Ocean View Elementary during WWII. When I moved to Texas to begin the 4th grade I felt like I was repeating third grade all over again.


Posted November 16, 2012

As a parent of two children who attended/attend this school, I can't speak highly enough of it. The principal is very involved and can often be seen going down the hallways and interacting with the children, knowing them by name, and asking how they are. Bullying is not tolerated and is addressed quickly and effectively. I have found that the teachers my children have had have been excellent -- my eldest daughter felt that this school really helped her get on track and raise her grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2011

I know that this not a review of the present but from a former student. One of my most memorable and influential teachers at Ocean View Elementary School (O.V.E.S.) was a Ms. Jones. She left an unforgettable impression that's still with me today. Looking back, I was an active child needing an education and direction. With Ms. Jones wagging her finger in my face, it finally kick-in, only later on in life. Thank You Ms. Jones. Was a O.V.E.S. student, along with my older, from 1954-1956, until my naval father was transferred to Spain. Am aware that a lot has past from then till now, but it was good to read the reviews that present parents have. It makes me proud to have been part of the schools growth and its present level of teaching success. Thank You


Posted April 30, 2009

My son attends Ocean View Elementary, he is a second grader. He has attended there every since Pre-K. All of his teachers have been wonderful and informative. He has really learned a lot since he has been at Ocean View Elementary. My son has continuosly been on the honor roll thanks to the excellent teachers and our stressing how important education is to succeed in life. The only problem with this school is there is no where to park to drop off or pick up your child which causes a problem with the residents across the street, traffic flow, and safety. I strongly recommend this school to any and everyone in this district or area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2008

My son, now 4th grade, has attended OV Elementary since kindergarten and we feel he is getting the best possible education he could get. The facility at OVE is absolutely top rated. My only complaint is the standard of discipline or the lack there of. Although they have discipline policies in place I feel they are vastly unimplemented and a more 'no nonsense' approach would drastically improve the quality of the overall educational experience for all of the studentbody.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2008

My daughter started attending Oceanview in 2001 as a Pre K student and she is now almost at the end of her 5th grade year. My son has attended this school since Pre K as well and he is now in the first grade. I love all of the faculty at Oceanview. They're very dedicated to the children and they provide a well rounded curriculum. We moved out of district a few years ago and I got permission from the school board just so my children could continue their education at Oceanview. My son had a problem with his speech in Pre K and was put into speech classes and I am happy to say that he no longer has any speech problems. I contribute his success to early detection by his teacher and the counselors there. In my opinion this is the best elementary school in this area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2007

I wanted my daughter to attend an elementary school where its administration and teaching staffs main focus was educating and nurturing children. Ocean View Elementary is just that school. She was a student at Ocean View from kindergarten to fifth grade, with the exception of third grade. I have nothing but great things to say about the school and it's staff! I am pleased to say that she completed her fifth grade year with many awards and accomplishments, including the President's Education Award for Outstanding Academic Achievement, Honor Roll, Outstanding Safety Patrol, and an Accelerated Reading trophy. I contribute her success at Ocean View to all the wonderful people who there from the administration to the custodial staff. Everyone who works at Ocean View becomes involved with helping the students achieve success. She is now an 8th grader at the School of International Studies, another top-rated great school in Norfolk.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 21, 2007

I have to say that OV Elementary is one of the best if not the best in the city of Norfolk! Our son graduated from there and now our daughter attends Pre-K there. From the teachers to the Principal we have nothing but excellent things to say about them all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2004

I have to admit when I found out that Oceanview was the school my daughters were going to, I had many doubts. Now that this school year is over (2003-2004), I look back and can honestly say that although there were a few 'eyebrow' raising situations, we got through them and hopefully will not have to go through them again next year. The ladies in the office are absolutely wonderful. Mrs. Boyer and Ms. Eberhart are excellent teachers, and they do really care about what is going on. Mrs. Hodges is an exceptional, and outstanding Assistant Principal, she goes more than above and beyond her duties! I pray we see her again next year. I have to thank all you wonderful ladies for all your help and support! Ms. Wright
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

Mrs. Campsen, the principal, is a wonderul educator. She is heavily involved in the school and her students. Every teacher in Oceanview is concerned and involved in their students education and well-being.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
96%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

72 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
90%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
91%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students90%
Female students98%
Male students81%
Black students96%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities80%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English91%

Math

All Students85%
Female students93%
Male students74%
Black students83%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities64%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English87%

Science

All Students94%
Female students95%
Male students94%
Black students92%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students97%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilities91%
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students78%
Female students80%
Male students76%
Black students71%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English78%

Math

All Students82%
Female students77%
Male students87%
Black students76%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students82%
Female students84%
Male students79%
Black students73%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English82%

English: Writing

All Students71%
Female students85%
Male students57%
Black students56%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students71%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English70%

Math

All Students88%
Female students92%
Male students84%
Black students72%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English88%

Science

All Students92%
Female students89%
Male students95%
Black students88%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Lauren Campsen

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9501 Mason Creek Rd
Norfolk, VA 23503
Phone: (757) 531-3105

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT