Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Oceanair Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 512 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 6, 2014

I feel sorry for anyone that has to encounter or deal with the AP in this school!!!! Nasty and unprofessional, NPS you can do better!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 23, 2013

I was getting ready to throw out the school newsletter and saw the blurp about rating the school. principal may or may not listen depends on who you are. He then may hand you to the counselor. (which is the only way to get help sometimes so I suggest you go to counselor first) Parent involvement? between the nice nasty office staff, the parernt involvement person who have no clue, and the meanest assistant principal you won't last long. After pre-k the teachers are hit or miss. There is always someone especially in cafeteria yelling at the kids. The assistant principal yell at them even with us parents there
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2013

Went to the African American History program for my grand daughter. Sat in back and listened while staff members dogged out staff and program. The children were cute but if staff don't support each other are they supporting our children.I have one granddaughter graduating this year but I wonder if my other grandaughter could do better else where.


Posted November 17, 2011

I have been a teacher at Oceanair for 3 years. I am very proud of our caring staff and administration! We go above and beyond for all of the students. We are committed to keeping out parents informed and involved. We have many family oriented after school activities and functions. We truly care about each and every one of the students succeeding academically and in life. We want our students to become citizen leaders, leading the world into new and exciting adventures. We strive to have our students think out of the box using real world situations. I honestly couldn't imagine being a teacher anywhere else. I am proud to call Oceanair Elementary my home and my family!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 13, 2011

I have been a teacher with the Norfolk Public School system for over 30 years. The last 17 years have been spent at Oceanair Elementary. We have a very hard working and dedicated staff. Their main goal is to provide quality education to ALL children while at the same time showing love and concern for their students and families in the community. We have THE BEST school in the city!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 15, 2009

My son is in the pre-k 3 program. Ever since he started he comes home everyday tallking about how he can't wait tio go back the following day. They are so good with him especially with him having food allergies, his teacher is very careful and always checks with me before giving him something. The school is great on so many levels, to much to list.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2009

My granddaughter attended kindergarten for the 07-08 year. The teachers were great. The office was helpful. The overall attitude of the school is working to make the students sucessful. My granddaughter was reading books at the end of the year and now reads well above grade level. This is an excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2009

I have three children attending Oceanair. My oldest is in 2nd grade, my middle child is in K and my youngest is in the 4 year old PreK. So far I have had wonderful experiences with their teachers. If i have a concern I feel fine going to them and talking about it and I feel they really listen. However, the staff in the front office I have found to be extremely rude. Everytime I have gone in I have had to wait for personal phone calls to end, gossiping with other people to end and them when I do have their attention, i am treated horribly. I have never been spoke to with such disrespect. So i guess in conclusion, i love the teachers (so far), my children love going, but the people in the office are horrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2007

My son was in the Pre-K(3) program for the 2006-2007 school year. Since the new principal took over, it seems like a much better place. The Pre-K program is great. My son loved it. The teachers are really good. There is quite a lot of parental involvement in the Pre-K program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

Thus far, this seems to be ok. Although I have a Pre-K child, there is an absence of structural academia that I am not privy to. However, my child is thrilled to be there, and I am happy with her progress to date. It's still early yet. But this appears to be a school that cares about the progress and scholatic development of children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2004

My son has had 3 teachers in 2 weeks of school, My other sons teacher does not even question why he was late or ask for a paper. The principal is very rude and not parent friendly which makes it difficult to feel comfortable in talking to her regarding any issues, which is the way I believe she wants it. She claims to be this principal that cares so much and 'No child left behind' would she really care if a child was left behind? I am very dissastisfied with this supposedly accredited elementary school and I would not recommend this school to anyone who cares about they're childs future!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2004

Since the new principal arrived, the school has taken a turn for the better. My child is happier and the teachers are smiling. It truly feels like a school now, it never did before. Wonderful after school and saturday programs! Great teachers, great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2003

With the new Principal in place this school is having a lot of growing pains! It seems like no one wants to be here. Lots of good teachers are gone and have been replaced with 'long term subs' Keep looking for a better school.....
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
72%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

49 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
82%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
86%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
81%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students71%
Female students75%
Male students67%
Black students72%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
White students80%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English69%

Math

All Students50%
Female students48%
Male students52%
Black students33%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities56%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English48%

Science

All Students77%
Female students81%
Male students74%
Black students67%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students72%
Female students82%
Male students63%
Black students67%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students75%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English74%

Math

All Students70%
Female students61%
Male students78%
Black students71%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students65%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students67%
Female students55%
Male students74%
Black students63%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students80%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English72%

English: Writing

All Students41%
Female students48%
Male students37%
Black students30%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students62%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities47%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English42%

Math

All Students66%
Female students62%
Male students68%
Black students44%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English63%

Science

All Students75%
Female students77%
Male students74%
Black students64%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Lawrence Taylor

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

600 Dudley Ave
Norfolk, VA 23503
Phone: (757) 531-3095

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT