Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Norfolk, VA
Students enrolled: 885
 

3 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ruffner Middle School 1

Posted September 16, 2014
- a parent
Ruffner school has a behavior problem, I feel guilty as a parent because my daughter goes there. Some of the teachers are unprofessional, please watch what area you move to or your child will be attending a juvenile delinquent center

Ruffner Middle School 1

Posted April 25, 2013
- a community member
Ruffner Middle School is disgusting, the bathrooms usually flood in the locker room and in the bathrooms in the hallways. The councilors know little to nothing about programs. Last year, there were snakes in the girls locker room. There is also a large amount or racism and prejudice towards the Young Scholars Program, since there is mostly Caucasians in the program. Those who aren't in the program can be mean to the YS students when they get answers wrong on tests.


Ruffner Middle School 5

Posted December 21, 2010
- a community member
I attended the old Ruffner back in the 40's. Have no idea what the "academic standing" was, I just remember it as a positive experience. Mr. S. A. MacDonald was the Principal.

Ruffner Middle School 1

Posted October 20, 2010
- a parent
FACT: iN 2009-2010, Ruffner Academy was ranked 2nd to last in academic acheivement among all middle schools in the state of Virginia! The principal was fired and there is an improvement team from Johns Hopkins University on site to help bring the school up to standard. This abysmal ranking is a matter of public record. Don't send your child here unless he/she is a part of the Young Scholars program.

Ruffner Middle School 5

Posted August 23, 2010
- a parent
My daughter is a student going to 7th grade in the 2010-2011 school year and participates in the prestigious Young Scholars Program there. We are both equally satisfied with the great education she has been getting at Ruffner and I completely disagree with the poor rating this franchise has stricken upon that school. The list stating things that "A great school has..." is a near perfect match to the quality of Ruffner and that may never go away because of the many "challenging programs", "strong leadership", and "excellent teachers" there.


Ruffner Middle School 5

Posted March 02, 2010
- a community member
I am a Tiderwater Community College Student. I am in several college classes with the Middle College High School students. Many are on the Dean's List, and by the time they grqduate High School, they will have an Associate's Degree. I think it's a wonderful opertunity, and I wish I had the chance to do the same.

Ruffner Middle School 2

Posted May 15, 2009
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Ruffner Middle School 4

Posted October 02, 2006
- a parent
I am aunt to a Ruffner Middle School student, and have been most impressed by the faculty and facility as a whole. The Ruffner name was not a positive reference years ago, but I am pleased to say that such association has changed for the better! Every teacher I've met has been an absolute pleasure to deal with. They provided detailed and informative updates on my nephew's progress and behavior, and opened their classrooms and personal schedules to our entire family whenever specific issues had to be addressed. These professional men and women truly believe in each child - regardless of their home environment or background, and that drive and personal committment is evident in their interaction with my nephew and others.


Ruffner Middle School 5

Posted September 01, 2006
- a student
I think that ruffner middle is an awesome school. The teachers there are just wonderful to the kids. In fact there is a teacher by the name of Ms.Bailey-Scott and she was voted norfolk public schools teacher of the year and was also awarded with an award by Thelma Drake. Ms.Bailey-Scott also has never received a lower than i believe a 97 percent pass rate on the Algebra Sols. There is also A Young Scholars program for gifted students in Norfolk that has also brung the school's rating up. The 2005-2006 basketball team also made it to the championship;the girls one and the boys lost. The school is also very safe even though there may be a couple of rowdy kids.Just because Ruffner may not have had a great past doesn't mean that they can't have a wonderful future.

Ruffner Middle School 4

Posted February 19, 2006
- a student
i think Ruffner middle school is really ghetto. i think the kids there are very violent and the parents just don't care. the teachers really try to help the kids. they have a lot of different extra after school activities and sports. the teachers stay after school to let students make up tests and work and catch up on work they missed.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ruffner Middle School
610 May Ave., Norfolk, VA  23504
(757) 628-2466
Last modified Ruffner Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ruffner Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top