Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sewells Point Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 657 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 11, 2014

My kids are in their 2nd year starting in September at Sewell's and I just think this school is by far the best school I've seen. The teachers, Counselors, and Faculty are all very nice. I recommend this school to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

this school is pieceful ,fun, and loven.if i had cousens i would devinnoly tell them to go to the most wanted scool if we win then it will be the most wanted school
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 17, 2013

Both my older children go to Sewell's Point Elementary and I believe it's a outstanding school with great potential. My oldest has been at Sewell's Point since 2nd grade and he is now in 5th grade. He was previously at Creekside Elememtary in Suffolk and was doing okay academically. He has definitely blossomed after being at Sewell's Point. My youngest had some learning issues in preschool and was afraid of his performance in elementary. However he is doing great and he had a wonderful kindergarten and first grade teacher (Ms. Harvey and Mrs. Wayne). The teachers here are the best around and are very involved. My oldest had went to three elementary schools before starting here (military moves) and this has been such a great experience for him. The only issue I have is the lack of a full-time nurse. They currently share a nurse with another elementary school and both my kids have severe food allergies, so that doesn't enlighten me too much. My youngest also has asthma. Thankfully I work down the street however that is acceptable for the school not having a fulltime nurse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2013

I have three daughters attending this school so I have been in contact with many teachers and staff, and they are all very professional and helpful. The principal and vice principal are always accessible and friendly. The IEP process was quick and efficiently done. The curriculum is challenging and engages the students. It is a good school, it has some outstanding teachers, and your child will learn a lot here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2012

My children have been attending Sewells Point since 2007 and I must say that I have no real complaints about the school. Ms. Wrushen and Ms. Harvey do a fantastic job in resolving any issues you may have. The comment the last review made was offensive. My family is an enlisted navy family so by anyone saying the reason why someone might be turned off from the school based on military affiliation is rude and very obnoxious. Yes there are a lot of military children in general at Sewells Point that's because of the 2 large military housing communities the school serves that doesn't make it good nor bad, just unique. The teachers go far and beyond to help make your child's educational experience fun, exciting and challenging!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2012

We are a navy officer family and our child goes to this school. He is receiving a comparable education to the one he received in Middletown, RI and far better than the magnet schools in Jacksonville, FL. The principal does an outstanding job with the students. The curriculum is challenging. I think a lot of people are turned off by the school because there are quite a few enlisted families at the school. Norfolk public schools are definitely improving. We have been very pleased thus far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2010

This has got to be the worst dirtiest school my child has ever attended. The principal and the front office staff definently need some people skills training. You walk in there and they act like you are bothering them. If your child is being bullied they have this thing called "conflict mediation" that does not work because parent cannot get involved or allowed to sit with their child during the meeting. I know my child was bullied. Employees take it upon themselves to call your place of employment to complain to your boss about you if you question them. It's a horrible school and the staff has no control over the students. Stay away from this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2010

I love the assistant principle and the principle is not too bad either. However, i feel the teachers are lacking in the ability to handle children with different learning styles and unwilling to take time with the children. There are no extra curricular activities until 5 grade. Students are exposed to many different cultures due to the military families that surround the school. This is a great plus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2007

Our children(3) have attended this school for 5 years and we have been extrememly pleased with the education and experiences gained from the teachers and staff. With a few exceptions(who are no longer teaching) the teachers have been caring, attentive, and responsive to our childrens individual needs and learning style.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2006

My son has been at Sewell's Point for 3 years now and has really done well. They have many programs and events that contribute to the kids learning experience. It is mostly a Military family school. Great school though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2005

I think this school has great potential. Our test scores are great. The academics programs are great as well. The availabilty of music art and P.E are available 5 days a week to all students. As with all schools, we could use more parent involvement in the schools. We need more parent volunteers in and out of school. My son has been there since kindergarten and he is now in 3rd grade. Every year gets better and better. Great Job to Sewells Point Teachers and Staff and Great job to the kids. Keep up the great work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2004

The teachers are great, the vice principal could really work on her people skills to say the least,my biggest concern with is the number of children on iep plans or with leraning disabilities. They take way too many feild trips as well. It is nice that they get out to enjoy things but when they can hardly read is that what they should really be doing. I know the stand. test are not there because of the school itself so they have to roll with the punches, but lets remember we are saying we have a no child left behind act but 50 percent of the school seems to have a disability of somesort so is it really fair? I am thinking maybe not.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
82%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

96 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
88%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
91%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students86%
Female students82%
Male students91%
Black students86%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic91%
Multiracial71%
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities78%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English87%

Math

All Students71%
Female students62%
Male students81%
Black students68%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracial64%
White students78%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities71%
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English72%

Science

All Students90%
Female students85%
Male students95%
Black students94%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic91%
Multiracial79%
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities82%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students81%
Female students84%
Male students79%
Black students74%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial100%
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities69%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English82%

Math

All Students84%
Female students84%
Male students83%
Black students77%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial91%
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities69%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students79%
Female students79%
Male students80%
Black students84%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial80%
White students77%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities59%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English81%

English: Writing

All Students78%
Female students77%
Male students80%
Black students77%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial100%
White students70%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities58%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English78%

Math

All Students75%
Female students62%
Male students83%
Black students70%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial100%
White students73%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities53%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English76%

Science

All Students94%
Female students90%
Male students96%
Black students94%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial91%
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities82%
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7928 Hampton Blvd
Norfolk, VA 23505
Phone: (757) 451-4160

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT