Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sherwood Forest Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 655 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 24, 2014

My son has challenges and we decided to take him out of private school and send him to public school in the middle of kindergarten. Although he had a rough year, we felt encouraged that both the teachers and administration were so attentive and involved. Although the class size was larger than his previous school, I really felt that when I spoke with the teachers, they all knew my son well and wanted him to succeed just as much as we did. There are things that I don't like, too. They're communication is outdated (not much use of email or websites) and I found that there isn't much parental involvement, but overall we're impressed with the school and the faculty. My son is now in first grade and he's improved so much thanks to the open communication with his teachers and staff. I would absolutely recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2013

This school has been great, my daughter's teacher Ms.Barnes has been a great influence and role model. My daughter went from disliking and struggling in math and at the end of the year my daughter had pulled her grade up to a 'B'. My daughter now has the tools to figure out any math problem that our family has thrown at her. KUDOS TO THE STAFF AT THE SHERWOOD FOREST.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2011

i have found the very same thing as other parents! teachers who act like robots, kids who are allowed to bully the good children by getting a slap on the wrist...and if you stand your ground with them & DEFEND yourself you're just as wrong, doesn't seem fair. i have also found teachers who are ready to respond to giving kids meds to make them behave or focus by being pushy to parents & asking them to put them on something, whatever happened to good old fashioned discipline? whatever happened to taking a personal approach to their students, this school system SUCKS! & so does the school itself
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

I have been very pleased with this school, my son has a very nice teacher, he is in Pre-k this year. All of the teacher are nice and he comes home everyday saying that he had so much fun with his teacher. All the of the parents are nice and he has made so many new friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

No probs here! My child attended 3 years and went on to Meadowbrook. I think that the kids should do most of the work at home as long as they are learning in class. It's the teachers job to teach and the parents/students job to follow up at home with take home work. I do wish the musical programs were a little better. My child was able to participate in different extracurricular programs and continues to do so in Jr. High. Sometimes it's not the school to blame. By no means am I a perfect parent and I don't know what the situation is with the other parents that have made reviews, but again, no complaints here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2008

I was very unhappy with this school. My children have attended for the last three years, and it has gotten progressively worse. While there are some teachers who really seem to take an interest, most are lazy and want all the work done at home. They don't care about the children or their education. The children absolutely hate their new principle, and bullies are allowed to get away with anything. I can't wait to take my children out of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2006

I was very unimpressed with this school. A lot of the children fighting and kids are unable to concentrate to do their best when teachers are yelling all the time. Discipline was very low so children continued to misbehave. I withdrew my children from this school and would not recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2005

I like Sherwood Forest. Doctor Harris is wonderful.She listens and tries to help out the students and parents. I think that some people feel like the P.T.A. is for snooty people . Some parents have little time for anything . Never mind going to P.T.A. Meetings. They feel like it is a forced issue to join. That goes for the P.T.A. at any school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2005

I agree that the school is working towards the right goals. They have some good teachers who genuinely care about the students. Parental involvement would improve the struggle their children go through to learn.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2004

The school itself is trying very hard to put together a great education program. The parents however are not helping. Out of 700 students only about 200 hundred parents are PTA members. There is not enough parent involvement to help this school succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
84%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

97 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
79%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
86%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
83%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students59%
Female students63%
Male students53%
Black students57%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students41%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities25%
Students without disabilities64%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English57%

Math

All Students41%
Female students44%
Male students37%
Black students36%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students45%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities8%
Students without disabilities46%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English39%

Science

All Students66%
Female students71%
Male students58%
Black students64%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students57%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students45%
Female students46%
Male students45%
Black students36%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic20%
Multiracial45%
White students70%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities10%
Students without disabilities54%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English43%

Math

All Students46%
Female students47%
Male students45%
Black students31%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracial36%
White students70%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities58%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students56%
Female students62%
Male students51%
Black students55%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial45%
White students53%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities15%
Students without disabilities64%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English56%

English: Writing

All Students57%
Female students60%
Male students54%
Black students47%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial55%
White students73%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities7%
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English57%

Math

All Students54%
Female students56%
Male students52%
Black students44%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial64%
White students63%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities8%
Students without disabilities63%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English53%

Science

All Students77%
Female students74%
Male students79%
Black students68%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial91%
White students73%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities23%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3035 Sherwood Forest Lane
Norfolk, VA 23513
Phone: (757) 852-4500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT