Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Suburban Park Elementary School 5

Posted February 23, 2016
- a parent
My son attends school at Suburban Park in their Pre K 4 program. His teachers Mrs. Luc & Ms. Camp are amazing women! They truly care about all of their students.

Suburban Park Elementary School 1

Posted February 10, 2016
- a parent
The quality of education and priorities the administration takes towards the welfare and education of the students is startling. My child went to the school and described bi-weekly "lockdown" or fire drills, while at the end of the day they simply escort the children outside and let them go when whomever is there to pick them up. The teachers my child had were generally good and seemed to care about the welfare and progress of the children. We spoke with the principal one afternoon about things we felt were lacking at the school, but were told if we were unhappy with the way the school is run, we should take our child to the Christian school down the street. We're Jewish.


Suburban Park Elementary School 1

Posted May 07, 2014
- a parent
All 3 of my children have gone to this school, 2 are still there. I myself went to this school along with my 4 sisters who range in age up to 40 years old. I purposely moved into the district since it was such an amazing school when I attended. I am starting to regret that now. It has definitely changed for the worst. My children who have never had bad grades before, are now failing. When I tell them to raise their hand and ask for help if they don't understand something, they say that they do but the teacher tells them to put their hand down & brushes them off. The principal is very distant from the kids & doesn't seem to care about them at all. I cannot count how many times my boys have been bullied & actually beat up. Also how many meetings I've had with that same principal, where she did absolutely nothing about it. Most of the bullying takes place on the bus, where there cameras. So I don't see why nothing is being done. It's pretty ludicrous if you ask me. Especially with all the schools supposedly cracking down on bullying. My kids beg me to stay home almost everyday. Lack of money keeps me from moving again, so I guess we're stuck

Suburban Park Elementary School 5

Posted June 30, 2013
- a community member
I don't know how you are but this school is awesome and the teacher are involved

Suburban Park Elementary School 1

Posted May 28, 2013
- a parent
I have two children that attend this school I have never been to a school that so unorganized. Also that the parents has to provide things for your kids to go on a field trip. I am also very upset that I filled out for a background check in mar and now it is almost june and still havn't recieve it so I can't attend my kids field trips. You ask the teachers question they are totally lost.


Suburban Park Elementary School 1

Posted February 29, 2012
- a parent
This school is terrible. The fact they don't make the grades to get funding speaks volumes on both the teachers, administrators and parents. I am deeply concerned about my child's welfare going to this school. I had tried to get him out but to no avail, i didn't meet the criteria. My child's education is by far one of the most important things to me and the fact i'm stuck at this school is disheartening. The teachers are a joke with no communication skills and the principal does not seem to care about others opinions and ideas if they don't coincide with hers. The kids do not go to the library or computer lab as a punishment, so learning is a punishment.?!? No matter what my child WILL NOT attend next year.

Suburban Park Elementary School 1

Posted February 26, 2012
- a community member
My grandson goes to this school. He is in the gifted program, which at his old school meant something. At Suburban, it means nothing. His teacher is flat out mean to children. I have witnessed this personally. Bullying is a big problem, too. The principal is uninvolved. The grades at this school are substandard. Communications from the teacher are HORRIBLE. You might as well just guess at what is happening at the school. It's very frustrating. To top it off, my grandson came home with a flyer inviting parents to come to a meeting where they could learn how to keep their child out of prison (among other ridiculous things). My grandson CAN read this for Pete's sake! I find this very inappropriate. It could have been mailed. Bottom line: My daughter will NOT be buying that house in THIS school district. Parents who care should really do some research into this school before they send their kids here. My bright, outgoing grandson went from a kid who loved school to a kid who dreads it everyday.

Suburban Park Elementary School 5

Posted January 11, 2012
- a parent
I have 2 children that attend Suburban Park and I absolutely love this school. I was not thrilled about purchasing uniforms before school started but I am truly happy that evey child is considered an equal. I love the teachers and the principle (who taught me when I was in elementary school).


Suburban Park Elementary School 2

Posted May 05, 2011
- a parent
My son had to transfer to SPES due to us moving and I had heard great things about it. Well to my surprise I became quickly disappointed w/ this school. They never hand out info/flyers for the parents that need to be sent home unlike other schools. You CAN'T walk your child to class. You must ask for the lunch forms when they should be given out at the beginning of the school year. The principal seems like she don't care that much about the school or kids, I have never seen so little involvement by a principal in my life time. They say they want parent involvement but everything has to be by appointment or volunteering. The only thing I can say that is good about this school is my son's teacher and I have a great teacher and parent relationship. The vice principal seems like she cares a lot more then the principal. I wish I could transfer my son back to his old school which is Crossroads Elem. School he did so much better there...and it's just a walk away for us.

Suburban Park Elementary School 4

Posted May 25, 2010
- a parent
I am overall happy with the school, it has lost some of the quality it had over the past few years and I am not thrilled about the uniforms next year. But the school looses points with me with parent involvement. The school wont let you walk your kids to class and doesnt seem as open to having parents visit the classroom or have lunch with their child.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Suburban Park Elementary School
310 Thole St, Norfolk, VA  23505
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (757) 531-3118
Last modified Suburban Park Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top