Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Private
Norfolk, VA
Students enrolled: 132

3 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Calvary Christian School 1

Posted May 11, 2011
- a parent
Calvary has decided to limit its education of children to elementary school. I think this was the best choice for them. Their educational system after the 5th grade was horrible. The staff is highly unqualified, the administrator is unorganized, unrealistic, and MacBeth failed to be involved after his own kids left the school. My son is leaving for another school and he is far behind his peers at the new school. A sound parental decision is not to send your children to this school.

Calvary Christian School 5

Posted March 08, 2011
- a parent
I love this school! My son is in kindergarten and the teacher is wonderful! She teaches the children everything they need to know and even more than she is required to choose. I love the people and will continue to help them strive to be better.


Calvary Christian School 2

Posted February 01, 2011
- a parent
My child attended Calvary Christian School System from K4 through 1st grade and had an excellent early education experience and I was a VERY involved parent. BUT after 1st grade the school is a disorganized and below standard mess. After 1st grade, more than half of the students in my child's 1st grade class (there were 2 classes) did not return the following school year, due to the decline of quality teachers/education. Like I said earlier, I was a VERY involved parent, so I'm not speaking a bystander, but from first had experience. I have seen many quality teachers walk away due to school management and from extremely low pay. The school has let go of the Gifted Resource teacher, because they didn't feel her services were needed and the Media Resource teacher has left because of the above named problems. I ask you, how a school can be educationally sound if you don't have a Gifted Resource and a Media teacher and many of your high quality teachers have left. Parents beware and do your research before choosing this school; it's not what it used to be.

Calvary Christian School 1

Posted December 07, 2009
- a community member
I am a former student of Calvary. Elementary School gave a firm foundation. However when I switched schools after middle school I was academically crippled. I had to relearn everything. The high school and middle school are choatic and not well organized.

Calvary Christian School 4

Posted August 10, 2009
- a parent
I can definitly see the difference in my son since he has been attending. I feel it is a great investment in his future!


Calvary Christian School 4

Posted March 27, 2009
- a parent
Academics-The adminisration and staff strive for excellence. In the high school the teacher/student ratio is great. the teachers listened to the sudents when they said they were not being challenged. Teachers tutor after school when necessary. The students have good relationships with the teachers. Socially-The students are typical teenagers with girl drama and competiveness, but as a whole they are good students who are being taught how to handle social situations from a biblical stand point. extra curricular activites- The student body is small so there are some things there's just not enoght people to do. But where there are activities like basketball, soccer, track, volleyball, the students do well in them. As a parent- some of the things I like the most is that I've never since my child was in 5th grade seen a student smoke, there is no profanity or graffit on the walls, good PTC and overall great

Calvary Christian School 5

Posted August 02, 2008
- a parent
I highly recommend this school as an excellent source of education!!

Calvary Christian School 4

Posted January 12, 2005
- a staff
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Calvary Christian School
2331 East Little Creek Road, Norfolk, VA  23518
(757) 480-4400
Last modified Calvary Christian School is a Private school that serves grades PK-5
Calvary Christian School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top