Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Ocean View Christian Academy

Private | PK-8 | 70 students

We are best known for academic excellence! Also high achievement scores.
 
 

 

Living in Norfolk

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $151,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $870.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 10 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

My son is in third grade and attended last year for second grade as well. My son has excelled in all areas, academically and personally. The teachers, principal, assistant principal and the entire staff, all whom work there are caring, wonderful people who want the best for each child. My son loves going to school. The teaching and curriculum makes sense and results in learning that is impressive and has exceeded our expectations. My son is safe and I have peace of mind that he is cared for and protected. This school is a huge blessing for our family. The teachers go above and beyond to make sure each child is successful. They see each child as individuals and engage the students in a way that makes learning exciting. Don't be fooled by other school's bells and whistles. I feel this truly is the best school in the area! The small class size is a huge bonus! They have a great recycling program that helps kids understand that recycling is important. They have spirit week each year which is so much fun for the kids. They really do a lot of special things throughout the year for the kids that the kids really have fun with and appreciate. I recommend this school without hesitation!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

My daughter is in the 2 year old Pre-K class and has begun reading 3 letter words. The time that each of the teachers take with each student is remarkable!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

OVCA is an excellent place for a PreK foundation to get my kids started on their education. Both my children have had wonderful teachers. Now I am privileged to work there myself. The staff truly cares for each child and adult that has an association with the school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 7, 2014

With a comitment to learning and to the lord our school is awesome! They are always doing fun things with the kids comming up with creative education. Our daughter loves her teachers and so do we. They keep us informed of everything going on with news letters, emails both from teachers and administrative personel. They provide a safe and friendly environment both for school and church. After care oportunities, field trips, and a school of the arts all available under one roof! There truelly a blessing, and helpful. Parent involvment is very important to them, and help provide needs for the school through donation and fundraising. We love OVCA!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2014

When we first moved to VA we looked for a school and this one stood out. Very small school with the average being 10 kids per class
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2014

AMAZING SCHOOL! My husband and I have had our child in this Academy for about two years now. We love the atmosphere and everyone (Parents and Teachers) really do care for our family. The academy is Military friendly and understands the struggles the parents and students can go through with the military lifestyle. Last year when my husband deployed, one of the teachers placed a map to track the parents on deployment so all the children can talk about it and realized that their friends are going through the same thing. We have never felt more welcome to be a part of something then I do here. It s one of the best decisions we have ever made for our child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2013

Both of my children have been attending OVCA for the past 4 years. I love the caring, nurturing environment that they are in daily and my daughter has progressed so much more than she ever did in the public education system. I would highly recommend this school to anyone looking for a Christ centered education for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2012

Selecting this school for our 2 1/2 year old was the best decision my husband and I ever made. After a month enrolled the school, I realized how glorified babysitting at a daycare was not a good option. The Pre-K program has taught her to listen, take direction, count, and identify letters, know all colors and shapes, it's amazing! The structure is actually the best part, children crave structure and our daughter shows it, I have not had any issues dropping her off in the morning, she loves it! The uniforms have been very easy for myself as well, I don't have to think about what she's going to wear each day and 5 uniforms are suitably for all seasons.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2012

I have two little ones in the Pre-K program one in Pre-K 2 1/2 and one in Pre-K 4. My "baby" is counting everything, and recognizes almost all her letters and the years not even over!! My pre-K 4 year old CAN READ!!! I am not saying she can sit down and read a novel by any means BUT she can read simple books like "i like stars" she learns so much from her teacher i cant say enough!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2011

My son 3 year old attended this school for about 2 months and my husband and I felt it wasn't a good fit for him. He was expected to sit down and do classwork but he wasn't ready for this type of structure. When we would pick him up we would get negative feedback from his teacher ("he had a terrible day" or "he was horrible"). The overall environment was nurturing and the other parents seemed to appreciate it. I had a hard time with my perceived lack of flexibility.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2011

My view of OVCA is it's Christian school that is founded in family and community values. The PreK-3 program provides an introduction to daily school routines in a fun, supportive & caring way, as the students are introduced to the basics of learning. The PreK-4 program provides an academic education that makes learning fun & exciting as the students learn to read & write count, add & subtract along with experiencing basic science & art. The Kind. through 6th grades creat a challenging, yet rewarding academic program, where the students test out one to two grades advanced of their present class year.The school on a whole is involved in reclycling programs and various fund raisers.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 7, 2011

i am a former student of ocean view christian academy and I highly reccomend this school to anyone who wants their child to have a good education and surround themselves with people who genuinelly care about you and your children.


Posted June 4, 2011

As a previous teacher with 2 children that have been in the academy, I find that everyone is highly qualified and willing and able to go above and beyond the call of duty. Both of my children have tested on their achievement tests in the 90th percentile and above. Academics are a high priority at this school. Christ is number one in the heart of the teachers and the leadership. I would recommend this school to everyone.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 3, 2011

My son is becoming a caring and responsible young man because of the "village" at OVCA. He has responded to the teachers and staff in a way that truly has blessed our whole family. Thank you OVCA for all you have done already. We are looking forward to next school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2011

My child has attended OVCA for the past five years, and has blossomed since the very beginning. Compared to the education and support he received in public school, his growth both spiritually, educationally, and socially at OVCA has been amazing. The loving staff of teachers and volunteers has made OVCA as much a family as an excellent educational institution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2011

My children went to Ocean View Christian Academy for one year. If the military had not moved us from the area we would still be there. The education was top notch and the teaching staff and administration went far beyond what we expected of them. The teachers did an excellent job in the class room and both of my children were ahead of their classmates when they moved on to their next school. I would highly recommend this school to anyone looking for QUALITY CHRISTIAN EDUCATION. Compared to the larger private schools in the area, their prices were excellent., and I highly recommend you check them out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2011

I am a parent of two children attending OCVA. One is in Pre-K and the other in 6th grade. Both children have had excellent opportunities for growth and success provided by their teachers and administrators. Quoted from my 6th grader, "I like my school because of the small numbers and challenging curriculum. I am able to get the help I need if something is hard for me. I also like the activities we do. My teacher cares about us and about our success!" Quoted from my Pre-Kinder, "I like playing with my friends and all the fun stuff we do!" All-in-all I have to say we are pleased and continue to support OCVA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2011

I am a proud parent of an OVCA preK student. I boast to everyone about the quality of education my child has received. I have watched my child's skills, both social and educational blossom in this past year. We are excited for the next school year to begin. OVCA has wonderful teachers and staff alike that care not only about the student, but also about the parents and other family members. I am proud to be a member of the OVCA community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2011

Ocean View Christian Academy (OVCA) has been a blessing sent from God to our family. My grandson came to live with us when he was in the sixth grade; He is now completing the 11th grade this June. OVCA is a small family of caring people; the church members, pastors, Welcome Center volunteers, staff, former staff, teachers and former teachers have helped my grandson become successful academically, spiritually, and feel a part of this "extended family". Thanks to OVCA, my grandson scored Post Highschool (PST) on all of his recent Stanford Academic tests. He plans to go to college after next year, his senior year at OVCA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2010

I have had both of my children at the academy for over 5 years. I am very pleased with their education. The teachers are very qualified and have a very caring attitude toward the children. I have found that this attitude goes beyond the school hours. If a child is behind in a subject, many times they are willing to stay after school hours and tutor children in their work. I would recommend this school to any who wants a christian education for their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Amy Dunnavant
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
  • www.ovcacademy.com
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (757) 583-5706

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • ABEKA Curriculum
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Our focus is academic excellence. We provide P.E. classes everyday. Spanish is taught everyday. We also offer music and computer classes on alternating days.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


5 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
74
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
150

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$4000 - $5000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
No.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Granby High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9504 Selby Pl
Norfolk, VA 23503
Website: Click here
Phone: (757) 583-1808

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT