Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Flint Hill School

Private | PK-12 | 1100 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Special education

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 
 

Living in Oakton

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $649,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 11, 2014

The school is academically fine but not great. I feel that there is more focus on rules and regulations than really educating. For example, in high school, students sometimes do not get back their tests to learn their mistakes for fear of sharing their tests with others. Socially this is a very conservative school and not a great fit for all. It is a tough atmosphere for new students as families and students keep to themselves and one must really make an effort to make friends. As a result, the school doesn't really know how to handle the social scene and has gone and hired a director of diversity to solve this issue. Little will change as its the community which is so conservative. If you are in to sports, it is a good environment but its really not a great school for the arts and theatre as much as it claims to be. The school is really trying to make technology their main focus but doesn't still offer coding as one of their science requirements. Most teachers are very caring but over the years, the better teachers have only stayed at the school just about two or three years maximum. If I were to repeat it all over, I am not sure I would send my kid here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

With average academics, an uninspiring campus (no cafeteria, low library volume, no real playground - kids play on blacktop parking lot), this middle and lower school seem to have lost their way. With tuition skyrocketing, families are fleeing. A new MS director seems to have made things worse; the school needs a better leader with more experience and skills. The leadership either does not recognize the need to improve or is not acknowledging it. Either way FHS has an odd character to it where the school puts the needs and interests of its administrators above its students and families. HS may be better. A safe, friendly spot to put your children if you are not from the U.S., not paying tuition yourself, have a child with a learning disability, are here a short time or academics/child development are not that important to you. Also if you are on faculty (much reduced tuition.) Otherwise, keep looking. This MS and ES are not nearly worth their enormous price tag, a disappointment to many long time families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2014

My daughter has been at the school for over 2 years. We are an international family and have traveled a lot with our children. FHS is a very international school. The different nationalities and cultures represented at FHS made it easy for my daughter to find friends. I had concerns about the intense technical nature of the curriculum, but I now see it is excellent preparation for my daughter college career. She has learned to measure out her work and discriminate among websites for research projects. Lastly, the teachers at FHS are very well and broadly educated, providing excellent intellectual models for our students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2013

Flint Hill school mainstreams gifted children with different learning styles. Our daughter scores very high in all areas tested, but struggles with focusing while in class. She bores easily, and needs a stimulating environment. Her psychologist suggested Flint Hill, and we couldn't be happier. Although she is not starting until this fall, we are already impressed with the school on many levels. Very warm and engaging headmaster.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2013

My daughter has been a student at Flint Hill for the past seven years. My daughter has a passion for all things math and science, and we find that Flint Hill course keeps her engaged. The curiculum is very demanding and taught by excellent teachers. As a military family, it was very important to find a school that would make our daughter filled safe and appreciated. Flint Hill has an excellent program and Top Notch Teachers/school administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2013

My children have been at this school for 11 years and it has been nothing short of amazing. No school is perfect but this school is as close as you can get. Small class sizes great teachers and a fantastic differentiated learning program. When I talk to parents of children that have moved on to college they all say the same thing about Flint Hill: "Their children were well prepared" not sure if a school can receive a higher compliment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2012

Flint Hill is an easy school in the Lower school and middle school. I haven't been to the upper school. I mean 1/2 of the grad got A's in all subject in 5th and 6th grade and 1/4 of the class got A's in all subjects for seventh through eighth grade. It has one of the best Latin programs, a strong English and Social studies program, an okay math program; however lacks in Science. Sports are decent there. I would definitely go there if you are looking to be a lawyer, or something that English or social studies can help.


Posted October 24, 2012

Our child was at Flint Hill for 4 years. We were told in the Spring of 8th grade that we were not going to be accepted into the upper school. Our child was originally admitted to Flint Hill knowing we would be using the Learning Center. The school is changing direction & does not really want these children. They instead 'council them out'. Don't be fooled to spend your time or money with them if your child has any learning processing issues. Our child is doing well in his new school & we couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2012

fhs is awesome!! i'm in 8th grade, and i've been here since 1st grade, and the transitions from each grade are very well done. the work gets harder in 7th and 8th grade, but nothing unbearable. i have a sister who graduated just this previous year, and she is amazed by the teachers of flint hill, and how much they really do care. this is the same case for me - i've probably had ONE teacher whom i don't like, and the same for my sister. the price one must pay for flint hill is expensive, but DEFINITELY worth it.


Posted December 15, 2010

This school has been amazing for me. It has 5 different language courses, band, chorus, percussion, and even orchestra! Academics there are of the hook! They are challenging but very rewarding! It is a very safe environment and haven't seen any bullying or harassment. Flint Hill school is top notch.


Posted April 20, 2009

My child is just finishing 1st grade, We've been very happy with his progress! It's a tough school but has very supportive and nurturing teachers. It's well worth the money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2009

I am currently a freshman in high school at flint hill, and i have been here since sixth grade. I am not going to lie, the school is very tough. But, it brought me away from easy schools and bending teachers to an environment of tough but helpful teachers. I have gotten the best (and worst) grades of my life while at this school. I have learned a lot, and, after taking the French II Honors class, I took the trip to Paris, and I was able to communicate above average with people there. I recommend this school to anybody looking for a challenge, and a good education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 1, 2008

I just graduated from Flint Hill, and it's a good school but it definitely has its faults. In terms of academics, you can definitely find a challenging curriculum if you look for it. I did very well and took the Honors/AP track, and I felt like it really prepared me for college well. One thing that Flint Hill does have is some truly amazing teachers, and if you as a student establish close relationships with them, you will reap great benefits from Flint Hill. Sometimes I felt like Flint Hill put too much focus on the people who were struggling, and while there is a good program for people who have differentiated learning styles, it can be annoying (and sometimes unfair) for students who don't have those problems.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 17, 2008

My child just graduated from Flint Hill. He is brilliant but struggled with school. Flint Hill brought out his strengths and taught him to cope with his weaknesses. He was accepted into all of his stretch schools. Kid have been accepted from Flint Hill into Stanford, Harvard, Princeton. It is a very tough curriculum and yet a very nurturing school. Although very expensive, it was the best experience for him. I can't recommend it highly enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2007

Flint Hill provides a wonderful, caring environment for it's students. It's differentiated approach to learning styles allow every kid to succeed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2006

This is an exceptional school with initial focus on nurturing the whole child. It is more academically challenging in the higher grades. The school handles all types of learners reaching out to the level of the child. The art, music, science and physical education programs are outstanding! It offers the right balance and has a wonderfully supportive community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2005

Great school with strong focus on academia.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2005

One thing that separates this school from others is the differentiate learning. Children learn at their own paces, which can be fast. In Kindergarten some kids know how to read simple books, others are just learning their alphabet, an the teachers handle the differences well. There is a very loving and supporting environment for the kids, even those who are having difficulty. Teachers and the administration work with parents and kids to identify sources of problems and work to address them. Character education is also a key component of the learning - how to be a good citizen (helping and respecting others). Academics are strong as others mentioned. My one concern is that graduating seniors don't go to as strong colleges as I would expect from a school like this. I don't know if that's by child choice or if students aren't being admitted and settling or other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2004

This school focuses on the whole child. Tough academically but lots of support from great teachers and administrators. Expensive but worth it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2004

Terrific school. Everyone is quite friendly and there is a lot of parent involvement. The school has very high standards and expectations and is quite difficult academically. Good sports teams, plenty of extracurricular activities and social events. Very expensive. Highly recommended if one can hack it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation Cornell University
University of Virginia
The College of William and Mary
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Greek
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Summer college prep programs
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. John Thomas
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Greek
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Summer college prep programs
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Garden
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Ice hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Ice hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of Virginia
The College of William and Mary
Cornell University
College preparation / awareness offered
Summer college prep programs
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3320 Jermantown Road
Oakton, VA 22124
Website: Click here
Phone: (703) 584-2300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT