Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Oakton Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 747 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 7, 2014

The best School in the area! Couldn't ask more from a public school!!! The teachers are caring and qualified. The students are smart and happy and the principal is visible. This is a gem of the Oakton Vienna area!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2013

I am a sixth grader in this school. It is the best school you can have unlike the old school I would go to, this school has no bullies and the teachers in AAP are the best. I have only been in this school since fifth grade and I whish I had been here since third grade. I learned from my friends that the third and fourth grade teachers were very nice. If you say the front desk people are unfriendly and they communicate poorly, I don't belive so. I think this school deserves a 10 out of ten instead of a nine out of ten.


Posted June 16, 2013

This school is over rated. The front desk people are unfriendly. The classrooms are crowded. My daughter is in the AAP program and I chose to keep her at this school instead of going to the assigned center. The AAP classroom is just as over crowded as the general education classes because the principal has the discretion to place non-AAP students in these classrooms to fill the seats. I will be moving my child to a center next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2013

Have always loved Oakton for my oldest child- fabulous teachers, creative lessons, individualized instruction. My second child has had only average teachers and I was becoming concerned with her progress. Met with the principal this morning, and am so impressed with her right now. Not only had she taken the time to review my child's test scores and recent grades prior to our meeting, she was extremely receptive to all of my concerns and eager to work with us to ensure my child reaches her full potential. Can not say enough about the parent involvement at Oakton- so many great programs before and after school, an active PTA calendar and fabulous room parents. From an approachable administration, to a wonderful office staff, to the caring counselors and the amazing teachers, Oakton is a place I am proud to send my children each day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2013

I went to Oakton Elementary when I was a child and loved the school even way back then. The school is fantastic and I feel blessed that my Son, who is in 3rd grade, has been going here since Kindergarten. His teacher was just voted the #1 teacher of the year and the school was voted by FCPS as one of the top Elementary schools in the county. My Son has had some speech impediments and some learning disabilities since he was 2. Now, because of this schools facilities & teachers, my Son is thriving and is graduating out of speech and his grades have improved tremendously. The principle and staff are so caring of all the children. The schools after school academic programs are wonderful, my Son is learning Spanish (free of charge), keyboarding, drawing and is in an extra math league (which is free of charge) after school all because this school offers it to their students. I can not say enough about this school, their teachers, the staff, the academics, etc. except to say I love Oakton Elementary and I am thankful for everything they have done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2012

I have 2 kids at OES and have been very impressed, for the most part. My older child has had fantastic teachers, while my youngest's teachers have been less strong, but perfectly competeny. Some parents have very valid concerns about the Local Level IV AAP center, which is getting ready to start it's 4th year. For my older child, one class out of 4 is AAP, and maybe 6 kids who did not qualify we're drafted from the general population. For my younger child, 2 of the 5 classes are AAP, and about 20 kids were drafted to fill them out. This makes some parents feel like both AAP and General Ed. are being watered down and there are some bad feeling between kids who are in the center and kids who are not. OES does have a great new addition (no more trailers!) , a very involved administration, and an incredibly involved PTA that fundraises and pays for all sorts of extras. There are a lot of great extras, like Girls on the Run, Odyssey of the Mind, chess club and robotics. OES was also selected to start foreign language next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2011

Hit or Miss. We have two children attending OES since 2009. One is in GT the other is not. In the GT program the class size is smaller and so far each teacher has far exceeded our expectations. As a result, our child in GT loves going to school and would just as well miss weekends and holiday breaks to keep attending. Our other child is the polar opposite. She used to love school until she started attending OES. Her class is crowded, her teacher overwhelmed and unable to control some students. The new principle has made sincere efforts to address the problem but it will take time. In the meantime we are not happy at all with the VP who comes across as immature and unable to address parent concerns. Instead the VP seems more focused on being 'funny' and each child's best friend instead of keeping the school on the right track. On the positive side, the school has two counselors who are very supportive and communicate openly with parents which I think is a key reason the school does not have bullying issues. The PTA is also amazing and manages to supplement the school with really good programs like Odessy of the Mind, an annual Variety Show and Grace Arts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2011

I've been extremely disappointed with OES, especially with the principal and administration. They are hostile to parents where they should be supportive. They communicate poorly and rudely; even innocent questions from a parent (e.g., "what time should I expect the bus in the afternoon?") are met with a combative response from OES staff. School protocols are unclear and inconsistently applied. Overall, our experience has been worse than unsatisfactory. I would strongly recommend that parents looking to settle in Fairfax County select an elementary school district other than Oakton.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2011

As a parent, my experience at OES shows that there is great inconsistency in the quality of teachers. Last year my daughter had a young, energetic teacher who was terrific. Unfortunately my other child had a teacher who was on auto-pilot counting the last couple of years until retirement. So more experience doesn't always mean better teachers! To earn a better rating the (now not so) new principal will be have to root out the lazy, burned out teachers so that there is not such a difference within a grade that children and parents feel as though they won the lottery or lost it when they get the 'good' teacher or the bad one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2011

Oakton Elementary is a fantastic school with a nurturing creative environment. My two sons attend Oakton. We received a new principal last year who is a great leader. The VP knows all the children by name. There are some creative teachers who go all out to enrich the children's curriculum. Oakton has an extremely strong PTA with great leadership. They sponsor many before and after school activities and summer camps. They also sponsor GRACE Art, Odyssey of the Mind, Chess Club, Robotics, a soccer class, and GLOBAL languages. They have several community events yearly, such as a dance, BINGO, a book fair and more. The school formerly housed Oakton High School. As a result, it has a 300 person auditorium unique to most elementary schools in the area. Thus, there are many activities there, including story tellers, musicians and performers. There is also an annual Variety Show that is downright professional. The PTA is welcoming and loves volunteers. The school is currently under renovation. When my son was sick last week, he was sad because he would miss art. He tried to convince me that he could go to school anyway.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2010

We have an amazing counciler and principal . We don't let people harrass and bully other people. i am a 4th grader and for four yeras at that wonderful school i am alwas happy to go to school. as other kids are never happy to go to school. but our school lunches is another story. our vice princial " mr.eck" is very nice and funnny. and a first grade teacher named mrs.enoch who was my teacher is the coolest teacher ever! because she knows how to act and to be kind in front of kids. all 2nd grade teachers are nice! most of the 3rd grade teachers are nice mine was 40% nice but she hands out candy! and all 4th grade teachers are nice and same with 5th and 6th.


Posted May 11, 2010

We love this school. Our children have benefited from an administration , faculty and staff that are compassionate, respectful and hardworking. What better role models for the students at this school. For example , the assistant principal knows and greets every child by name and will often stop and ask the student a simple personal question such as how was your baseball last baseball game or are you coming to skate night? Through these simple acts of kindness a child feels special and important. I would rate the classroom teachers that my children have had from solid B to A+ with the overall rating an A. My only complaint is that the technology does not seem integrated into the curriculum on a consistent basis. The academics are strong and there is a lot of time spent by the classroom teachers to make learning creative and interesting,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2010

Oakton Elementary is a great school because it teaches you lots of things, the teachers are nice, and bullying isn't a very big problem. It is a nine out of ten.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 23, 2009

We started the 09'-10' season, new to this area and school; I am very impressed with the technology and teacher involvment. This is the best investment so far- for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2009

I have two children who attend OES. We have not been happy at all. The teachers are not committed and many do not have control of their classrooms. Rather than teach the students, the teachers rely on the parents to do their work for them. This is because class sizes are between 28-30 kids. If we could afford to do so, I would send my kids elsewhere but that is not an option. While, yes, the school is being renovated and a GT center is being established, I don't believe this is going to make the teaching staff and principal any more dedicated or talented.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2009

When we moved here 10 years ago, a neighbor told me that Oakton was a wonderful school and was stronger for having a racially, culturally and economically diverse student body. Having grown up in McLean and attended Spring Hill Elementary (which has strong academics but not very much diversity) I hoped my boys would benefit from attending a school like Oakton. They have. I've had children at Oakton for 7 years now and the school is only getting better. Our principal has helped me to apply for several grants funding technology and the arts. She has impressed me with her experience and creativity. Our new PTA president has re-energized our fundraising and brought in so many new programs (from mock elections, to guest authors to the earth balloon) I can't even remember them all. Our teachers are wonderful. Oakton is exactly the kind of school you want--diversity, strong academics, involved parents!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2009

We have been at Oakton Elementary since 2004. We have found the teachers and staff to be exceptional. When our kindergartener was having a hard time getting on the bus and separating, her counselor actually rode the bus in the morning one day to help her. Her teacher offered her encouragement and would call her after breaks to tell her she looked forward to seeing her the next day at school. She was in constant contact with us as we worked to help ease the transition. The other teachers we have had have been easily accessible, and the principal and vice principal have always answered any concerns or questions promptly. The very active PTA has helped provide many great enrichment activities. Overall, just a great school and a wonderful sense of community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2009

I recently noticed a few not so favorable reviews of Oakton Elem. I would like to comment. I am a parent who has had children attending Oakton since 2004. Here are a couple of comments I would like to respond to. The school is very overcrowded . . . Oakton Elementary will begin renovations this coming year. The school will be expanded. The classrooms will be larger and more classrooms will be added to make up for the crowding issues. This school has great technology and with the help of the PTA will continue to expand its systems. Next comment: This school is also not well equipped to work with children who are either gifted or challenged academically. Currently, Oakton Elem. offers many enrichment programs for advanced academics and the academically challenged. They offer Level 3 services for those children who need a little extra challenge. They also offer the strategies lab for all students at the school. This is a new program and will continue to expand overtime. Next year, the school will offer Level 4 Gifted and Talented / Accelerated Academics starting with grade 3. Each year a new grade will be added until the services are available for grades 3-6. The Principal has been very busy over the past two years working with her staff to form collaborative learning teams for each grade. She has hired trained specialist to train her staff to work with their students on multiple intelligences, improving academics and on higher level thinking skills. The school and the PTA have purchased many new math manipulatives and training aids in math and the sciences. Also, the school has a wonderful reading specialist who is top notch when in comes to teaching kids how to read in a creative and engaging manner. Again, Mrs. Worek has recently purchased short text to help all students, as well as those who are challenged in reading, with vocabulary, decoding, prediction, inference and more. Lastly, the school offers full services and testing for those who are identified social, emotional and academic disabilities. Oakton offers (or has offered) a full array of enriching activities: Robotics, Odyssey of the Mind, Affinity Club, Chess Club, Abrakadoodle Art Program, FLEX, Mad Science, Ultra Sports, Grace Art, Strategies Lab and a full array of cultural arts and family fun nights. Last comments: There are outstanding individual teachers who really push the children to do and be their best and there are teachers (the majority, we've found) who barely have their noses above water. This lack of consistency stems from a disengaged principal, who we have found lacks the vigor, vision and engagement necessary to make Oakton the first-rate Elementary School it ought to be. There are some very good teachers at this school and also some very inexperienced teachers who do not receive the support and instruction necessary to become better teachers. At this time Oakton Elem. has no first year teachers. All the teachers at Oakton ar experienced teachers. FCPS as well as the Dept. of Education and the VA Dept. of Education evolve their standards and curriculum frequently. For example, this year the second grade math curriculum was updated. A couple years ago the math SOL s were changed. As I mentioned above Mrs. Worek has been working with her teachers to form collaborative teaching teams for consistency and a more enriching academic experience. Oakton is great! Come take a look for your self!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2009

My son attends Oakton and does not like it. I have volunteered in the class room a few times and the teachers had little control. The classroom was extremely noisy and students were wandering around and getting into things they shouldn't. The strategy lab classroom (out in the trailors) was a little distrubing. The teacher could not handle the kids and actually had to leave and go to his desk away from the children to clam his anxiety. The children did one activity the whole hour they were there. I feel the teacher my son has expects way to much of him and only rewards the super achievers. I have been to after school activities as well (such as the hoe down dance and library book sale) and they are just craziness and down right not enjoyable. We had great hopes for OES but glad to be transferring to another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2009

I currently have a child at Oakton Elementary. There are some very good teachers at this school and also some very inexperienced teachers who do not receive the support and instruction necessary to become better teachers. The principal is not engaged and allows all teachers to manage their classroom independently. If the teacher is experienced and good at his/her job, this works wonderfully. In the instances where the teacher is not doing a good job, this is a problem. The school is very overcrowded and there is no consistency in discipline or instruction. This school is also not well equipped to work with children who are either gifted or challenged academically. There are many good, strong schools in Fairfax County. I would recommend to all parents that they consider other schools until some of the problems at Oakton are resolved.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

113 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
93%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
89%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students83%
Female students83%
Male students83%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students95%
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient students68%
Proficient in English88%

Math

All Students84%
Female students80%
Male students87%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students95%
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient students68%
Proficient in English88%

Science

All Students95%
Female students96%
Male students93%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficient students100%
Proficient in English94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students85%
Female students90%
Male students79%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students88%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities70%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient students50%
Proficient in English91%

Math

All Students92%
Female students91%
Male students92%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students94%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities60%
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficient students76%
Proficient in English95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students90%
Female students91%
Male students90%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students91%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities80%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient students67%
Proficient in English94%

English: Writing

All Students89%
Female students90%
Male students88%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient students67%
Proficient in English92%

Math

All Students90%
Female students83%
Male students94%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students93%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient students81%
Proficient in English92%

Science

All Students93%
Female students93%
Male students92%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities90%
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient students81%
Proficient in English95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students90%
Female students94%
Male students88%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanic87%
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities67%
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient students55%
Proficient in English94%

Math

All Students94%
Female students98%
Male students91%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities68%
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient students100%
Proficient in English94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3000 Chain Bridge Rd
Oakton, VA 22124
Website: Click here
Phone: (703) 937-6100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Pinnacle Academy
Oakton, VA





Appletree School
Fairfax, VA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT