Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Central Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 1397 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 22, 2013

I just want to say we just moved here and I am a very active and protective mother with my child, I was so impressed with the school and staff they cleared all fears that my daughter and I had about starting a new school, thank you to all the staff at Carysbrook, I hope the rest of the school here are as outstanding and wonderful as the staff and school at Carysbrook are....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2012

We moved into the area 4 years ago and was concerned, at first, about the size of the school district, our previous district was much smaller, but have since realized that it's well managed. I believe the changes in staff and administration have played a positive part in these changes. My oldest transitioned into this school after spending his first 3 years in a top rated NY school and was at the same place as the kids he entered 3rd grade with. I am also pleased with the new changes that will take place in 2012/2013 school year that will eliminate all of the trailers and reduce class sizes. Overall I am pleased with the schools and I look forward to the continued changes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2011

This school is very weak. About 1,300 kids in a K-5 Elementary school is ridiculous. Building is huge and there are still 15-20 trailers out back. School employees are diluted and call them "learning cottages" but anytime a child has to walk outside, go across campus, to get to a bathroom in the other building... that's a trailer. School has too many kids. I never met any principals but know they switched every year or two. Office staff may as well be working at a fast-food restaurant. My child was being harassed on the school bus everyday and school did nothing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2010

Rural County with the largest elementary school in the state. Central ES and all its trailers are an embarrassment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2010

After transitioning from Florida, our son had a tough time at the beginning of 3rd grade but his teacher and Assistant Principal were fantastic and together we were able to get through this tough time. The school is what you make of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2009

After attending other schools, my daughter had her own issue with transitioning to a large school. However, we have found Central to be a very heartwarming and caring experience. The office staff are amazing and know 1500+ students & families connected to students by name. The ancillary staff also take a personal caring to the children's well being, developing caring relationships and concern for their academic welfare. The teachers are wonderful and able to tailor to the needs of each child, amazing in a school of this size. The IB curriculum is being integrated into the classroom structure, and the quality of education is continuously being evaluated for improvement with continued change focused as much as the school system funds allow, on the needs of the children. My daughter's teacher was fabulous, taking a personal caring with family dynamics and working individually to facilitate my daughter's highest level of achievement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2008

School located in a rural area. I agree with the lunch issue. School buses start around 7am. When they enlarged the school they forgot the to enlarge the cafeteria. My kidergartener eats at around 1pm and my 4th grader eats at around 10am. Getting home off the bus at 4pm makes that a long day. The school does recommend snacks that you have to provide EVERYDAY or they end up watching classmates eat theirs. Classroom performance is hit or miss based on what teacher you get. Nothing much offered for extra curricular or gifted, those kids are usually classroom helpers or read alone at their desks. There are great private schools in Charlottesville if you don't mind the 30+ min drive to and back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2008

No extras. Just basic education! Music class in a busy the hallway behind a screen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2008

I have never felt the need for my child to attend private school until this year--unruly, undisciplined students, unhappy teachers, and poor management make for an environment which leaves a parent wondering if they aren't doing their child a disservice by sending them here. Ditto on the very low expectations and parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2007

Get ready for an eye-opener if you move your child here from a 'good' school. I moved here from the reasonably good Albemarle school system and I have been amazed at the lower level of expectations that goes across the board--the staff, the facility, the programs. I am disappointed enough at the school system here (my other chld is in the equally poor middle school) that I will move at the end of this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2007

If you send your child to Central Elementary make sure to invest in a sams club card to buy snacks and drinks cause they serve lunch for kindergartens AT 1:00 pm! After getting on the bus at 7am that can be a long day! The other grades are no better, seems the younger they are the later they eat. Year round will not offered for the 07-08 school year. Lots of extra curricular are being cut too? Are they on a budget? Very few really good teachers that know what they are really there for. If you can find the money or afford private school you would be doing your child a great favor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2007

The teachers are nice and the vice principals are helpful. Other than that, the overcrowding is bad, the school is in disrepair, the education is geared toward the bottom of the barrel, and extracurricular educational activities are rare other than an occasional trip to an orchard. Parent involvement is nearly non-existent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2006

We currently have three children attending Central Elementary. We have found it to be mediocre at best. Yes, there are some good teachers at Central, but overall school expectations are low and they deliver on those expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

Central Elem. is located in a small rural community where many of the staff know lots of the parents and many students by name. They are friendly, very approachable and have your children's best interest as their main concern. While the school has grown a lot since my oldest daughter attended there, (Her child is there now) the staff has remained very good and helpful. They have a lot of resources for students who learn differently and are willing to work with parents to get the most for their children. A good school in a good school system who have education as a high priority.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2006

This school is nice. They have poor teachers, good teachers and amazing teachers. Being involved helps to notice a decent match for your child. No real nice programs for advancing students. Very good student/teacher ratio. They offer a year round calender(with breaks after every grading period) or the traditional calender for students K-6.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2005

I had two children here and was very pleased. One of my children required some special services and the school was wonderful in providing him with them. The teachers are very good and there is a fair amount of parent involvement (could be more though). I find the environment very nurturing for the children and the teachers are very disciplined but loving. I will miss the environment and school when my youngest graduates 5th grade this year. Overall, I would recommend Central Elementary School for every child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2005

This school is the best for your child. The extracurricular activities are wonderful and they do their best to involve everyone in everything.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 23, 2004

I have been very pleased with the education my children have received at Central. Sometimes I feel the school is too large but we are a growing county. I also feel that the teachers do a great job and parents should be more committed to the teachers as well as their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2004

I think the school overall is very good. They seem to be very committed to student learning. I think there's a kind of negativity amongst the teachers though - they're not overly friendly in the halls, and I noticed none of them were at the last PTA meeting. That's not good. The student bathrooms are filthy, which is inexcusable. The curriculum appears to be solid, the teachers seem to get a lot of professional development, and they seem to pay attention to individual learning styles.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2003

I'm a current student @ Central Elementary School . All we (parents,friends,and myself) can say is , 'I've never seen a more active and academically structured school.'


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

283 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
72%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

294 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

280 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

283 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

283 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
78%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

281 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
88%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
83%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students77%
Female students83%
Male students71%
Black students55%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracial74%
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities41%
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English78%

Math

All Students55%
Female students56%
Male students54%
Black students39%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracial50%
White students58%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities37%
Students without disabilities57%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English55%

Science

All Students78%
Female students82%
Male students75%
Black students55%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracial68%
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities41%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students73%
Female students78%
Male students66%
Black students55%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracial67%
White students77%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English73%

Math

All Students66%
Female students64%
Male students68%
Black students45%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracial59%
White students71%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities39%
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

English: Writing

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Donald Stribling

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9172 James Madison Highway
Palmyra, VA 22963
Phone: (434) 589-8318

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Fluvanna Middle School
Fork Union, VA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT